We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel close to Victoria Falls”
Review of Ilala Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ilala Lodge
Ranked #7 of 16 Hotels in Victoria Falls
Certificate of Excellence
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great hotel close to Victoria Falls”
Reviewed January 13, 2014

This hotel I can fully recommend: The rooms are clean, spacious and have a nice quiet balcony to relax on. The hotel has a very nice garden and you can see the mist of the Victoria Falls from the terasse. The Victoria Falls themselves are a ten minute walk away, so the location is optimal for a visit of the Zimbabwe part of the Falls. The restaurant is excellent - Go there for dinner!!!
Minor points are: You have a lot of insects in the rooms due to the roof and the pool is relatively small.

Room Tip: Each room is equipped so that three people can stay in a room
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 204World_Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MartinVaughan, General Manager at Ilala Lodge, responded to this review, January 15, 2014
Thank you for your review of Ilala Lodge. We appreciate your positive feedback and pleased you enjoyed your dinner with us. We hope you enjoyed the rest of your holiday and thank you again for staying at Ilala Lodge.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,101 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    630
    404
    59
    8
    0
See reviews for
196
588
76
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (223)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Maseru, Lesotho
Level Contributor
41 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2014

We stayed here or 3 nights as the highlight of our new year trip. The hotel was beautiful and our room opened on to the large gardens. The pool was very warm and was very enjoyable. The rooms were nice and stylish. The hotel was only a short walk from the bank, the post office, the market, and most importantly the falls!.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms opening to the gardens.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Miksa223
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MartinVaughan, General Manager at Ilala Lodge, responded to this review, January 10, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review Ilala Lodge. We appreciate your positive review and delighted that you enjoyed your time in Victoria Falls.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torquay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed December 31, 2013

After a month driving through Africa, we reached this paradise, and loved every moment of our stay. The food, facilities, staff, accommodation were all from the top drawer.
The hotel is very handy for the Falls, of course, but it is so much more than that!
We would stay here again without any doubt at all!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cricketmann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MartinVaughan, General Manager at Ilala Lodge, responded to this review, January 10, 2014
Thank you for your review of Ilala Lodge. Your positive feedback on Ilala Lodge is appreciated. We look forward to welcoming you back to Victoria Falls in the near future and trust you had a pleasant trip home.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 21, 2013

We stayed in this hotel for 3 nights after 2 weeks trip in South Africa from Cape Town to Kruger Park. It turned out to be the perfect place to enjoy the great Victoria Falls, to experience some local activities and to have a relaxation beside the pool after a long RSA journey. Upon cheking-in we got a complimentary upgrading from standard room on the ground floor to deluxe suite on the second floor which had a high chalet-tipe wooden roof, two air-cons and a large balcony. It was a pleasant surprise to find a set of insect repellents in the room because Vic Falls is a malaria area. The restaurant is large with indoor/outdoor areas, the breakfast is very copious and the dinner is not very expensive taking into account lacking of restaurants in the city which is very small. The city center and railway station is just outside the hotel, the Falls is 10-15 min. walk through the bush. When having activities (lions walk, helicopter flight, Zambezi river cruise) we were picked up/dropped of from the hotel reception which was very comfortable cause the weather was very hot. The hotel staff was very attentive and friendly. Also they have a cosy shop with crocodile/buffalo leather-made goods.
Overall the Ilala Lodge is a perfect place to stay and I would highly recommend it to any visitor of Victoria Falls.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Georgy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MartinVaughan, General Manager at Ilala Lodge, responded to this review, January 10, 2014
Thank you for the review of our Ilala Lodge. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope one day you will return to Victoria Falls.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paternoster, South Africa
Level Contributor
169 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed December 21, 2013 via mobile

Good location within the town of Victoria Falls and walkable to the Falls . No need to eat out as the Palm Restaurant at Ilala serves amazing food. Found the rooms dated and need a freshening up , example the curtains are not sufficiently "full" requiring a peg to close the gap.Staff are friendly and welcoming and I have no hesitation in recommending a stay here.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank CourteneyGeorge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MartinVaughan, General Manager at Ilala Lodge, responded to this review, January 10, 2014
We appreciate your review of Ilala Lodge and the feedback given. The curtains are being replaced in 2014 as part of the ongoing refurbishment program we have at our Hotel. We look forward to one day welcoming you back to Victoria Falls and hope you enjoyed the rest of your trip.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
89 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed December 14, 2013

We had the good fortune of staying at the lovely Ilala lodge in October of this year to view the majestic Victoria Falls. Our stay was wonderful with the accommodation comfortable, affordable and the food amazing. All staff were attentive and lovely to talk to. We did Walking with the Lions which is a must. What an experience to walk with these majestic creatures. The other thing we did which we would highly recommend is a flight above the falls. This would be definitely worth doing in the peak time as you would not get to see too much of the falls as the mist would be overwhelming. We were there in the low season so viewing the falls from the ground level was not so bad. You certainly get a different perspective from up high however and was truly worth the cost. Would recommend staying at Ilala. It is close to the falls and not far from the main part of town (It is not very big) The only downside to visiting here is the long delay it took getting through passport. You can get your visa at the gate but would recommend getting it before you go as it took us 1.5hrs to get through. They are in the midst of building a bigger terminal so with any luck they will be able to employ more staff to help this jam. We heard from others that the elephant back safari was also excellent although we did not do this. Try the Warthog for dinner it's yummy. The Savannah cider is also worth a taste, nice and refreshing on a very warm day. The pool is also nice and cool. All in all would stay here again and definitely recommend it.

Room Tip: We were upstairs in a deluxe room with own balcony which was nice and quiet and lovely outlook onto...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lynn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MartinVaughan, General Manager at Ilala Lodge, responded to this review, January 10, 2014
Thank you for taking your time to review Ilala Lodge. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with is and found the very popular lion walk and the flight over the Victoria Falls enjoyable. We hope you had a enjoyable trip home and look forward to welcoming you back some day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washignton, DC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 13, 2013

The only bad part was that I couldn't stay here longer. The customer service was top-notch and everyone was very friendly. The rooms were a good size, very clean and even came with extra bug spray and insect repellent in case you need. The lodge is very pretty and relaxing. You can see the most from the Falls from the back patio area and the resort is beautiful. It's great location but you are not in an area to see a lot of random animals on the property like at other lodges - but I did see warthogs walking along the road. It is safe and you can easily walk to the "downtown area" for shopping or anything else.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank worldtraveler3209
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MartinVaughan, General Manager at Ilala Lodge, responded to this review, January 10, 2014
Thank you for your positive review and also wish you could have stayed longer! As Ilala Lodge borders with the National Parks, animals are found often grazing on our front lawn. We hope you had a pleasant trip home and hope one day you will return to The Victoria Falls area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Victoria Falls hotels
0.3 mi away
The Victoria Falls Hotel
The Victoria Falls Hotel
#6 of 16 in Victoria Falls
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,230 reviews
1.6 mi away
Victoria Falls Safari Club
Victoria Falls Safari Club
#4 of 16 in Victoria Falls
5.0 of 5 bubbles 373 reviews
0.9 mi away
Batonka Guest Lodge
Batonka Guest Lodge
#1 of 16 in Victoria Falls
5.0 of 5 bubbles 229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Victoria Falls Safari Lodge
Victoria Falls Safari Lodge
#8 of 16 in Victoria Falls
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,728 reviews
1.4 mi away
Elephant Hills Resort
Elephant Hills Resort
#9 of 16 in Victoria Falls
4.0 of 5 bubbles 551 reviews
2.2 mi away
A'Zambezi River Lodge
A'Zambezi River Lodge
#12 of 16 in Victoria Falls
4.0 of 5 bubbles 816 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ilala Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ilala Lodge

Property: Ilala Lodge
Address: 411 Livingstone Way, Victoria Falls, Zimbabwe
Phone Number:
Location: Zimbabwe > Matabeleland North Province > Victoria Falls
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Victoria Falls
#7 Luxury Hotel in Victoria Falls
#8 Family Hotel in Victoria Falls
#9 Business Hotel in Victoria Falls
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Ilala Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ilala Lodge is ideally located only minutes away from the spectacular Victoria Falls. A family run hotel, Ilala Lodge has 56 stylish, well-equipped rooms, providing the ultimate in comfort. The top-rated Palm Restaurant at Ilala Lodge offers delicious al-fresco dining under the starry African skies, whilst listening to the roar of the falls. The staff are attentive and friendly, and ensure your bucket list trip is perfect for you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Jovago.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Ilala Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ilala Hotel Victoria Falls

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing