We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well located, clean and comfortable”
Review of Amadeus Garden

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Amadeus Garden
Certificate of Excellence
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Well located, clean and comfortable”
Reviewed January 13, 2014

We stayed here for 2 nights at the end of a small group tour through neighbouring countries. This is a well located, clean and comfortable small establishment in pleasant surroundings, with friendly and helpful staff and owners. The rooms are spacious and well serviced. We would certainly be happy to stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JohnS186225
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

252 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    98
    112
    36
    4
    2
See reviews for
47
109
15
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Windhoek, Namibia
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2014 via mobile

We stayed at Amadeus for 5 nights to explore VF and all it's activities. Coming back after each adventure was like coming home. We had access to wifi and our own private balcony. Only disappointment was the Xmas dinner. We will come stay at Amadeus again should our travels take us to VF again.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank elinenamibia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 14, 2013

We were a group of 7 and stayed 2 nights at this guest house. Rooms are basic but adequate with quite spacious bathrooms. The swimming pool was uninviting, debris in the water and it didn't look particularly clean. While the staff were very friendly we would have welcomed more effort from the management in terms of engagement/presence with the guests. The out of town location of the house meant either a long walk or a short taxi ride to both the Falls and the town. A taxi is recommended for coming back at night, it's possible to prearrange a time with a driver.
Would definitely recommend an excursion to Chobe National Park, which can be reached quite easily from Victoria Falls. It's worth staying an extra day just for this trip.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Katherine R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuttgart, Germany
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2013

We have stayed at this guest house for two nights. Our room including the ensuite bathroom was basic and quite spacious but you can hear every single noise from outside. Everything was clean but the fan didn’t work, the water pressure in the shower was very low as well as the electricity was down for one day. We didn’t really expect the first two things mentioned to be solved but we would have been happy to hear something like a sorry. This place is ok to stay for a couple of nights but with putting a bit more effort into cheering up guests by being very thoughtful and friendly in answering questions, would make a difference. Staff serving breakfast and drinks was attentive.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank StefStgt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2013

We had a fantastic time at Amadeus Gardens: the premises are immaculate, the courtyard/pool area welcoming and charming, and the owner and staff were awesome: well-informed and happy to share information, friendly and helpful.

We were a bit worried about the lack of air conditioning, but the rooms are very well insulated and the fan provided all the cooling we needed on a very, very hot day.

I would enthusiastically recommend it to anyone traveling to Vic Falls!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ruth K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DC
Level 6 Contributor
156 reviews
108 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2013

Based on my experiences, I've concluded that the accommodation market is thin in Victoria Falls. You have a spectrum of options from extreme luxury at an extreme price to a backpacker hostel type of accommodation at the low end, but there are very few choices at each price point. So, everything is a bit expensive here, on the order of one of the primo American cites. Amadeus Garden is a fine choice if you are trying to save some money but want to be a notch above the backpacker lodge. For $130 per night you get a spartan, but adequate and good-sized, room with a working and decent sized bathroom and a pretty good shower too. There is also a safe in the room. But it's not much in terms of any sort of furnishing and some might even say it's a bit like a large concrete bunker. Bed was very comfortable and good size. The literature says something about 'natural cooling,' in other words: No air conditioning-- but that was not a problem in August and I assume that throughout the dry "winter" season it is no problem. It gets down into the 60's Fahrenheit at night (or even cooler) and there is excellent ventilation and a ceiling fan, so the temp was comfortable at that time of year. I would, however, see what other reviewers think if you plan to be there in the summer/rainy season. Also, their literature says something like 'fly screens,' which means they won't keep mosquitoes out. I did see two mosquitoes in the room (again, I was there in cool, dry August) and did get 4 or 5 bites while there. Not a big deal, but I would see what reviewers from the rainy season think if that's when you plan to be there. The people working there are quite nice. Catherine does a nice job of orienting people to Victoria Falls and going over the map and arranging any special activities. Breakfast is also reasonably done. The pool appeared totally un-inviting with leaves, bugs, and not very clean looking. Wi-fi is something like $7.50, so I could just live without that for my stay. No t.v. Because I could pay my deposit via PayPal, I assumed the same option would exist to pay the final bill. Wrong. Cash only. I wish they would have made that clearer as it was time for me to leave for the airport and here I am scraping together just enough cash to pay the bill. It is about a 20 minute walk to town or a $7 cab ride (we did get 'ripped off' at $10 once). You're saving so much money compared to the better hotel accommodations downtown that you shouldn't bat an eye at paying for cabs. The walk to town did add to our experience (I am being serious) because eventually one of the local people will latch onto you and talk to you, which eventually comes to some sort of business they're trying to get you to support, but it was fine. Safety is not a problem. So overall, the reason to stay here is to save some money. The price seems fair given that Vic Falls is expensive, but in smaller American cities you can get a relatively luxurious room for less. If I weren't feeling the pinch to economize, I'd pay for Illala Lodge or Vic Falls hotel or one of the other more expensive places.
General comments: I think the Zimbabwe side is the best side for viewing the Falls - at least in August when I was there. The Chobe trip with the river safari in the morning is Great! The restaurant in the Illala Lodge downtown is very nice. High tea at Vic Falls hotel at 3 pm is worth it and at $30 for two of us is a great bargain. If you are not from Southern Africa, it will cost you $30 per person to get into the Victoria Falls Park to see the falls but it is well worth it. Something no one told me was that if you keep your receipt, you can come back later the same day. Also, no one pointed out the map for $1 at the ticket office -- I would have gotten one if I had known. You can cross the bridge to the Zambian side without paying - just tell Zimbabwe passport control that you want a 'bridge pass.' There is a cafe just on the Zambian side that you can go to with only your bridge pass. Worth a stop to watch for any bungee jumpers etc. Vic Falls is worth going to without a doubt.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank travelerBobDc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, UK
Level 6 Contributor
246 reviews
108 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 166 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2013 via mobile

Nice simple clean rooms, friendly helpful staff, great breakfast. Bit out of town -2-3km and taxis are expensive but it is walkable in about 20mins, although at night the road is dark but we took a torch didn't have any problems. Quite expensive for a room at USD140, but so is everywhere so price reasonable compared to others.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jo_Aberdeen_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Victoria Falls hotels
0.6 mi away
Cresta Sprayview Hotel
Cresta Sprayview Hotel
#14 of 16 in Victoria Falls
346 reviews
0.9 mi away
Rainbow Hotel Victoria Falls
Rainbow Hotel Victoria Falls
#15 of 16 in Victoria Falls
517 reviews
1.3 mi away
Elephant Hills Resort
Elephant Hills Resort
#9 of 16 in Victoria Falls
583 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
A'Zambezi River Lodge
A'Zambezi River Lodge
#10 of 16 in Victoria Falls
850 reviews
0.5 mi away
Victoria Falls Safari Lodge
Victoria Falls Safari Lodge
#7 of 16 in Victoria Falls
1,814 reviews
1.1 mi away
N1 Hotel Victoria Falls
N1 Hotel Victoria Falls
#11 of 16 in Victoria Falls
379 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amadeus Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amadeus Garden

Property: Amadeus Garden
Address: 538 Reynard Road | P.O. Bost CT 288, Victoria Falls 0013, Zimbabwe
Location: Zimbabwe > Matabeleland North Province > Victoria Falls
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Victoria Falls
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Amadeus Garden 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Owner managed B&B in walking distance to the Victoria Falls with eleven clean uncluttered en-suite bedrooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Cancelon, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Amadeus Garden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amadeus Garden Hotel Victoria Falls

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing