We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Stanley and Livingstone
Ranked #10 of 16 Hotels in Victoria Falls
Certificate of Excellence
Johannesburg
Level Contributor
53 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Charming hotel”
Reviewed November 24, 2012

This hotel is really lovely. We were fortunate enough to stay in the honeymoon suite, which had its own jacuzzi and was very private. All the rooms have views over the watering hole, where we frequently saw buffalo, elephants, zebras, kudus and other game. The breakfast is great and other food very nice. We organized a special meal in the wine cellar, which was magical. Our only complaint was that the hotel was quite far out of town. If we had had our own car, it would have been fine, but we found ourselves at the mercy of the shuttle service and taxis, which was difficult at night. The dinners were very expensive, but it was equally expensive to get into town... One last note is that the staff were amazing, nothing was too much trouble. And Zimbabweans in general are such wonderful, friendly, well spoken people!! I would love to return!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TravelerNix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

244 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    194
    38
    7
    1
    4
See reviews for
39
123
16
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Victoria Falls, Zimbabwe
Level Contributor
44 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2012

We were looking for a total relaxing break, and we certainly found it. The rooms were perfect a sitting room and a separate bedroom, you could sit out in the early morning and see a parade of zebras, kudu, baboons, even the occasional giraffe and elephant wander past.
The staff were excellent, impeccable and friendly service, nothing was too much trouble.
The only slight criticism is that the dinner menu was not varied enough, the food was always excellently cooked and nicely presented.
The breakfasts were superb with everything from fresh papaya to a full English breakfast, and lovely fresh coffee.
We can't wait to return

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dominic E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundee, Scotland, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 2, 2012

We we're originally staying in Ursala Camp but due to renovations we got moved to Stanley and Livingstone. The hotel is amazing, we had our own suite and the food was gorgeous!! It was very peaceful and the staff were very helpful! The hotel was clean, spacious comfortable. Would defiantly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Leona O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bury St. Edmunds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
98 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2012

In many ways the hotel has a huge amount to commend it. It's away from the hustle and bustle of Vic falls, and it's quiet and peaceful. That does mean a drive down quite a rough road ride back and forth into town. The suites are spacious and exceptionally comfortable. Watching game at the watering hole from around the pool is a joy.....but something is missing. The interior of the main hotel is absolutely crammed with pictures/prints/busts of both Stanley and Livingstone, so much so it almost feels too much. Understandably, Zim' has got stuck in a time warp, and I am probably judging it unfairly because of the quality of hotels, lodges and B&B's in SA. But the dining room was like walking back in time to 1970's England........unfortunately much the same can be said about the food! We seemed to be the only guests actually staying, which probably didn't help as there was little or no atmosphere anywhere.

Room Tip: The rooms with the lower numbers are closer to the pool, the higher numbers have better views into...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MrsSumaridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Key Largo, Florida
Level Contributor
45 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2012

The surrounding area was very dry in August, and this logde shone like an incredible oasis. The grounds are impeccably landscaped with several ponds and a variety of beautiful trees. It is a stark contrast to the bush that is beyond the fence....
A variety of game come to the watering hole and on my first day, when I was very jet-lagged and tired from the 26 hour trip, I spent several hours sitting out under the trees on a bench overlooking the waterhole. Heaven for an animal-lover like me.
The bugalows are very spacious with a large living area separate from the bedroom. They are setup duplex style, and all have a nice patio with a table and overlook the beautiful grounds, and beyond that the bush. They feel very private, and with only 16 rooms, they cater to all your wants and needs.
The only negative for me was the distance to the Victoria Falls. They have a shuttle 4 times per day to town, or you can take a taxi. I stayed here 4 days, then closer to town for another 4 days, which worked out very well. This was an excellent place to unwind after the long flight.
Their included breakfast buffet is very good, with lots of selections, and you can also order cooked entries. Their set dinner menu offers a couple of selections for each of three courses, and the food was good, but nothing special. Quite pricey too, but for 1 person it is costly to go into town for dinner.
I did the Lion Walk, which is very close by, and also the Chobe day trip, both were excellent.
I am not sure what the current rack rate is, but it was definately much less than the current $372 estimate on trip advisor....

Room Tip: All have great views, rooms away from the lobby/dining area may be a little more isolated.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Charlene_Strong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA Bradenton FL
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2012

We have traveled all over the world. When you look at this hotel's ambiance, local, service etc. it is as fine a hotel and we've ever stayed at. Just visualize sitting on a stone bench, having evening cocktails and watching elephants, giraffes zebras etc. come to a watering hole maybe 100 ft. from you.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank joel c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La-Celle-Saint-Cloud, France
Level Contributor
169 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2012

During our 3-week South African tour, we spent 2 nights at Victoria Falls in the Stanley and Livingstone hotel.
15 minutes from the falls and from the uninteresting Victoria Falls town, the hotel is in the bush with water ponds where animals are coming for water. Last morning we had over 50 buffalos, then zebras and impalas in front of us.
The hotel is very very British and the suites are just wonderful.
Food is good but not so exclusive I could read in some comments. But perhaps the best in our 3-week tour.
The service is OK but they are less friendly than people we met in South Africa or in Botswana hotels.
We also noticed that in Zimbabwe, seeking for money (taxes, entree fees…) is everywhere and a bit painful regarding Botswana. Nevertheless, Victoria falls are beautiful.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank myginza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Victoria Falls hotels
5.3 mi away
The Victoria Falls Hotel
The Victoria Falls Hotel
#6 of 16 in Victoria Falls
2,257 reviews
5.6 mi away
Victoria Falls Safari Lodge
Victoria Falls Safari Lodge
#8 of 16 in Victoria Falls
1,755 reviews
5.6 mi away
Victoria Falls Safari Club
Victoria Falls Safari Club
#4 of 16 in Victoria Falls
386 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
The Elephant Camp
The Elephant Camp
#2 of 16 in Victoria Falls
829 reviews
5.5 mi away
Ilala Lodge
Ilala Lodge
#7 of 16 in Victoria Falls
1,118 reviews
5.0 mi away
Batonka Guest Lodge
Batonka Guest Lodge
#1 of 16 in Victoria Falls
257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Stanley and Livingstone? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Stanley and Livingstone

Property: The Stanley and Livingstone
Address: Old Ursula Road, Victoria Falls, Zimbabwe
Location: Zimbabwe > Matabeleland North Province > Victoria Falls
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Victoria Falls
#5 Business Hotel in Victoria Falls
#6 Romantic Hotel in Victoria Falls
#6 Spa Hotel in Victoria Falls
#9 Luxury Hotel in Victoria Falls
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Stanley and Livingstone 5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury Accommodation and the Big Five Minutes from Victoria Falls Home to the "Big Five", The Stanley and Livingstone at the Victoria Falls Private Game Reserve is an attraction in itself. Immerse yourself in the abundant sights of Africa just minutes from the Victoria Falls in all her glory. Here the luxurious Stanley and Livingstone Safari Lodge and intimate Ursula Camp spare no expense. 16 opulently appointed private suites overlook the abundant Reserve - and four intimate chalets offer retreat from daily life, amid green manicured lawns and flowing fountain ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Preferred Hotels, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and HRS so you can book your The Stanley and Livingstone reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Stanley And Livingstone At Victoria Falls Hotel Victoria Falls
Stanley Livingstone Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing