We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Sleep to the sound of Victoria Falls” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Kingdom at Victoria Falls

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Kingdom at Victoria Falls
Ranked #13 of 16 Hotels in Victoria Falls
Australia
Level Contributor
56 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Sleep to the sound of Victoria Falls”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2013

Our room was way at the back, up the stairs and near the gate to the pathway to Victoria Falls. Not quite sure why they put us so far from the main area as the hotel has only 79 guests in the 280 rooms at present but we can hear the falls from here and of course, a very short walk to them so perhaps that is why. The hotel is 12 years old but is a magnificient building and the gardens are lovely. Must have cost a fortune to build, the detail in everything is amazing. The room is spacious and clean and everything works. The only thing we didn't like is the shower curtain, HATE shower curtains that cling to you when you are having your shower. The shower is over a narrow bath. Staff around the pool bar where a bit slow to offer us a drink on day one but day 2 Freedom appeared and he was very attentive. Staff generally were excellent, very friendly. There is a short walk to Victoria Falls from the perimeter fence of the hotel via the back track but beware, the locals descend out of the bush and hassle you like crazy. Even after giving them money they continued to demand that I give them my shoes "they will fit my wife" ...yeah right! I found it a little intimidating and didn't venture out that way again. All in all a pleasant stay and we would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Aussietraveller77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

983 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    267
    457
    180
    53
    26
See reviews for
230
368
76
57
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (170)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Chilliwack, Canada
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2013

Everything about this resort/hotel was memorable, in a very good way! The staff were very helpful, the rooms were clean just don't leave the deck door open or the monkeys will get in. But what a memory if they do. Of course the store is VERY expensive but our family had a great time staying here!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Allan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2013 via mobile

Stayed at The Kingdom for 7 day it is a gem in Africa. Greeted with a drink staff are very helpful and friendly. Rooms are spacious and very clean. Food was excellent overall. The hotel made our holiday special coz of its excellent customer service. We will definitely returning to kingdom and would highly recommend it. It right next to the fall and ver central so you can save money on taxis. We loved the hotel. Gardens are well maintained and green.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chink28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2013

We stayed at The Kingdom Hotel for 3 nights in February 2013. Although the weather patterns varied from day to day it didn't bother us in the least and we thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. A cheap plastic poncho will keep you dry and give it to one of the villagers when you leave. Our room was near reception and it was lovely with beautiful views across the lake, bar and pool area. Try and get the 2nd floor because you will be less bothered by the monkeys – we were warned about them but they never came close to our balcony. The room was spotless, cleaned every day and our sheets were folded down in the evening. I read so many complaints about people who stayed too far from reception and it really isn’t that far. If you are elderly I would suggest you request a room closer to reception. A short walk to the gate at the bottom of the hotel will lead you to the gauge within 5 minutes and the entrance to the falls within 10. If you are fussed about leaves brushing your feet then wear long pants but I was in slip slops and shorts and it was fine. Yes, there are villagers who will bother you along the way but their goods are really cheap (far cheaper than at the market) and picked up quite a few bargains. Get to know their names and they will eventually leave you alone. They asked for payment in SA Rands (but USD will do but they calculate 10 to 1) and were willing to trade for shampoo, soap, old clothes and shoes. We bought some beautiful carvings for next to nothing but take something to trade with. We had breakfast at the hotel which I thought was more than substantial and ordered room service on one of the nights at the hotel. You can get a really good club sandwich with chips for about 8 USD which was quite reasonable – it was a substantial meal and you can easily sit and have it out by the pool if you prefer. The buffet at the hotel in the evening was approximately 25 USD for a three course meal which is pretty good given the amount of food you can eat. We didn't have the buffet because but it looks fabulous. Staff lovely and friendly but I agree… reception at the hotel needs to be improved. The morning we were leaving we left to see the falls just one more time and we arrived back at 10 to find our room locked. Not a big deal but no message on the door to say we had been locked out. All in all a lovely experience at the Kingdom Hotel and we will be back. We booked our excursions before we got to the falls and we found most of them to be booked out. You have to do the river cruise (lovely drinks and snacks on the house) and steam train (with drinks & snacks) and although I was not aware of the lovely surprise waiting for me - a holiday flip over the falls is just too magnificent for words.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LizzieCapeTown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2013 via mobile

We really had an awesome time and the location was ideal close to all the places we wanted to visit. The staff were very polite and helpful too. We experienced a few glitches with the aircon but it eventually got fixed. No mosquitoes considering there is a lot of water surrounding the lodge which was good. Breakfast was really good with a wide selection to choose from. Good value for the amount we paid.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mintcrisp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dudley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2013

The Hotel is well situated for visiting the Falls independently and also within easy walking distance of the town center.

Staff were most helpful, good food was served, the cleanliness was acceptable and security was very evident.

One criticism is concerning the hotel's nominated airport transfer service. The representative who accompanied us from the airport spent the whole time trying to sell tours that were not wanted, she failed in the execution of her duties and tried to remedy her mistakes 2 days later.

The Kingdom Hotel should review this aspect of the service they offer. This agent/sub-contractor is operating at a lower customer service level to the rest of the hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DaveW001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
136 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2013

This hotel is well located for a visit to Victoria Falls as it is within walking distance to the falls and the centre of town. Clean with good service and secure also offers wifi (not always working well). This is not a safari hotel as it is large and has a casino. Food was good and staff very attentive.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bonjours
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Victoria Falls hotels
0.2 mi away
The Victoria Falls Hotel
The Victoria Falls Hotel
#7 of 16 in Victoria Falls
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,022 reviews
2.3 mi away
A'Zambezi River Lodge
A'Zambezi River Lodge
#12 of 16 in Victoria Falls
4.0 of 5 bubbles 743 reviews
1.6 mi away
Elephant Hills Resort
Elephant Hills Resort
#10 of 16 in Victoria Falls
4.0 of 5 bubbles 482 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Rainbow Hotel Victoria Falls
Rainbow Hotel Victoria Falls
#15 of 16 in Victoria Falls
3.5 of 5 bubbles 440 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ilala Lodge
Ilala Lodge
#8 of 16 in Victoria Falls
4.5 of 5 bubbles 991 reviews
1.7 mi away
Victoria Falls Safari Club
Victoria Falls Safari Club
#4 of 16 in Victoria Falls
5.0 of 5 bubbles 336 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Kingdom at Victoria Falls? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Kingdom at Victoria Falls

Property: The Kingdom at Victoria Falls
Address: 1 Mallet Drive, Victoria Falls, Zimbabwe
Location: Zimbabwe > Matabeleland North Province > Victoria Falls
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Victoria Falls
#7 Spa Hotel in Victoria Falls
#9 Family Hotel in Victoria Falls
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Kingdom at Victoria Falls 3*
Number of rooms: 294
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Agoda, Travelocity and Booking.com so you can book your The Kingdom at Victoria Falls reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Kingdom At Victoria Falls Hotel Victoria Falls
Kingdom Hotel Zimbabwe
Kingdom Hotel Victoria Falls

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing