We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ah, wonderful”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Imbabala Zambezi Safari Lodge
Ranked #3 of 16 Hotels in Victoria Falls
Certificate of Excellence
Cape Town, South Africa
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Ah, wonderful”
Reviewed July 26, 2012

We stayed three nights in this little piece of heaven right on the banks of the Zambezi river.
Had early morning game drives,seeing giraffe's, elephants,and lots of different game. Our, night game drive was really exciting when we stopped as a massive herd of buffalo went running by.
Each evening we would see herds of elephants doing their daily crossing of the river to a small island, was wonderful to see.
All the staff & guides really friendly and knowledgeable.
Would love to go back some day

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Deni7441
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WildHorizons, Manager at Imbabala Zambezi Safari Lodge, responded to this review, August 3, 2012
Thanks so much for your wonderful comments and feedback about Imbabala! We hope to welcome you back again in the not too distant future. Kindest regards, Bradley & Annie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

439 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    370
    56
    6
    3
    4
See reviews for
115
160
39
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (115)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Schnaittach
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2012

I do not find the words for this divine place.... Everything is just perfect: the location, the people, nature, silence.... Great trips: on the boat, watching crocodiles, hyppos, birds.... The night game drive: adventurous! Early game drive: what a sunrise!!!! Never will forget my stay there!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Claudia749
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WildHorizons, Manager at Imbabala Zambezi Safari Lodge, responded to this review, July 20, 2012
Thanks so much for your positive comments! We hope to welcome you back again soon. Bradley & Annie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2012

My wife and I spent 3 wonderful nights at this truly superb Zimbabwean safari lodge. Imbabala is situated close to the mighty Zambezi river (80m walk) and a few km's from the point where Botswana, Namibia, Zambia and Zimbabwe all converge. Wildlife viewing is amazing and it comes to you. We had elephants at our bungalow almost every afternoon. I was taking an outside shower (its very private and attached to your chalet) and 3 Ellies walked past within metres ! what an experience !! Food is traditional style but well prepared and created from the heart. The staff really try so hard to make you feel special and welcome ! Management is superb and staff are so eager to please. Guides are really passionate about the wildlife and the care of it ...overall an awesome stay and a wonderful experience.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andre J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lytham St Anne's, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
197 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights. The accomodation is very charming and the staff are fantastic. bradley and our guides were as excited to show us all the wildlife as we were to see it. The whole experience was majic. We arrived to find warthogs grazing on the lawn and impala wandering around at will. That evening whilst sitting around the fire with a glass of wine a hippo wandered past and later an elephant arrived in the camp. The sunset cruises were brilliant- we watched the elephants swimming across the river and the sunset was stunning. a not to be missed experience.

Room Tip: All the rooms are well located with a view of the fire, lawn and river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nick045
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Tour operator at Imbabala Zambezi Safari Lodge, responded to this review, June 28, 2012
Thank you for your review!
I couldn't agree with you more! I have stayed in many places in this area as well as other lodges in Africa and Imbabala is a delight. Like you say the game that wander freely within the camp make it a truly unique & authentic safari experience. Not only is the location superb but the accommodation, scrumptious meals & outstanding service is one of a kind. The game cruise on the Zambezi is one of my best favourites, especially when you get to see game at close range. I do hope you visit again!
Sheilagh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hillcrest, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed June 23, 2012

We spent 3 nights at Imbabala at the beginning of June & it surpassed our expectations! The setting on the banks of the Zambezi is stunning & the hospitality was excellent. Brad & Annie had just arrived to run the lodge a few days earlier & they & all the staff went out of their way to meet our every need. Abraham, our guide, was wonderful on all the river cruises & game drives & we found him most informative. Great food served outdoors & lovely evenings around the camp fire. An unforgettable experience with all the game, in particular all the elephant & wonderful bird life! We will be back!!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bridgetkzn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2012

We loved our little thatched chalet and sitting on our porch with a glorious view of the Zambezi, watching the warthogs, baboons, monkeys and impala all make their appearances on the lawn. The food was wonderful as was eating it outside under the tree (don't skip breakfast - Zimbabwe has amazingly good sausages and bacon). The game drives are a little more limited as to route than some other places we'd been but Stan was a great guide and we enjoyed the river cruise too.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kvlj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Free State, South Africa
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2012

We stayed for three nights after visiting Victoria Falls. One thing that stand out at Imbabala is how well everyone seemed to work together to make guests comfortable. Karen the previous manager did a great job. I followed her blog about life at Imbabala after visiting. So sad to hear she has left. Stan was an excellent guide. Also liked that everyone (staff and guests) had dinner together. Food is great. Nice having dinner outside with everyone and the Impala settling down close by.

Rooms are nice and cosy.

Nice lodge. Great for relaxing

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LauretteMM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Victoria Falls hotels
38.6 mi away
The Elephant Camp
The Elephant Camp
#2 of 16 in Victoria Falls
848 reviews
35.9 mi away
Victoria Falls Safari Lodge
Victoria Falls Safari Lodge
#7 of 16 in Victoria Falls
1,783 reviews
36.6 mi away
Batonka Guest Lodge
Batonka Guest Lodge
#1 of 16 in Victoria Falls
297 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
33.5 mi away
Victoria Falls River Lodge - Zambezi Crescent
35.9 mi away
Victoria Falls Safari Club
Victoria Falls Safari Club
#4 of 16 in Victoria Falls
395 reviews
35.9 mi away
A'Zambezi River Lodge
A'Zambezi River Lodge
#11 of 16 in Victoria Falls
842 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Imbabala Zambezi Safari Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Imbabala Zambezi Safari Lodge

Property: Imbabala Zambezi Safari Lodge
Address: Matetsi Safari Area | Upper Zambezi River, Victoria Falls, Zimbabwe
Location: Zimbabwe > Matabeleland North Province > Victoria Falls
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Victoria Falls
#3 Luxury Hotel in Victoria Falls
#5 Romantic Hotel in Victoria Falls
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Imbabala Zambezi Safari Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Imbabala Zambezi Safari Lodge is situated on a riverine fringe of the mighty Zambezi River where Zimbabwe, Botswana, Zambia and Namibia converge. Located 80 kilometers west of Victoria Falls, access is by transfer from Victoria Falls, Livingstone or Kasane. Imbabala offers the chance to unwind but also some of the most amazing game viewing and bird watching in the region, in the seclusion of a private National Parks concession. The 5,000 acre concession has 14 kilometers of private Zambezi river frontage and borders the Chobe Forest Reserve, which is renowned for its massive elephant population. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Imbabala Zambezi Safari Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Imbabala Zambezi Safari Hotel Victoria Falls

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing