We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyed it very much”
Review of Ilala Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ilala Lodge
Ranked #7 of 16 Hotels in Victoria Falls
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 21, 2014

We stayed three nights at the Lodge and really enjoyed it. Our room was on the ground floor, nice and normal size, with garden access/view. Common areas such as restaurant, reception, pool and bar are great, with a a beautiful view of the spray of the falls. Do not miss to get up just before sunrise to look at the early morning spray, it is spectacluar (at least at this time of the year, when water levels are high). You can also hear the falls.
Staff in general is very nice, with special credit going to the ladies of the tour desk, who are super friendly and super helpful. Only small negative: Restaurant staff is making it very clear that they expect tips for everything, including a self-service breakfast buffet (although breakfast was included, waiters bring you an invoice with the explanation that it is only for giving tips, either by charging it to the room or giving it in cash). Management would be well advised to address this and ask the waiters to tone it down a little bit. Tips should be earned, not demanded.
The location of the hotel is top notch, it takes approx. 15 minutes to walk to the falls or about 10 minutes to walk to shops and restaurants.
In summary, Ilala lodge is a great place, in a great location with very good staff, and we are looking forward to our next stay.

Room Tip: Rooms on the ground floor have a garden view, where seeing animals such as warthogs is quite likely...
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jtkJakarta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,187)
There are newer reviews for Ilala Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

603 - 609 of 1,187 reviews

Reviewed April 20, 2014

We stayed two nights at this hotel. The rooms are good- overlooking gardens where the warthogs come and graze regularly which we loved. Spray can be felt when you stand outside and the falls are just audible although it's about 20 minutes walk away.
The beds are comfortable and wifi worked well there. The bathrooms are good although look a bit dated, but everything works fine.
The staff are helpful and the breakfast was very good with lots of choice. It's a pity that the area around the shops is full of people harassing you to buy their wares - and everyone sells the same stuff. They put so much pressure on you that we ended up walking away from them.
Be mindful - this area is VERY expensive- everything is in dollars. We went white water rafting which was good fun but very overpriced.
The falls are terrific and a must visit as was the Victoria Falls hotel. Do go and have tea/coffee there and have a look around this wonderful old colonial hotel. Also go to Boma for dinner - excellent food and fun drumming

Room Tip: We were worried when we were taken downstairs to our room but it was actually on ground level and ab...
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ZaraRozLeona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2014

hotel is nice, rooms are nice, food is good, but after spending 6 days in botswana where every is friendly and happy, this was a bit disappointing. the only inclusions were breakfast, it is a typical hotel and could be anywhere in the world. access to the falls is a short walk but you are bothered by sreet sellers everywhere you go, except in the hotel grounds.

Room Tip: choose a downstairs room and you might see animals outside your window
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lee M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2014

We stayed 2 nights in early September 2014 and enjoyed our stay. No complaints about the rooms or facilities and we had a great time in Victoria Falls. The only downside was our dinner in the restaurant on our last night. We had gone to the trouble to pre book but when we arrived our reservation it had been crossed out in the book. We were given perhaps the worst table and despite there being other empty tables our request to move was refused. We can only put this down to the fact that maybe this poor treatment was due to our having not left tips at lunch the previous day and breakfast that morning. It was a shame as it did put a bit of a dampener on our stay there. Apart from that the hotel is a nice place to stay and I would definitely return.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank NikNakRoyMac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2014

We stayed 2 nights at this lodge in May 2013,and had a very nice stay.
The room we had was huge,with a view of the haze from the Victoria falls in the distance.You could hear the rumble of the falls,especially at night.The food in the restaurant was good.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank singhottawa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2014

We recently spent 2 nights at the Ilala lodge. Very pleased with this hotel. Great location very comfortable hotel. Efficient but friendly, good restaurant and excellent location where you could hear the 'smoke thundering' while having dinner. All-in-all a very good choice for anyone going to see Victoria Falls.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hydiho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2014

We recently spent 3 nights at the Ilala Lodge, we were so pleased we'd picked this hotel over the rest, it was just perfect. The staff were friendly, the food was really good, our room was clean and it's in such a beautiful spot so close to the falls. We just loved it and couldn't fault a thing.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 29, a nice balcony
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lazylisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Victoria Falls hotels
0.3 mi away
The Victoria Falls Hotel
The Victoria Falls Hotel
#6 of 16 in Victoria Falls
2,373 reviews
2.2 mi away
A'Zambezi River Lodge
A'Zambezi River Lodge
#11 of 16 in Victoria Falls
879 reviews
1.4 mi away
Elephant Hills Resort
Elephant Hills Resort
#10 of 16 in Victoria Falls
607 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Cresta Sprayview Hotel
Cresta Sprayview Hotel
#13 of 16 in Victoria Falls
364 reviews
1.5 mi away
Victoria Falls Safari Lodge
Victoria Falls Safari Lodge
#8 of 16 in Victoria Falls
1,868 reviews
0.9 mi away
Batonka Guest Lodge
Batonka Guest Lodge
#1 of 16 in Victoria Falls
376 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ilala Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ilala Lodge

Address: 411 Livingstone Way, Victoria Falls, Zimbabwe
Phone Number:
Location: Zimbabwe > Matabeleland North Province > Victoria Falls
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Victoria Falls
#7 Romantic Hotel in Victoria Falls
#8 Family Hotel in Victoria Falls
#9 Business Hotel in Victoria Falls
Price Range: $281 - $476 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Ilala Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ilala Lodge is ideally located only minutes away from the spectacular Victoria Falls. A family run hotel, Ilala Lodge has 56 stylish, well-equipped rooms, providing the ultimate in comfort. The top-rated Palm Restaurant at Ilala Lodge offers delicious al-fresco dining under the starry African skies, whilst listening to the roar of the falls. The staff are attentive and friendly, and ensure your bucket list trip is perfect for you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Ilala Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ilala Hotel Victoria Falls

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing