We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxed Setting”
Review of Ilala Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ilala Lodge
Ranked #6 of 16 Hotels in Victoria Falls
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 27, 2012

Great location, very close to Vic Falls and the Victoria Bridge (in case you want to do bungee jumping or the flying fox). Also very close to the town center where you can access ATM's, pharmacies, restaurants and shops.
I stayed there for two nights and the hotel doesn't have much going on. It's very laid back and ideal for relaxing. They've got a great outdoor terrace with a beautiful garden and a wonderful view of the mist from the falls. The baboons can be a bit of a nuisance or entertainment depending on how you take it. They may steal the food from your plate. I frankly found it funny! But that doesn't happen often.
They hotel also arranges tours and excursions.
The rooms were great. I spotted a warthog and a woodpecker just outside the window. Since you're a bit in the 'wild' you'll have insects in your room. I had a spider and two cockroaches.
The staff were very friendly and helpful and always there to assist.
Definitely worth staying in as it close to everything you need.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Nada80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IlalaVictoriaFalls, Guest Relations Manager at Ilala Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded December 4, 2012

Thank you for taking your time to review Ilala Lodge. Its a pleasure to receive comments from our guests. We are happy you an awesome stay with us and we apologize for the insects and bugs. We do treat them occasionally but unfortunately because of flowers and summer season which is their breading time they get a bit out of hand .
However thank you very much and we hope to see you again in the near future

Kind regards
Ilala Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,204)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

728 - 734 of 1,204 reviews

Reviewed November 23, 2012

Very relaxing. Staff were friendly and courteous. Exciting to see baboons, warthog, buffalo and small antelope outside bedroom door.
Location is excellent in relation to Vic Falls township (about 2mins walk).
Th rooms were clean and bed was comfortable.
Hard to describe the atmosphere, but we felt as though we were home
Definitely stay there again on our next trip to Vic Falls.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rodgs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IlalaVictoriaFalls, Guest Relations Manager at Ilala Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded December 3, 2012

Thank you so much for reviewing our hotel Ilala Lodge. We appreciate your valuable comments and we are glad you had a memorable stay with us.
We look forward to seeing you again in the near future.

Kind regards
Ilala team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2012

Located just outside the village at no more than ten minutes from the entrance of the Victoria Falls Rain forest park.
Comfortable lodge in a great setting. Great idea to have the pool and pool bar located in the central part of the lodge. Great to have an appetizer there and then to make a few steps to your dinner table outside.
The Rrooms have all basic accommodation available.
We had to deal with a few cockroaches, however ....
No free WIFI, which is a shame.
Great breakfast setting with excellent buffet and warm extras available.
We had to be constantly on the look-out for stealing baboons. But then, this is part of the charm of Africa..
Good and friendly service.
Settling your account when leaving the lodge may be a problem if you do not carry cash (dollars). The credit card service link is not working in many cases, as we could witness.
Travel agency permanently available in the lodge, which is very convenient in a place like this.
Perfect transfer service to and from the airport.

Room Tip: All the rooms are well located.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Umberto-Huby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IlalaVictoriaFalls, Guest Relations Manager at Ilala Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded November 24, 2012

Thank you very much for recommending Ilala Lodge. We appreciate your views and comments and we sincerely apologize for any discomfort you might have felt during your stay with us. It will be our pleasure to host you again in the near future as your cases would have been resolved.
We look forward to seeing you again.

Kind regards
Ilala team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2012

This hotel ,situated only a short walk from the falls, provided all we wanted after long journey.The quality of the accommodation and service was first class . Food was also very good with a wide choice , reasonably priced.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fellsale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IlalaVictoriaFalls, Guest Relations Manager at Ilala Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded November 24, 2012

Thank you very much for taking your time to review IIala Lodge. It is a great honor and we appreciate your comments and reviews shared. We are glad you had wonderful experience with us. We hope you return again in the near future.

Kind regards
Ilala Lodge team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2012

The logde was lovely. We stayed for 2 nights in May 2012. The hotel accomodation was pre-booked and paid for, but when we checked out I paid for the meals, etc with my Visa card. The bill was $497 US. The bill did not go through my Visa until July, but Ilala lodge has now put this bill through on my Visa 2 more times, once in Sept and again in October!!!!! SO BEWARE, i hate tio think this is fraudulent. I have contacted Visa to dsipute the charge, so still waiting to see what happens. Until this is sorted out I urge everyone to avoid this hotel.

Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
7  Thank Heather H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MartinVaughan, Manager at Ilala Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded November 15, 2012

Dear Heather

We thank you for your review and your positive feedback on your stay and that you enjoyed your time with us.

Unfortunately you have raised a huge concern. As per our personal contact with each other we are assisting you with the re-occurring charges on your credit card. As we mentioned the credit card process is fully automated and Ilala Lodge plays no role with any transactions. We have ascertained so far that the bank is at fault here and is addressing the matter as we speak with VISA.

Thank you once again and we will endeavor to ensure that this is addressed swiftly.


Kind regards

Ilala Lodge Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2012

For reasons not relevant to this review, we stayed at both Ilala Lodge and The Victoria Falls Hotel. The bookings were made through an agent and as there was no difference in price, we decided to try both.

If you find yourself in the same situation, choose The Victoria Falls Hotel.

Let's be clear, there's nothing wrong with Ilala Lodge - the staff are pleasant and the rooms are clean. They do, though, lack blackout blinds.

Whilst it's true this property is closer to the Falls, it does not mean the view is better. It's simply geographically closer than any other hotel in Victoria Falls.

If we hadn't first stayed at The Falls Hotel, we would have found the breakfast at Ilala acceptable, although Grilled Kipper on Potato Rosti topped with a Poached Egg was very disappointing, just about inedible. The rosti was the size of a beermat - flat and greasy, not at all crispy - the kipper fillet had been cut to fit on top of it, the egg was fine, but the whole thing was finished off with a dollop of hollandaise sauce - both unexpected and very unwelcome. The next morning's English breakfast featured sausages which had been flashed across a griddle and were clearly uncooked.

Interesting to note that since our stay earlier this year, this hotel has started to charge for internet access.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank RoundtheHorne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IlalaVictoriaFalls, Guest Relations Manager at Ilala Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded December 3, 2012

Thank you very much on your comment on Ilala Lodge hotel. We greatly appreciate your comments. We however apologize for the discomforts you encountered during your stay with us and we would like to assure you that all your concerns raised have been rectified during the course of the year.
We therefore look forward to seeing you again and that you may enjoy your stay with us again.

Kind regards
Ilala team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2012

After a lengthy wait at the airport for the visa it was good to get to this hotel. We were welcomed with an iced tea which was very refreshing and taken to our room which was a deluxe suite with a thatched roof.

The room was very spacious and comfortable with good bathroom. There was plenty of coffee/tea & hot chocolate on the supplied tray and complimentary mineral water waiting for us. Room contains a minibar & small fridge. Good sized balcony with coffee table and chairs, overlooking the grounds where we would watch the warthogs which wandered in. you can also see the spray of the 'Falls' from the room.

The breakfasts were lovely with a good choice of hot food from the menu. There was a plentiful supply of the cold buffet products.

We ate dinner on two occasions and were very pleased with the food. Yes - the food could be classed as a little expensive but this was part of our Victoria Falls experience and experience it was to be sat outside on the terrace, under candlelight, absorbing the sounds of a Zimbabwe evening.

There is a computer terminal in the lobby which provides free access to the internet but you need to time it right, as it is obviously popular.

I loved the quietness, the old world charm and it's proximity to the 'falls'. The staff were very friendly and we enjoyed our stay, very much.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sparky78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IlalaVictoriaFalls, Guest Relations Manager at Ilala Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded November 5, 2012

Thank you very much for recommending Ilala Lodge hotel. We appreciate your reviews and comments. We are happy you had wonderful stay with us and we hope to see you again in the future.

Kind regards
Ilala team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Victoria Falls hotels
0.3 mi away
The Victoria Falls Hotel
The Victoria Falls Hotel
#7 of 16 in Victoria Falls
2,419 reviews
2.2 mi away
A'Zambezi River Lodge
A'Zambezi River Lodge
#11 of 16 in Victoria Falls
893 reviews
1.4 mi away
Elephant Hills Resort
Elephant Hills Resort
#9 of 16 in Victoria Falls
625 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Batonka Guest Lodge
Batonka Guest Lodge
#1 of 16 in Victoria Falls
397 reviews
0.9 mi away
Cresta Sprayview Hotel
Cresta Sprayview Hotel
#13 of 16 in Victoria Falls
369 reviews
1.5 mi away
Victoria Falls Safari Lodge
Victoria Falls Safari Lodge
#8 of 16 in Victoria Falls
1,909 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ilala Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ilala Lodge

Address: 411 Livingstone Way, Victoria Falls, Zimbabwe
Phone Number:
Location: Zimbabwe > Matabeleland North Province > Victoria Falls
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Victoria Falls
#7 Romantic Hotel in Victoria Falls
#8 Family Hotel in Victoria Falls
#9 Business Hotel in Victoria Falls
Price Range: $284 - $470 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Ilala Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ilala Lodge is ideally located only minutes away from the spectacular Victoria Falls. A family run hotel, Ilala Lodge has 56 stylish, well-equipped rooms, providing the ultimate in comfort. The top-rated Palm Restaurant at Ilala Lodge offers delicious al-fresco dining under the starry African skies, whilst listening to the roar of the falls. The staff are attentive and friendly, and ensure your bucket list trip is perfect for you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Ilala Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ilala Hotel Victoria Falls

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing