We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stanley & Livingstone Vic Falls”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Stanley and Livingstone
Ranked #9 of 16 Hotels in Victoria Falls
Certificate of Excellence
Greater Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Stanley & Livingstone Vic Falls”
Reviewed July 15, 2014

Thank you very much to all the staff at the Stanley & Livingstone. Rarely got such a great staff taking care of all our needs and wishes. Smiling, polite and always ready to help, I really have been impressed by how ready to help the staff is.

It really feels like a boutique hotel where the limited number of guest allow the staff to take care in a personal manner of their guests.

The place is stunning and the breakfast looking at the zebra, monkeys and elephant is priceless. It really feel like a bush experience with the comfort.

The room are very spacious and very clean. The hotel is charming and the set up in the middle of a reserve is priceless.

Only place to stay if in Vic falls.

Nothing to complain about 10/10, thank you very much for this amazing experience.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank Aurelien T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Etienne E, General Manager at The Stanley and Livingstone, responded to this review, July 25, 2014
Hi there Aurelien,

Wow what a wonderful & positive feedback to read & experience you must have had.

I am absolutely thrilled that you enjoyed your time with us so much and your very kind comments have been passed to the team who have all enjoyed reading them.

We certainly hope that we will get the chance to welcome you & your family/friends back one day in the near future to enjoy another amazing experience with us.

Warmest regards from Victoria Falls
Dustin Kennedy
Deputy GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

235 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    189
    36
    6
    0
    4
See reviews for
38
119
15
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2014

Just returned from a lovely few days at the Stanley & livingstone. Wonderful rooms and lovely friendly staff who were v helpful. Food was ok, beef definitely the speciality on the menu, and there was a good selection of wine - though none included and all starting from c. 30 dollars.
The absolute highlight for us was meeting the ecologist Ian - incredibly kind, informed and generous man who clearly has huge passion for the park and it's animals. One piece of advice for the lodge would be to prioritise the promotion of their incredible park and tours available - go at dawn and dusk to see the most amazing animals and views. Vic falls and the cruise definitely worth a visit, but prioritise seeing the best the private park has to offer - and eat in eat the park one night, it's amazing!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank claire s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Etienne E, General Manager at The Stanley and Livingstone, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
Hi there Claire S,

A huge thank you for taking the time to leave your very valuable feedback on here.

It is great for other guests to be able to read actual experiences and your feedback gives them a great insight of what to expect at the lodge.

We certainly do pride ourselves on having a spectacular wine selection here with wines coming from Spain, South Africa & France to name a few countries and the chance to dine in the wine cellar is always a popular choice with couples especially.

Thank you for your great comments re our Eco Genius Ian who certainly is a hugely experienced & passionate guy. I will be sure to tell him to check your feedback on here.

Lets hope we get the chance to welcome you back one day in the near future.

Best wishes,
Dustin Kennedy - Deputy GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon Usa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 30, 2014

We found everything to be most beautiful and appealing -- and to enhance the unforgettable setting, a superb staff -- friendly, courteous, fun to talk with.

The Stanley and Livingstone will be one of the many memorable moments of an unforgettable journey to Africa.

Room Tip: Loved the suite and the very pleasant patio!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank marydugan2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Etienne E, General Manager at The Stanley and Livingstone, responded to this review, June 1, 2014
Hi there Mary,

I just wanted to thank you for taking the time to post your experience on here for us. Our team here was very proud to read your special comments and are so thrilled that we helped make your experience such an unforgettable one.

We hope that it wont be too long until we can we welcome you at the front doors of our special lodge again soon and that your memories last for years to come.

Best wishes from a Sunny Vic Falls
Dustin Kennedy - Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed May 25, 2014

A truly magnificent hotel with a spacious suite of rooms which included a sitting-room. Very well-appointed and clean, with wonderfully friendly staff and excellent food. The Hotel overlooks the safari park and waterhole and is in an elevated position. The evening game drive we took part in was absolutely outstanding, with Cedric, our guide, providing us with a constant flow of information,much of which we had not heard before. An outstanding Hotel we would love to return to.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Traveltwo42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Etienne E, General Manager at The Stanley and Livingstone, responded to this review, June 1, 2014
Hi there Traveltwo42,

What an absolute pleasure to read your comments/feedback of your recent experience here at The Stanley & Livingstone Private Game Reserve in Victoria Falls, Zimbabwe.

The team here certainly tries to ensure each and every guest leaves with memories as you have and enjoys the wonderfully decorated and themed setting we offer.

We hope that you will be able to return one day again in the near future and bring your friends and family to experience what you have.

Best wishes from Sunny Vic Falls,
Dustin Kennedy - Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Mesa, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2014

Beautiful lodge full of memorabilia of the Stanley and Livingston era. Our lodge was a huge suite and regal bath. We looked out on zebra grazing, baboons playing, and cape buffalo roaming. Staff was helpful and responsive, food was delicious.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Etienne E, General Manager at The Stanley and Livingstone, responded to this review, May 16, 2014
Hi there Joan,

Always such a pleasure to read positive and happy reviews like you have posted.

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with everyone and I am thrilled to hear that you found the food delicious as i know how hard Chef Jabbu has been working to ensure we get comments like yours.

We look forward to having the chance of welcoming you back again one day soon.

Warmest regards from Vic Falls
Dustin Kennedy - Deputy GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2014

I have to start by saying the location of this hotel is completely wrong on the map - which gave things a bad start. Once finally getting to the hotel I couldn't say it was a warm welcome - I will acknowledge I got upgraded to the Loge over the huts but I just never found the staff that friendly or helpful. Not having the full board package meals were expensive and pricing would vary depending who you asked.
It was a lovely location, a great room and nice facilities but I couldn't say it was great.

Room Tip: They all seemed nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank patrick f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Etienne E, General Manager at The Stanley and Livingstone, responded to this review, May 14, 2014
Hi there Patrick,

Thank you for taking the time to post your experience with us on here albeit that it was not a great one.

We certainly strive to ensure that each and every guest who stays with us leaves with a memorable experience but unfortunately on this occasion it seems we have failed in some areas which is very disappointing.

I am glad the team were able to upgrade you from our smaller camp to the main lodge and hope you enjoyed the spacious and luxury suites.

Please would you be so kind to email me directly regarding the map location you mention as I would like to get this amended before any other guests have a similar issue & and thank you for bringing this to my attention.

Warmest regards from Victoria Falls
Dustin Kennedy - Deputy GM
dustin@snl.co.zw
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luanda, Angola
1 review
Reviewed April 29, 2014

The maximum note to service, very friendly and helpful personal.
Food with high quality and good presentation.
Huge rooms, with a privileged view to a articial lake where animals come to drink water.
Room service is highly efficient.
The location outside the city for us to travel with a child five years was not very nice, but for those seeking a relaxing holiday this place is paradise.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank joana_vci
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Etienne E, General Manager at The Stanley and Livingstone, responded to this review, May 14, 2014
Hi there Joana,

Wow what a lovely post and rating you have given us. It is always so pleasing to read such positive comments and I am absolutely thrilled that you enjoyed your stay and experience so much.

I completely understand your comments re the location of our lodge and certainly hope you took full advantage of our complimentary daily shuttles to and from the Victoria Falls town which is just a mere 15 mins away.

I am sure you will agree that there is nothing better though than being able to come back to the peace, tranquility and big five game viewing after a long day in the hustle and bustle of the town.

Thank you again for taking the time to post your experience and we certainly hope to welcome you again in the near future.

Warmest Regards from Vic Falls
Dustin Kennedy - Deputy GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Victoria Falls hotels
5.3 mi away
The Victoria Falls Hotel
The Victoria Falls Hotel
#6 of 16 in Victoria Falls
2,177 reviews
5.5 mi away
Ilala Lodge
Ilala Lodge
#7 of 16 in Victoria Falls
1,074 reviews
5.6 mi away
Victoria Falls Safari Club
Victoria Falls Safari Club
#4 of 16 in Victoria Falls
362 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 mi away
Batonka Guest Lodge
Batonka Guest Lodge
#1 of 16 in Victoria Falls
198 reviews
36.8 mi away
Imbabala Zambezi Safari Lodge
Imbabala Zambezi Safari Lodge
#3 of 16 in Victoria Falls
418 reviews
5.6 mi away
Victoria Falls Safari Lodge
Victoria Falls Safari Lodge
#8 of 16 in Victoria Falls
1,683 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Stanley and Livingstone? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Stanley and Livingstone

Property: The Stanley and Livingstone
Address: Old Ursula Road, Victoria Falls, Zimbabwe
Location: Zimbabwe > Matabeleland North Province > Victoria Falls
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Victoria Falls
#5 Business Hotel in Victoria Falls
#5 Spa Hotel in Victoria Falls
#6 Romantic Hotel in Victoria Falls
#9 Luxury Hotel in Victoria Falls
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Stanley and Livingstone 5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury Accommodation and the Big Five Minutes from Victoria Falls Home to the "Big Five", The Stanley and Livingstone at the Victoria Falls Private Game Reserve is an attraction in itself. Immerse yourself in the abundant sights of Africa just minutes from the Victoria Falls in all her glory. Here the luxurious Stanley and Livingstone Safari Lodge and intimate Ursula Camp spare no expense. 16 opulently appointed private suites overlook the abundant Reserve - and four intimate chalets offer retreat from daily life, amid green manicured lawns and flowing fountain ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Travelocity so you can book your The Stanley and Livingstone reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Stanley And Livingstone At Victoria Falls Hotel Victoria Falls
Stanley Livingstone Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing