We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A real life animal kingdom hotel.....”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Kingdom at Victoria Falls
Ranked #14 of 16 Hotels in Victoria Falls
Certificate of Excellence
Cypress_Texas
Level Contributor
36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“A real life animal kingdom hotel.....”
Reviewed November 3, 2009

Guards with guns oh no, whether to "keep out baboons" of a furry or non-furry variety we definitely felt safe. We hid from tourist police as they got kickbacks if we bought anything from the outdoor market vendors(but no kickback if we only traded. Pushy street vendors were gently reminded we could call "security" with their "batons". That detered the most persistent sales people. We bought, we traded, we talked. Everyone was so nice. We wanted to go "see" how folks really lived but that didn't happen. I'm still wondering if the road checks on the way out of town were to protect/track visitors? Lost of helpful staff at hotel (minimal guests, most people seem to be going to Zambia). All the things we were afraid of ahead of time were untrue: 1 mosquito whole trip, 100 % electricity, plenty of food at buffet and pizza place in town, no problems getting dollars accepted and the ratty ones floating around in town were definitely NOT the crisp new bills we brought with us. We saw folks in camo clothing at the local store. I wouldn't read reviews ahead of time again because I was so nervous to go this far with my kids. Normally we would have been camping but this was a Make a Wish Trip. I am now busy trying to figure out how to mail items to the sweet kids(hello Martin and "Bright" who is as bright as his name). We were afraid to book day trips thru hotel due to costs but wish we had at least talked to them...somehow we forgot to ride the steam train, something the kids would have loved. Didn't go into Zambia either because the visa charge for US visitors was more than all other visitors and this was told to us by Zambians using AID computers(US Agency for International Development) gotta love the irony.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CypressTX_Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,120 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    316
    513
    204
    57
    30
See reviews for
266
411
86
65
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (188)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2009

Victoria Falls is an amazing place! My partner and I arrived in early September 2009. The weather was gorgeous, beautiful sunny days. We stayed at the Kingdom Hotel which was absolutely beautiful! The grounds are well maintained and beautiful, the pool was lovely. The hotel had many facilities and restaurants. Breakfast was great! There is a back gate to get to the Falls. We had organised activities through Flame of Africa which included: Airport transfers, sunset cruise, elephant back safari, lion walk, night game drive and traditional boma dinner. All were amazing and the guides/drivers were so knowledgable, friendly and funny! They really made the experience that much better. All the activities were above and beyond what we anticipated. Flame of Africa were great, everything ran as scheduled.
The only thing lacking from Vic Falls were tourists!!! The more people that go, the better for the economy. We never felt unsafe and people are so friendly and go out of their way to make your visit enjoyable!

Helpful?
2 Thank mojay06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harare
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 19, 2009

We have just had a fantastic 4 nights at the Kingdom, we were meant to stay 3 nights, but we extended our stay for one more night. Previous reviews have been based on Zimbabwe's harder times, and not the hotel itself. All hotels in Zimbabwe felt the same challenges during the lack in Zimbabwe. This is a first class hotel. We drove around the hotels in Victoria Falls when we arrived at the Kingdom, we were immediately drawn to the uniqueness of the hotel's setting. Our kids thought they were in an adventure land! They loved the abundant water features and swimming pools. We loved the decor and the service/rooms were all wonderful - the food was excellent too, and abundant! Zimbabwe is shining - and the Kingdom deserves credit for what it provides; quality, excellent service, unique setting and proximity to the Victoria Falls. We have travelled to many countries worldwide and stayed in many hotels. This is truely the best hotel stay we have had. We left very rested and we can truely say we will remember this holiday as one of our best family holidays ever. Please disregard all negative reviews. We'd recommend the Kingdom wholeheartedly.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GotdaTshirt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Africa
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2009

i would just like to say, before we go to the kingdom i read a lot of review's and their were a lot of negative things.
But it was an axcellent hotel, nice food, clean rooms.
And the people is very very friendly. We loved it!!!!!!!
I would recommend this hotel to anyone!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Feetjie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed July 7, 2009

My room was clean I had electricity, even air conditioning, and clean running water. The staff were very friendly and helpful, they couldn't do enough for me. I loved the pool concidering it was 38-39 degrees every day I was there. There was not a lot of choice food wise but considering the circumstances I still ate quite well. (The best cheese and tomatoe sandwich ever) A beautiful hotel in tough times. I would reccomed this hotel you just have to understand the diffecult times they are haveing over there and remember it is Africa.

  • Stayed October 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MandyP3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
miami,fl
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 29, 2009

Stay away of this guy, a professional racketeer who sells sculptures in this hotel. He promised to send the sculptures abroad, and after a lot of money sent I'm still waiting. The hotel employees doesn't have manners and I'm only going to say that I saw the biggest spider ever inside of my room. Needless to say that I didn't sleep at all.

  • Stayed March 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cucho_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 2, 2009

Stayed at the Kingdom for one night (28/03/09). Very disappointed. Clearly had once been a high quality hotel, but no more. Virtually empty. Staff standing around with nothing to do. Security suspect (guard carrying rifle around the pool complex) and worst of all very little food. Rooms clean. Would only accept US $ cash. Was glad we only stayed one night. Would advise travellers to rethink.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amelie2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Victoria Falls hotels
1.6 mi away
Elephant Hills Resort
Elephant Hills Resort
#9 of 16 in Victoria Falls
562 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Victoria Falls Hotel
The Victoria Falls Hotel
#6 of 16 in Victoria Falls
2,253 reviews
0.6 mi away
Rainbow Hotel Victoria Falls
Rainbow Hotel Victoria Falls
#15 of 16 in Victoria Falls
496 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
A'Zambezi River Lodge
A'Zambezi River Lodge
#12 of 16 in Victoria Falls
829 reviews
1.7 mi away
Victoria Falls Safari Lodge
Victoria Falls Safari Lodge
#8 of 16 in Victoria Falls
1,746 reviews
0.9 mi away
Cresta Sprayview Hotel
Cresta Sprayview Hotel
#13 of 16 in Victoria Falls
331 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Kingdom at Victoria Falls? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Kingdom at Victoria Falls

Property: The Kingdom at Victoria Falls
Address: 1 Mallet Drive, Victoria Falls, Zimbabwe
Location: Zimbabwe > Matabeleland North Province > Victoria Falls
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Victoria Falls
#8 Spa Hotel in Victoria Falls
#9 Family Hotel in Victoria Falls
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Kingdom at Victoria Falls 3*
Number of rooms: 294
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Jovago.com, Hotwire, Agoda, Travelocity, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Priceline and HRS so you can book your The Kingdom at Victoria Falls reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Kingdom At Victoria Falls Hotel Victoria Falls
Kingdom Hotel Zimbabwe
Kingdom Hotel Victoria Falls

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing