We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Average Hotel, seem better days”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Kingdom at Victoria Falls
Ranked #13 of 16 Hotels in Victoria Falls
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
129 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Average Hotel, seem better days”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2013

The Kingdom Hotel is one of the closest to the fall on the Zim side, we walked there and back. The hotel has seen better days, common areas are still good and clean however the rooms themselves are dated. Bathrooms are "old" and showing signs of wear and tear. Bedding clearly needs a change, have outlived their lifespan. That being said the rooms are large and are fine for the serve their purpose - a bed to sleep in!

Customer service was fantastic, staff we always aimed to please and were able to assist wherever they could.

Food was great with many dinning option at the casino centre. The main restaurant buffet had a huge spread and food quality was so so. The hotel provides entertainment during time which is great.

All in all I would recommend the hotel however don't expect a five star experience.

Room Tip: Get a room as close as possible to the entrance / reception area. Otherwise it will be a walk go get...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kovilan_Naidoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,066 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    289
    498
    193
    56
    30
See reviews for
254
393
81
64
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (181)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Thompson Falls, Montana
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2013

This is an impressive looking hotel complex but it is beginning to show its age. Our room was clean and roomy but the bed was very hard. During our first night a giant poisonous centipede found its way into our bathroom. When I called the front desk they sent someone down to immediately remove it and the manager came to personally inspect the room, and apologized for the intrusion. They offered to move us to another room but we opted to stay put and the rest of our stay was uneventful. The swimming pool was not kept up to standards we'd expect so even though it was beautiful, I didn't go swimming. The breakfast buffet was included in our package and it was good, but not exceptional. The staff was helpful and friendly and eager to please. While it's not the fault of the hotel, whenever we ventured outside the hotel compound we were besieged by hawkers pressing their wares who literally stalked us wherever we went. Also, there was a casino in the hotel complex but it was all but deserted whenever we walked back there. I also wish there had been more choices for restaurants within the complex. The main dining area was quite pricey, especially when we didn't want a big meal.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank carriemontana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2013

Like the country, this hotel feels old and somewhat tired but there is a vibrancy about the staff which makes up for so much.
The rooms are spotless and the service comes with a smile and a friendly chat but you can't ignore the fact that the rooms need maintenance and the furnishings could do with some modernisation.
The pool area is wonderful and a great place to cool off after a day's sightseeing with an outdoor bar close at hand.
The Victoria Falls are within an easy stroll of the hotel and we felt perfectly safe walking about the town in the evening. There are irritating vendors who pester you but tourism security officers seemed intent on ensuring our safety and we never felt threatened.
The food was fairly average although it did not lack for quantity and was always fresh and the beers were always cold.
Running any business in Zimbabwe must be difficult and I would recommend The Kingdom simply because the staff are so pleasant and helpful and they try so hard to please.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank beemac53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2013

I was there for two nights with family. I had already been there 6 years ago. Have to say that i'm a little disappointed. The service isn't as great as it use to be. The room are clean, but getting old. A few things weren't working in the room: air conditioner for example. We called the reception and they said they would do something about it but the magic did not happen. The food is good. I just feel that the hotel staff doesn't stand for its stars.
However, the hotel is well located, you have a path that gets you to the falls in 10-15min. You might meet a few wild animals,.
I do not need to describe the falls, they are a must see..breathtaking. We had a walk with lions, a must do and a safari boat trip on the zambezi river to watch the sunset..again breathtaking.
Not much to do at the hotel, you have a casino and restaurants around them. We tried the Spur. Tasty!
A nice hotel, but not as great as it use to be.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 319AnnK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thompson Falls
Level Contributor
160 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2013

The property is beautiful with ponds and nice rooms. The staff were very accommodating. When we arrived, we thought we would walk down to the falls. As soon as we left the gated area, hawkers confronted us with goods to sell. They were quite aggressive. A hotel employee escorted us but the hawkers persisted.
We sat by the pool for a while. I decided to swim. The pool was not maintained to modern standards and I ended up itching for a day or so. I would not recommend swimming.
The beds were very hard so I had them bring a couple of duvets to put under the sheets which saved my back.
The breakfast buffet was very nice and was included in our package. The evening buffet seemed a little high priced but was good. They had native dancers and musicians for entertainment during the meal. That was fun.
I am not used to having as much service as they provided. Porters insisted on pulling our bags. Help was everywhere. I think very good is too high but average is too low. We did have a good time there. The casino in the compound was the quietest casino that I have ever seen.

Room Tip: I would ask for a second floor room. Jungle things might get into the first floor rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Raymond M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durban, South Africa
Level Contributor
29 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2013

The Kingdom Hotel is definitely value for money. The people were very friendly and helpful. The hotel is very very large and our room was quite a way from reception, but the room was beautiful, we had a king size bed, and there was a double bunk in the room for my grandson, and still plenty room. We had a veranda that overlooked the gardens, which are beautiful, well maintained. The only place you will get WIFI is by the reception area. We had the buffet breakfast, and there is everything available from cereals, to bacon and eggs to yogurts. They have a large casino in the hotel which was empty, and a Spur, which if you convert in rands was nearly 3 times the price, very expense, also Panarottis, part of the spur group also immensely expensive if you converting from rands. Its not even a 5 minute walk to the falls, and there they have great meals and the best cappuccino in Zimbabwe that I tasted. Overall, I had a wonderful stay and would definite stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Spiller2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town, Western Cape, South Africa
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2013

The place to stay for people with a budget but requiring typical hotel room quality expected by middle class South Africans - think Southern Sun out in the bush. The Hotel has a Spur and Panarottis in the Casino area, which were all dead quiet when we were there off season, but there must be a Christmas rush to support such a fancy establishment being in existence.

One gets the feeling of a relatively newly built Hotel, especially in comparison to its neighbour next door, but the Kingdom is very eager to please. Extremely friendly staff and locals. Buffet breakfast and dinner. Very nice pool and man made rivers running through the centre of the Hotel area, onto which the room patios open.

You cannot get closer to the falls than this. As mentioned the famous Victoria Falls Hotel is a five minute walk away, right next door.

We were lucky enough to fly on a OneTime flight special, sadly that's all over now. Total came to R6000 for 6 nights, Bed and Breakfast, and return flight! (per person)

Plenty of activities which are booked and depart from the Hotel foyer, including bungee, elephant rides, microliting, river rafting (an absolutely terrifying must) and supper nights out - anyone that comes to Victoria Falls has to go to Boma Restaurant for a truly authentic African experience. (I can hear the eye-rolling sighs from European-traveller weary South Africans already). Other activities on the to-do list include high tea at Vic Falls Hotel lawn, and if only we had enough time, the trip to the four corners where Zim, Zam, Namibia and Botswana meet.

Only downside is activities are charged for in dollars. In total the trip is still well worth it. Hagglers also bother you for money, your shoes, your jewellery, your clothes! Signs of the economic hardship in the country - we were bothered quite a bit, but never felt unsafe - the people of Zimbabwe are extremely welcoming - In Vic Falls (which runs on its tourist industry albeit), I can say this for sure.

Have to do it at least once in your lifetime

Room Tip: Check the web for special deals done through South African tour operators and companies
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shkpeters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Victoria Falls hotels
0.2 mi away
The Victoria Falls Hotel
The Victoria Falls Hotel
#6 of 16 in Victoria Falls
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,189 reviews
1.6 mi away
Elephant Hills Resort
Elephant Hills Resort
#10 of 16 in Victoria Falls
4.0 of 5 bubbles 531 reviews
2.3 mi away
A'Zambezi River Lodge
A'Zambezi River Lodge
#12 of 16 in Victoria Falls
4.0 of 5 bubbles 808 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Rainbow Hotel Victoria Falls
Rainbow Hotel Victoria Falls
#15 of 16 in Victoria Falls
3.5 of 5 bubbles 476 reviews
1.7 mi away
Victoria Falls Safari Club
Victoria Falls Safari Club
#4 of 16 in Victoria Falls
5.0 of 5 bubbles 363 reviews
0.9 mi away
Cresta Sprayview Hotel
Cresta Sprayview Hotel
#14 of 16 in Victoria Falls
4.0 of 5 bubbles 309 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Kingdom at Victoria Falls? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Kingdom at Victoria Falls

Property: The Kingdom at Victoria Falls
Address: 1 Mallet Drive, Victoria Falls, Zimbabwe
Location: Zimbabwe > Matabeleland North Province > Victoria Falls
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Victoria Falls
#8 Spa Hotel in Victoria Falls
#9 Family Hotel in Victoria Falls
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Kingdom at Victoria Falls 3*
Number of rooms: 294
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, Expedia, Hotel.de, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Kingdom at Victoria Falls reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Kingdom At Victoria Falls Hotel Victoria Falls
Kingdom Hotel Zimbabwe
Kingdom Hotel Victoria Falls

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing