We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“AMAZING!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Stanley and Livingstone
Ranked #9 of 16 Hotels in Victoria Falls
Certificate of Excellence
Dundee, Scotland, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“AMAZING!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2012

We we're originally staying in Ursala Camp but due to renovations we got moved to Stanley and Livingstone. The hotel is amazing, we had our own suite and the food was gorgeous!! It was very peaceful and the staff were very helpful! The hotel was clean, spacious comfortable. Would defiantly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Leona O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

236 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    189
    37
    6
    0
    4
See reviews for
39
119
15
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bury St. Edmunds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
97 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2012

In many ways the hotel has a huge amount to commend it. It's away from the hustle and bustle of Vic falls, and it's quiet and peaceful. That does mean a drive down quite a rough road ride back and forth into town. The suites are spacious and exceptionally comfortable. Watching game at the watering hole from around the pool is a joy.....but something is missing. The interior of the main hotel is absolutely crammed with pictures/prints/busts of both Stanley and Livingstone, so much so it almost feels too much. Understandably, Zim' has got stuck in a time warp, and I am probably judging it unfairly because of the quality of hotels, lodges and B&B's in SA. But the dining room was like walking back in time to 1970's England........unfortunately much the same can be said about the food! We seemed to be the only guests actually staying, which probably didn't help as there was little or no atmosphere anywhere.

Room Tip: The rooms with the lower numbers are closer to the pool, the higher numbers have better views into...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MrsSumaridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Key Largo, Florida
Level Contributor
45 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2012

The surrounding area was very dry in August, and this logde shone like an incredible oasis. The grounds are impeccably landscaped with several ponds and a variety of beautiful trees. It is a stark contrast to the bush that is beyond the fence....
A variety of game come to the watering hole and on my first day, when I was very jet-lagged and tired from the 26 hour trip, I spent several hours sitting out under the trees on a bench overlooking the waterhole. Heaven for an animal-lover like me.
The bugalows are very spacious with a large living area separate from the bedroom. They are setup duplex style, and all have a nice patio with a table and overlook the beautiful grounds, and beyond that the bush. They feel very private, and with only 16 rooms, they cater to all your wants and needs.
The only negative for me was the distance to the Victoria Falls. They have a shuttle 4 times per day to town, or you can take a taxi. I stayed here 4 days, then closer to town for another 4 days, which worked out very well. This was an excellent place to unwind after the long flight.
Their included breakfast buffet is very good, with lots of selections, and you can also order cooked entries. Their set dinner menu offers a couple of selections for each of three courses, and the food was good, but nothing special. Quite pricey too, but for 1 person it is costly to go into town for dinner.
I did the Lion Walk, which is very close by, and also the Chobe day trip, both were excellent.
I am not sure what the current rack rate is, but it was definately much less than the current $372 estimate on trip advisor....

Room Tip: All have great views, rooms away from the lobby/dining area may be a little more isolated.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Charlene_Strong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA Bradenton FL
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2012

We have traveled all over the world. When you look at this hotel's ambiance, local, service etc. it is as fine a hotel and we've ever stayed at. Just visualize sitting on a stone bench, having evening cocktails and watching elephants, giraffes zebras etc. come to a watering hole maybe 100 ft. from you.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank joel c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La-Celle-Saint-Cloud, France
Level Contributor
157 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2012

During our 3-week South African tour, we spent 2 nights at Victoria Falls in the Stanley and Livingstone hotel.
15 minutes from the falls and from the uninteresting Victoria Falls town, the hotel is in the bush with water ponds where animals are coming for water. Last morning we had over 50 buffalos, then zebras and impalas in front of us.
The hotel is very very British and the suites are just wonderful.
Food is good but not so exclusive I could read in some comments. But perhaps the best in our 3-week tour.
The service is OK but they are less friendly than people we met in South Africa or in Botswana hotels.
We also noticed that in Zimbabwe, seeking for money (taxes, entree fees…) is everywhere and a bit painful regarding Botswana. Nevertheless, Victoria falls are beautiful.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank myginza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, VA
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2012

The Stanley and Livingstone was the second stop on a tour my wife and I took to South Africa. The rooms were clean and spacious (really a suite). The waterhole outside provided for wildlife viewing and was never the same at any given time of day or time. Baboons and birds were plentiful on the grounds. The food was good. I'm vegan, and they accomodated my requirements. The tour set up a lecture on Stanley and Livingstone. I don't recall the lecturer's name, but he was outstanding! Our only complaint was the airconditioning units which were moderately loud. My wife can sleep through most anything and did for the most part. I'm a light sleeper, and it was a bit of a problem for me. Otherwise, it was a memorable place to visit.

Room Tip: Check out the airconditioning unit prior to accepting a room, if other rooms are available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JEP1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque
Level Contributor
34 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2012

We stayed here two nights while we took a break from the National Parks and visited Victoria Falls. The rooms are clean, well furbished, and very large. The grounds were immaculate and overlook a waterhole. The property sits on several thousand acres where various game have been reintroduced.This isn't a true wildlife experience, but it is fun watching the various game come down to the waterhole to drink. It is a good base for exploring the falls and visiting the town, and I recommend it for those who want to stay at a quiet place. The rooms are a good value.

The breakfast was good and is included with the room. We ate lunch there once ($16 per person) and I was disappointed. Dinner was OK, but for $40/person, I recommend eating in town. They try to push the meals on you, and they also soft sell all their activities, which I think are way overpriced. The downside of this place is their pushing of in house meals and activities, which is why I gave it only 4 out of 5.

Mike

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SpacemanAlbuquerque
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Victoria Falls hotels
5.3 mi away
The Victoria Falls Hotel
The Victoria Falls Hotel
#6 of 16 in Victoria Falls
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,179 reviews
5.5 mi away
Ilala Lodge
Ilala Lodge
#7 of 16 in Victoria Falls
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,074 reviews
5.6 mi away
Victoria Falls Safari Club
Victoria Falls Safari Club
#4 of 16 in Victoria Falls
5.0 of 5 bubbles 362 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 mi away
Batonka Guest Lodge
Batonka Guest Lodge
#1 of 16 in Victoria Falls
5.0 of 5 bubbles 198 reviews
5.6 mi away
Victoria Falls Safari Lodge
Victoria Falls Safari Lodge
#8 of 16 in Victoria Falls
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,684 reviews
36.8 mi away
Imbabala Zambezi Safari Lodge
Imbabala Zambezi Safari Lodge
#3 of 16 in Victoria Falls
5.0 of 5 bubbles 418 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Stanley and Livingstone? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Stanley and Livingstone

Property: The Stanley and Livingstone
Address: Old Ursula Road, Victoria Falls, Zimbabwe
Location: Zimbabwe > Matabeleland North Province > Victoria Falls
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Victoria Falls
#5 Business Hotel in Victoria Falls
#5 Spa Hotel in Victoria Falls
#6 Romantic Hotel in Victoria Falls
#9 Luxury Hotel in Victoria Falls
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Stanley and Livingstone 5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury Accommodation and the Big Five Minutes from Victoria Falls Home to the "Big Five", The Stanley and Livingstone at the Victoria Falls Private Game Reserve is an attraction in itself. Immerse yourself in the abundant sights of Africa just minutes from the Victoria Falls in all her glory. Here the luxurious Stanley and Livingstone Safari Lodge and intimate Ursula Camp spare no expense. 16 opulently appointed private suites overlook the abundant Reserve - and four intimate chalets offer retreat from daily life, amid green manicured lawns and flowing fountain ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Travelocity so you can book your The Stanley and Livingstone reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Stanley And Livingstone At Victoria Falls Hotel Victoria Falls
Stanley Livingstone Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing