We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“the place to stay”
Review of Ilala Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ilala Lodge
Ranked #6 of 16 Hotels in Victoria Falls
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 16, 2009

stayed for 6 nights in august. very tidy lodge, the rooms, food, staff second to none. i would stay there again, would recommend this lodge to all that want to stay in vic falls.

  • Stayed: August 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank foundryboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,263)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

972 - 978 of 1,263 reviews

Reviewed August 1, 2009

My wife and I stayed here for two nights - the 3rd and 4th of July, 2009. From the complimentary drink on our arrival at the hotel to our checking out, we throughly enjoyed our stay at the Ilala Lodge. We asked for and received one of the four second floor rooms with a balcony view of the mist rising from the falls nearby. The falls are not directly visible from any hotel in the town of Victoria Falls, Zimbabwe. "Lucky" the bartender by the outdoor pool makes a nice gin and tonic. We had a very nice room with a mosquito net (we never used) over each bed. We had two lovely breakfasts and two fantastic dinners here - usually in the company of diverse (American) tour groups finishing up a week or two in the Botswana/Zambian bush. We arranged for a evening/sunset boat ride on the Zambezi River here at the hotel - we recommend it. This is not a huge hotel - just the right size. Throughly recommend this hotel. If you can get a room here for $150 or less per couple with a full breakfast included - then it is really a good deal! See my warning about tourist credit card use in Zimbabwe under my Victoria Falls Hotel comments elsewhere on this site.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank StuartCoastalMaine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2009

Ilala Lodge exceeded our expecations from the moment we arrived. It started with a complimentary beverage to welcome us and then continued with the professional staff at the front desk to the personal service and wonderful food in the dining room, we couldn't have picked a nicer place to stay. Convenient to the Falls, the town and the curio market. Every member of the staff did everything they could to attend to our every need and the rooms were large and cozy. We had a dozen or more baboons playing in the back courtyard outside our room on our very first morning there. We would highly recommend this place to anyone traveling to Victoria Falls.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stacey F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2009

As the situation in Zimbabwe slightly improved I dared to stay on the Zimbabwe side. Tourists are still rare there, occupation rate could have been 10 %. Price was half of the usual at the time of my visit and it means extremely good value. Although they forgot to pick me up at the airport (I succeeded bargaining the fare from 30 to 20 usd) and laundry gave my t-shirt back with a spot on it, service was generally good. The lodge has an old-world elegance, authentic african style, beautiful and interesting drawings on the walls, comfortable common areas. Rooms are spacious, elegant decoration, good amenities. Wild animals can come to the garden in front of the rooms. I saw monkeys and warthogs but even elephants and hippos can be there. Terrace and bar were beautiful, comfortable furniture, calm, relaxing. Food was excellent, although a bit expensive. The route to the VF park entrance is full with agressive but harmless hawkers. Tourist police guarded me on my morning walk to the Zambian border. Victoria Falls Hotel is couple of hundreds of meters from the hotel, a visit there is recommended.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Boldizsar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2009

After much research chose Ilala Lodge for 3 nights at Vic falls and definately made the right decision. It is the nearest accommodation to the falls - you can see them from the hotel. Illala lodge was full when we were there but was still intimate - about 30 rooms. I am picky, but this really was a good choice. As a price conscious Brit with the excahange rate as it is, it is worth taking lunch at the Kingdon Hotel across the road as they have fast food as half the price. I spent twice as much as I budgeted for as there is so much to do at the falls. Be aware - US dollars or Rand are needed as NO CREDIT CARDS are accepted. Ideally situated and so relaxing. A great place to be.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Hollfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2009

The hotel was a welcome oasis after being on safari for 12 days. The staff are so helpful and friendly. The room was great with a good hard bed. The room had air conditioning, too. I would recommend this hotel to all who travel here. Zimbabwean people are happy to see us here, and welcomed us. We always felt safe. They have a lovely buffet for breakfast and dinner.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ca4cha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2009

We stayed in the Ilala Lodge for three nights and loved every minute of it. The staff were the best ever, could not do enough for you. As the lodge only has about 35 rooms it feels very intimate compared to some of the larger resorts like the Victoria Falls Hotel. You would not know they had economic problems, all the resorts run flawlessly. The Palms dining room served great food and the staff were very attentive. You must take U.S. dollars with you and lots of small bills for tips, as credit cards don't work at the moment and they have no currency of there own anymore. At no time did we feel at risk, although I would recommend taking a tourist police with you when shopping as it can be an overwhelming experience. Great deals on all crafts and you can trade clothes with cash as they need everything. Zimbabwean's are real friendly people and the falls are best on the Zimbabwe side.

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RayHill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Victoria Falls hotels
1.5 mi away
Victoria Falls Safari Lodge
Victoria Falls Safari Lodge
#7 of 16 in Victoria Falls
2,020 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Victoria Falls Hotel
The Victoria Falls Hotel
#8 of 16 in Victoria Falls
2,551 reviews
0.9 mi away
Batonka Guest Lodge
Batonka Guest Lodge
#1 of 16 in Victoria Falls
506 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
A'Zambezi River Lodge
A'Zambezi River Lodge
#10 of 16 in Victoria Falls
918 reviews
1.4 mi away
Elephant Hills Resort
Elephant Hills Resort
#9 of 16 in Victoria Falls
683 reviews
3.3 mi away
The Elephant Camp
The Elephant Camp
#2 of 16 in Victoria Falls
951 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ilala Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ilala Lodge

Address: 411 Livingstone Way, Victoria Falls, Zimbabwe
Phone Number:
Location: Zimbabwe > Matabeleland North Province > Victoria Falls
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Victoria Falls
#7 Family Hotel in Victoria Falls
#7 Romantic Hotel in Victoria Falls
#9 Business Hotel in Victoria Falls
Price Range: $277 - $486 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Ilala Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ilala Lodge is ideally located only minutes away from the spectacular Victoria Falls. A family run hotel, Ilala Lodge has 56 stylish, well-equipped rooms, providing the ultimate in comfort. The top-rated Palm Restaurant at Ilala Lodge offers delicious al-fresco dining under the starry African skies, whilst listening to the roar of the falls. The staff are attentive and friendly, and ensure your bucket list trip is perfect for you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Ilala Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ilala Hotel Victoria Falls

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing