We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful lodge” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ilala Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Ilala Lodge
Ranked #8 of 16 Hotels in Victoria Falls
Certificate of Excellence
Denver, NC
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Wonderful lodge”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2013

Stayed at Ilala Lodge during our recent visit to Victoria Falls. Great place. Enjoyed the accommodations, services and restaurant immensely. Would highly recommend. Also located close to town and park.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cheryl B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MartinVaughan, General Manager at Ilala Lodge, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review Ilala Lodge. I am very pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to see you here again. The Ilala Lodge Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,056 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    596
    395
    58
    7
    0
See reviews for
187
566
73
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (208)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
221 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2013

This was my second stay at Ilala Lodge and I enjoyed it as much as the first time. I only stayed overnight. The staff was kind and considerate. My room was very comfortable, and I see no real need for renovation. The barman remembered me from 5 years ago and we had an enjoyable conversation. I needed a new pair of binoculars and was able to find a good pair just up the street. The Falls are a short walk away. My own complaint is that the water in swimming pool is cold. It was nice to see that Victoria Falls had far more tourists than five years ago, and it felt far more "normal."

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank africanman_840
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MartinVaughan, General Manager at Ilala Lodge, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review Ilala Lodge and it was a pleasure to welcome you back to Ilala Lodge! I am very pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and am please to tell you that the weather has warmed up so the swimming pool is more welcoming! We look forward to welcoming you back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2013

We arrived in the morning coming from Kasane and first we were welcomed by a very friendly team. We checked in and get our room earlier as expected.
Our room with a nice view towards the Vic Falls offered lots of space. I would say the Lodge was built somewhere in the sixties or seventies, but anywhere it is well maintained, clean and proper.
Our walk to the falls was only a 10 minutes stroll.

In the evening we started with a drink at the open bar and had a table on the terrace of the restaurant.
Only with the experience of the next destinations in Zimbabwe we can imagine the quality, superb kitchen, value for money and an outstanding friendly service.
The menue was exeptional and the waiter very intentiv. The wine - most of them from South Africa - very good sortet and fair priced.

The next morning started with a good buffet, fresh made eggs and we later checked out at the friendly desk. All in one and very good experience.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AngelsSFB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MartinVaughan, General Manager at Ilala Lodge, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
Thank you kindly for your review. We at Ilala greatly appreciate the lovely comments you have posted and look forward to seeing you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walterville, OR
Level Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2013

The rooms are clean and comfortable, but dated. The restaurant has great food and the bar is a good place to relax and have a gin and tonic. The Ilala is within walking distance to Victoria Falls and the Victoria Falls Hotel. There are several banks with ATMs adjacent to the lodge. Be advised the ATMs distribute $100 bills. I was bale to exchange the large bills for smaller ones at the casino across the street.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gasspasser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IlalaVictoriaFalls, Guest Relations Manager at Ilala Lodge, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Thank you for taking your time to share your your exprience with us and for all you comments.We are more than happy hear that you found Ilala relaxing.We hope to see you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire Dales National Park, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2013

We booked our Vic Falls stay and Safari with Expert Africa who were fantastic, really helpful.

Ilala lodge is very nice, great location very clean and well kept. The reception area was very colonial the whole place has this feel and it works perfectly, its very smart and has a lovely atmosphere.

The rooms are slightly dated but this works as the fittings are still of a high quality and reflect the old style colonial feel the place has. Again this works really well. The only thing is the patio doors resemble bars on a door and could be changed to full glass to enhance the views and let more light in. They open onto a deck/grass patio which is open/shared but has nice views and you can see the Vic Falls mist too. We hoped to see some animals here but sadly none were present on our short stay.

Its just a 10-15 min walk to the Vic falls which is great but we did get pestered a little by some street vendors who left us alone after a polite No was repeated. I did see some police type officials who were meant to deter these vendors but they didnt seem to be around when needed. All ok but be aware you are in another country and they don't have much at all but you do.

Vic falls - Truly stunning so glad we went !

After we had a sundowner or two in the lovely open bar at Ilala by the small but smart pool and large open terrace area we watched the sun go down behind the mists of the falls !! Superb...

We had dinner on the terrace of the restaurant and it was excellent, great waiters and no complaints at all.

Its better than we had read and imagined

Room Tip: I prefer higher up but really all ok as you are not in them for long there
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lovetravel59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IlalaVictoriaFalls, Guest Relations Manager at Ilala Lodge, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Thank you for taking you time to a write a review.We truly appreciate your feedback and we sorry
you did not see the animals during your stay,but just a week ago we had some Bushbucks and our nightly visitor the Hippo coming out to graze.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottershaw, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2013

We stayed at Ilala for the first two nights of our honeymoon and were treated like royalty! The extra touches were superb and all-round service was exceptional. The food at The Palm Restaurant was 5-star and a real highlight. Very conveniently located and the staff were friendly and helpful. The quality service started before we left thanks to our agent Imagine Africa, who were enormously helpful throughout and we cannot recommend them highly enough.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SFDVP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IlalaVictoriaFalls, Guest Relations Manager at Ilala Lodge, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Thank you for your kind words regarding the service you recieved from the Ilala team.Hope to see you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
119 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2013

Place is nice and clean. Rooms are spacey. Food is very nice. One of the best breakfasts I had in Africa. Very close to the waterfalls and the market. Area might feel a bit dodgy at night but hotel is great. Wi-Fi access to Internet is through scratch cards and you have to log on every time you start yur phone or laptop. Niot that is so important but is nuisance.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tuareg_001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MartinVaughan, General Manager at Ilala Lodge, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
Your review of Ilala Lodge is much appreciated. On behalf of the management and staff here, thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback. We have changed the internet system at Ilala Lodge to make it more user friendly and scratch cards are no longer necessary. We look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Victoria Falls hotels
0.3 mi away
The Victoria Falls Hotel
The Victoria Falls Hotel
#6 of 16 in Victoria Falls
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,149 reviews
1.6 mi away
Victoria Falls Safari Club
Victoria Falls Safari Club
#4 of 16 in Victoria Falls
5.0 of 5 bubbles 355 reviews
2.2 mi away
A'Zambezi River Lodge
A'Zambezi River Lodge
#10 of 16 in Victoria Falls
4.0 of 5 bubbles 783 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Elephant Hills Resort
Elephant Hills Resort
#12 of 16 in Victoria Falls
4.0 of 5 bubbles 517 reviews
1.5 mi away
Victoria Falls Safari Lodge
Victoria Falls Safari Lodge
#7 of 16 in Victoria Falls
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,639 reviews
0.1 mi away
The N1 Hotel & Campsite Victoria Falls
The N1 Hotel & Campsite Victoria...
#11 of 16 in Victoria Falls
4.0 of 5 bubbles 276 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ilala Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ilala Lodge

Property: Ilala Lodge
Address: 411 Livingstone Way, Victoria Falls, Zimbabwe
Phone Number:
Location: Zimbabwe > Matabeleland North Province > Victoria Falls
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Victoria Falls
#8 Luxury Hotel in Victoria Falls
#8 Family Hotel in Victoria Falls
#9 Business Hotel in Victoria Falls
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Ilala Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The perfect base for exploring all the Victoria Falls has to offer, Ilala Lodge provides distinguished yet affordable accommodation in a gracious and secluded ambiance. The hotel is ideally situated and is closest to the Victoria Falls as well as the town centre. Wild animals often graze on the hotel lawns with the spray of the falls in the background. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Ilala Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ilala Hotel Victoria Falls

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing