We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Ilala Lodge
Nearby Hotels
The Elephant Camp(Victoria Falls)
$1,003
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
A'Zambezi River Lodge(Victoria Falls)
$169
$147
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Victoria Falls Hotel(Victoria Falls)
$371
$282
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$239
$213
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Batonka Guest Lodge(Victoria Falls)
$275
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Elephant Hills Resort(Victoria Falls)
$201
$194
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$439
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Cresta Sprayview Hotel(Victoria Falls)
$106
$99
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$830
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
N1 Hotel Victoria Falls(Victoria Falls)(Great Value!)
$58
$56
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
Reviews (1,300)
Filter reviews
1,300 results
Traveler rating
762
461
68
9
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
762
461
68
9
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspalm restaurantnew wingra ikanewalking distancevictoria falls hotelpost officelovely hotelthe ground floorclosest hoteltourist policemist risingminute walk to the fallssunset cruiseelephant walkbottled waterthatched roofwonderful stay
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
742 - 747 of 1,300 reviews
Reviewed September 24, 2013

I stayed at Ilala Lodge last month and found the food absolutely delicious.

The rooms are comfortable, and the staff were all pleasant and helpful.

Its a small hotel that's central and within easy walking distance to the Falls, shops and banks.

Even if you don't stay here, try at least to have a meal at the restaurant in the evening .


The best hotel in the Falls.

Simon Fox

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Foxontoast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2013

Stayed at Ilala Lodge during our recent visit to Victoria Falls. Great place. Enjoyed the accommodations, services and restaurant immensely. Would highly recommend. Also located close to town and park.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cheryl B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MartinVaughan, General Manager at Ilala Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded September 19, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review Ilala Lodge. I am very pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to see you here again. The Ilala Lodge Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2013

This was my second stay at Ilala Lodge and I enjoyed it as much as the first time. I only stayed overnight. The staff was kind and considerate. My room was very comfortable, and I see no real need for renovation. The barman remembered me from 5 years ago and we had an enjoyable conversation. I needed a new pair of binoculars and was able to find a good pair just up the street. The Falls are a short walk away. My own complaint is that the water in swimming pool is cold. It was nice to see that Victoria Falls had far more tourists than five years ago, and it felt far more "normal."

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank africanman_840
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MartinVaughan, General Manager at Ilala Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded September 19, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review Ilala Lodge and it was a pleasure to welcome you back to Ilala Lodge! I am very pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and am please to tell you that the weather has warmed up so the swimming pool is more welcoming! We look forward to welcoming you back again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2013

We arrived in the morning coming from Kasane and first we were welcomed by a very friendly team. We checked in and get our room earlier as expected.
Our room with a nice view towards the Vic Falls offered lots of space. I would say the Lodge was built somewhere in the sixties or seventies, but anywhere it is well maintained, clean and proper.
Our walk to the falls was only a 10 minutes stroll.

In the evening we started with a drink at the open bar and had a table on the terrace of the restaurant.
Only with the experience of the next destinations in Zimbabwe we can imagine the quality, superb kitchen, value for money and an outstanding friendly service.
The menue was exeptional and the waiter very intentiv. The wine - most of them from South Africa - very good sortet and fair priced.

The next morning started with a good buffet, fresh made eggs and we later checked out at the friendly desk. All in one and very good experience.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AngelsSFB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MartinVaughan, General Manager at Ilala Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded September 19, 2013

Thank you kindly for your review. We at Ilala greatly appreciate the lovely comments you have posted and look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2013

The rooms are clean and comfortable, but dated. The restaurant has great food and the bar is a good place to relax and have a gin and tonic. The Ilala is within walking distance to Victoria Falls and the Victoria Falls Hotel. There are several banks with ATMs adjacent to the lodge. Be advised the ATMs distribute $100 bills. I was bale to exchange the large bills for smaller ones at the casino across the street.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gasspasser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IlalaVictoriaFalls, Guest Relations Manager at Ilala Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded August 29, 2013

Thank you for taking your time to share your your exprience with us and for all you comments.We are more than happy hear that you found Ilala relaxing.We hope to see you in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews