We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simple and Relaxing”
Review of Ilala Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ilala Lodge
Ranked #8 of 16 Hotels in Victoria Falls
Certificate of Excellence
Vancouver Island
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Simple and Relaxing”
Reviewed December 3, 2012

This is probably not the best hotel in Victoria Falls,but it probably has more atmosphere and character than the major resort hotels . We were very happy with our stay at Llala Lodge which came as part of a tour package . You get a very warm reception with a cool towel and drink.All the staff were very friendly and helpful always with a smile . As mentioned by many others the location is perfect,an easy walk to Vic Falls and to town.There is a great outdoor patio bar and restaurant where you can see the mist from the falls and we watched an elephant stroll down the road at sunset.The rooms are basic and a bit dated,ours on the ground floor was very clean and comfortable for the little time we spent in it.The hotel has a tour desk that can book anything you may want to do in the area,we opted for the helicopter tour over the falls.For us breakfast was fine with a continental buffet and a choice of a hot entree from a menu.We thought the prices for the dinner menu were a bit pricey,although the drink prices at the bar were very reasonable.The Kingdom Resort across the street has a choice of restaurants and a nice dinner buffet with entertainment.The one computer in the lobby worked fine for internet access,a bit slow sometimes not a problem.We were a bit uncomfortable walking in town as some of the men in the street can be very aggressive in trying to sell you everything and anything . Easy to understand in an area with 80% unemployment,the tourist police are great and willing to take you anywhere.The hotel has a small pool and jacuzzi to just relax and enjoy Africa. If you want a resort hotel this is not the place for you,if you want a small hotel with plenty of character and charm you won't go wrong with Llala Lodge .

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank chrisinycd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IlalaVictoriaFalls, Guest Relations Manager at Ilala Lodge, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Thank you for your feedback on Ilala Lodge Hotel. its a great pleasure to receive comments from you. We are happy you had a wonderful stay with us here in Victoria Falls.
We hope to see you return again in the near future.

Kind regards
Ilala team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,145 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    655
    419
    62
    9
    0
See reviews for
200
608
81
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (239)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, Maryland
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 30, 2012

This was our first destination on our 2 week African trip and what a great start! The hotel is only a 5 minute walk to the falls. There are many people trying to sell you things or even buy the shirt off your back but there are many tourist police around if you feel uncomfortable.

The hotel itself has an amazing staff that are eager to help you any way possible. My wife and I had to walk to the bank accross the street and one of the staff offered to walk us over himself. They will also plan any activity you want or restaurant reservation without any problems.

The rooms were very clean although some of the bathrooms are a little outdated but very decorative. I recomend the bottom floor because there are wildlife constantly walking outside. We had warthhogs several times and were even woken up by many baboons jumping outside of our door. A guest we talked to mentioned seeing an elephant a few nights before we arrived outside his room.

In the end a great place to stay at and many people we met complained about the hotels in the area. But you have plenty of activities to do while in Victoria Falls so take advantage of as many as you can.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jeka187
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IlalaVictoriaFalls, Guest Relations Manager at Ilala Lodge, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
Thank you very much for your positive feedback on Ilala lodge hotel. Its a pleasure to receive comments and reviews from you. We are very glad you had a wonderful stay with us here in Victoria falls.
We hope you return again in the near future.

Kind regards
Ilala team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durbanville, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed November 29, 2012

Centrally located in the town of Victoria Falls. I would rate it as the best hotel on Zimbabwe side purely based on the location, the atmosphere and the dining experience.

The hotel itself does not have much to offer in the way of entertainment, but we booked all our trips through them and we had not one problem. Everything was planned in detail and happened on time. There are more than enough activities in the surrounds to keep you very busy for 4 days - so don't only go and stay for one night. We met far to many overseas tourist that left disappointing because they could not do everything they wanted.

The hotel is very well situated and has lovely views. I were woken up every night by either little antelopes or warthogs eating the grass in front of our room or porcupine eating the pot plants - nature right at your door.The dining area of Ilala Lodge is the best part of this hotel and it puts the other hotels to shame in this regard - the food, the service and the outside patio makes this one of the best dining experiences you can get. We got the dine around voucher which is really good value for money and lets you dine at all the hotels for a set fee.

The rooms are comfortable and clean but the bathrooms is starting to show its age(it is very clean though).

Down side of all this is that for South Africans this is a very expensive place(hotels, food, etc) but in the end it is really worth it. I can not wait till my daughters are old enough to appreciate it, because then we will be back - and we will stay in the Ilala Lodge again!

Room Tip: Rooms at the bottom of the hotel you can walk straight out onto the lawn and into the nature reserve...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ViajarForLife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IlalaVictoriaFalls, Guest Relations Manager at Ilala Lodge, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
Thank you very much for highly recommending Ilala hotel. We are excited that you had a wonderful experience with us making your stay a memorable one. We greatly appreciate your views and comments.
We will be very honored to welcome you back in the near future.

Kind regards
Ilala team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 28, 2012

I arrived at Ilala Lodge after a 21 day camping trip across Southern Africa, so for me anything but a tent was paradise. That aside, the room was incredibly comfortable with a beautiful terrace outside. The staff were all very friendly and helpful and the food in the restaurant was very good anf fairly priced. I especially recommend the breakfast.

The Lodge is a short walk from the falls (it's one of the closest hotels that I know of) and they also provide access to activities such as elephant back safaris and Falls Tours should you want.

All in all, an excellent experience and very fairly priced.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ifeelshiny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IlalaVictoriaFalls, Guest Relations Manager at Ilala Lodge, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
Thank you very much for recommending Ilala Lodge hotel. We appreciate your views and comments and we are glad you had a marvelous experience with us
Hope you return again in the near future.

Kind regards
Ilala Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed November 27, 2012

Great location, very close to Vic Falls and the Victoria Bridge (in case you want to do bungee jumping or the flying fox). Also very close to the town center where you can access ATM's, pharmacies, restaurants and shops.
I stayed there for two nights and the hotel doesn't have much going on. It's very laid back and ideal for relaxing. They've got a great outdoor terrace with a beautiful garden and a wonderful view of the mist from the falls. The baboons can be a bit of a nuisance or entertainment depending on how you take it. They may steal the food from your plate. I frankly found it funny! But that doesn't happen often.
They hotel also arranges tours and excursions.
The rooms were great. I spotted a warthog and a woodpecker just outside the window. Since you're a bit in the 'wild' you'll have insects in your room. I had a spider and two cockroaches.
The staff were very friendly and helpful and always there to assist.
Definitely worth staying in as it close to everything you need.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Nada80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IlalaVictoriaFalls, Guest Relations Manager at Ilala Lodge, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
Thank you for taking your time to review Ilala Lodge. Its a pleasure to receive comments from our guests. We are happy you an awesome stay with us and we apologize for the insects and bugs. We do treat them occasionally but unfortunately because of flowers and summer season which is their breading time they get a bit out of hand .
However thank you very much and we hope to see you again in the near future

Kind regards
Ilala Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brisbane
Level 6 Contributor
140 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed November 23, 2012

Very relaxing. Staff were friendly and courteous. Exciting to see baboons, warthog, buffalo and small antelope outside bedroom door.
Location is excellent in relation to Vic Falls township (about 2mins walk).
Th rooms were clean and bed was comfortable.
Hard to describe the atmosphere, but we felt as though we were home
Definitely stay there again on our next trip to Vic Falls.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rodgs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IlalaVictoriaFalls, Guest Relations Manager at Ilala Lodge, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Thank you so much for reviewing our hotel Ilala Lodge. We appreciate your valuable comments and we are glad you had a memorable stay with us.
We look forward to seeing you again in the near future.

Kind regards
Ilala team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sint-Niklaas, Belgium
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed November 21, 2012

Located just outside the village at no more than ten minutes from the entrance of the Victoria Falls Rain forest park.
Comfortable lodge in a great setting. Great idea to have the pool and pool bar located in the central part of the lodge. Great to have an appetizer there and then to make a few steps to your dinner table outside.
The Rrooms have all basic accommodation available.
We had to deal with a few cockroaches, however ....
No free WIFI, which is a shame.
Great breakfast setting with excellent buffet and warm extras available.
We had to be constantly on the look-out for stealing baboons. But then, this is part of the charm of Africa..
Good and friendly service.
Settling your account when leaving the lodge may be a problem if you do not carry cash (dollars). The credit card service link is not working in many cases, as we could witness.
Travel agency permanently available in the lodge, which is very convenient in a place like this.
Perfect transfer service to and from the airport.

Room Tip: All the rooms are well located.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Umberto-Huby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IlalaVictoriaFalls, Guest Relations Manager at Ilala Lodge, responded to this review, November 24, 2012
Thank you very much for recommending Ilala Lodge. We appreciate your views and comments and we sincerely apologize for any discomfort you might have felt during your stay with us. It will be our pleasure to host you again in the near future as your cases would have been resolved.
We look forward to seeing you again.

Kind regards
Ilala team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Victoria Falls hotels
0.3 mi away
The Victoria Falls Hotel
The Victoria Falls Hotel
#6 of 16 in Victoria Falls
2,287 reviews
1.5 mi away
Victoria Falls Safari Lodge
Victoria Falls Safari Lodge
#7 of 16 in Victoria Falls
1,789 reviews
2.2 mi away
A'Zambezi River Lodge
A'Zambezi River Lodge
#12 of 16 in Victoria Falls
842 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Batonka Guest Lodge
Batonka Guest Lodge
#1 of 16 in Victoria Falls
300 reviews
1.4 mi away
Elephant Hills Resort
Elephant Hills Resort
#9 of 16 in Victoria Falls
578 reviews
0.9 mi away
Cresta Sprayview Hotel
Cresta Sprayview Hotel
#14 of 16 in Victoria Falls
340 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ilala Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ilala Lodge

Property: Ilala Lodge
Address: 411 Livingstone Way, Victoria Falls, Zimbabwe
Phone Number:
Location: Zimbabwe > Matabeleland North Province > Victoria Falls
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Victoria Falls
#8 Luxury Hotel in Victoria Falls
#8 Family Hotel in Victoria Falls
#9 Business Hotel in Victoria Falls
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Ilala Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ilala Lodge is ideally located only minutes away from the spectacular Victoria Falls. A family run hotel, Ilala Lodge has 56 stylish, well-equipped rooms, providing the ultimate in comfort. The top-rated Palm Restaurant at Ilala Lodge offers delicious al-fresco dining under the starry African skies, whilst listening to the roar of the falls. The staff are attentive and friendly, and ensure your bucket list trip is perfect for you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Ilala Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ilala Hotel Victoria Falls

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing