We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful piece of Africa” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Imbabala Zambezi Safari Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Imbabala Zambezi Safari Lodge
Ranked #3 of 16 Hotels in Victoria Falls
Certificate of Excellence
Atlanta, Georgia, United States
Level Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Wonderful piece of Africa”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2012

We stayed for 3 nights with teenage kids. Brad and Annie were great hosts always making sure we were taken care of. Richard our guide was superb. His knowledge of the animals and birds was amazing. He was patient with our constant barrage of questions.
We thoroughly enjoyed both the game drives and the river trips.

Food was outstanding! Accommodations were very comfortable and meticulously maintained.

What a great location...amazing views of the Zambezi River. Easy to get to from Vic Falls.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Guy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WildHorizons, Manager at Imbabala Zambezi Safari Lodge, responded to this review, August 31, 2012
Thanks so much for the great feedback. We loved having you stay with us at Imbabala and hope to welcome you back again soon! Please keep in touch via Facebook or our website. Best regards, Brad & Annie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

405 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    344
    48
    6
    3
    4
See reviews for
109
144
35
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oxfordshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2012

We spent 4 fabulous nights here in July. Although this was not our first safari holiday, we were knocked out by the location, accommodation, atmosphere and service. Our guide Abraham went out of his way to make every drive or river cruise a new experience and was an absolute ace at birdspotting.
Very relaxed atmosphere coupled with management and staff with an obvious passion for the flora and fauna - great combination for visitors.
We're already planning a way of incorporating a few nights here at the end of next year's holiday.
We wish Bradley and Annie and wonderful wedding (someday soon) and great success in their vision for Imbabala.

Room Tip: They're all great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hil_hants
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WildHorizons, Director of Sales at Imbabala Zambezi Safari Lodge, responded to this review, August 7, 2012
Thank you very much for your wonderful feedback and kind wishes. We hope to welcome you back to Imbabala in the not too distant future. Kind regards. Shane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town, South Africa
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2012

We stayed three nights in this little piece of heaven right on the banks of the Zambezi river.
Had early morning game drives,seeing giraffe's, elephants,and lots of different game. Our, night game drive was really exciting when we stopped as a massive herd of buffalo went running by.
Each evening we would see herds of elephants doing their daily crossing of the river to a small island, was wonderful to see.
All the staff & guides really friendly and knowledgeable.
Would love to go back some day

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Deni7441
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WildHorizons, Manager at Imbabala Zambezi Safari Lodge, responded to this review, August 3, 2012
Thanks so much for your wonderful comments and feedback about Imbabala! We hope to welcome you back again in the not too distant future. Kindest regards, Bradley & Annie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Schnaittach
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2012

I do not find the words for this divine place.... Everything is just perfect: the location, the people, nature, silence.... Great trips: on the boat, watching crocodiles, hyppos, birds.... The night game drive: adventurous! Early game drive: what a sunrise!!!! Never will forget my stay there!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Claudia749
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WildHorizons, Manager at Imbabala Zambezi Safari Lodge, responded to this review, July 20, 2012
Thanks so much for your positive comments! We hope to welcome you back again soon. Bradley & Annie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
105 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2012

My wife and I spent 3 wonderful nights at this truly superb Zimbabwean safari lodge. Imbabala is situated close to the mighty Zambezi river (80m walk) and a few km's from the point where Botswana, Namibia, Zambia and Zimbabwe all converge. Wildlife viewing is amazing and it comes to you. We had elephants at our bungalow almost every afternoon. I was taking an outside shower (its very private and attached to your chalet) and 3 Ellies walked past within metres ! what an experience !! Food is traditional style but well prepared and created from the heart. The staff really try so hard to make you feel special and welcome ! Management is superb and staff are so eager to please. Guides are really passionate about the wildlife and the care of it ...overall an awesome stay and a wonderful experience.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Andre J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lytham St Anne's, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
189 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights. The accomodation is very charming and the staff are fantastic. bradley and our guides were as excited to show us all the wildlife as we were to see it. The whole experience was majic. We arrived to find warthogs grazing on the lawn and impala wandering around at will. That evening whilst sitting around the fire with a glass of wine a hippo wandered past and later an elephant arrived in the camp. The sunset cruises were brilliant- we watched the elephants swimming across the river and the sunset was stunning. a not to be missed experience.

Room Tip: All the rooms are well located with a view of the fire, lawn and river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nick045
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Tour operator at Imbabala Zambezi Safari Lodge, responded to this review, June 28, 2012
Thank you for your review!
I couldn't agree with you more! I have stayed in many places in this area as well as other lodges in Africa and Imbabala is a delight. Like you say the game that wander freely within the camp make it a truly unique & authentic safari experience. Not only is the location superb but the accommodation, scrumptious meals & outstanding service is one of a kind. The game cruise on the Zambezi is one of my best favourites, especially when you get to see game at close range. I do hope you visit again!
Sheilagh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hillcrest, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2012

We spent 3 nights at Imbabala at the beginning of June & it surpassed our expectations! The setting on the banks of the Zambezi is stunning & the hospitality was excellent. Brad & Annie had just arrived to run the lodge a few days earlier & they & all the staff went out of their way to meet our every need. Abraham, our guide, was wonderful on all the river cruises & game drives & we found him most informative. Great food served outdoors & lovely evenings around the camp fire. An unforgettable experience with all the game, in particular all the elephant & wonderful bird life! We will be back!!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bridgetkzn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Victoria Falls hotels
0.5 mi away
The Victoria Falls Hotel
The Victoria Falls Hotel
#6 of 16 in Victoria Falls
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,148 reviews
1.6 mi away
Victoria Falls Safari Club
Victoria Falls Safari Club
#4 of 16 in Victoria Falls
5.0 of 5 bubbles 355 reviews
2.5 mi away
A'Zambezi River Lodge
A'Zambezi River Lodge
#10 of 16 in Victoria Falls
4.0 of 5 bubbles 783 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Ilala Lodge
Ilala Lodge
#8 of 16 in Victoria Falls
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,056 reviews
1.8 mi away
Elephant Hills Resort
Elephant Hills Resort
#12 of 16 in Victoria Falls
4.0 of 5 bubbles 517 reviews
1.6 mi away
Victoria Falls Safari Lodge
Victoria Falls Safari Lodge
#7 of 16 in Victoria Falls
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,639 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Imbabala Zambezi Safari Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Imbabala Zambezi Safari Lodge

Property: Imbabala Zambezi Safari Lodge
Address: Matetsi Safari Area | Upper Zambezi River, Victoria Falls, Zimbabwe
Location: Zimbabwe > Matabeleland North Province > Victoria Falls
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Victoria Falls
#3 Family Hotel in Victoria Falls
#5 Romantic Hotel in Victoria Falls
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Imbabala Zambezi Safari Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Imbabala Zambezi Safari Lodge is situated on a riverine fringe of the mighty Zambezi River where Zimbabwe, Botswana, Zambia and Namibia converge. Located 80 kilometers west of Victoria Falls, access is by transfer from Victoria Falls, Livingstone or Kasane. Imbabala offers the chance to unwind but also some of the most amazing game viewing and bird watching in the region, in the seclusion of a private National Parks concession. The 5,000 acre concession has 14 kilometers of private Zambezi river frontage and borders the Chobe Forest Reserve, which is renowned for its massive Elephant population. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Imbabala Zambezi Safari Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Imbabala Zambezi Safari Hotel Victoria Falls

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing