We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stately Charm”
Review of Ilala Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ilala Lodge
Ranked #6 of 16 Hotels in Victoria Falls
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 19, 2012

After a lengthy wait at the airport for the visa it was good to get to this hotel. We were welcomed with an iced tea which was very refreshing and taken to our room which was a deluxe suite with a thatched roof.

The room was very spacious and comfortable with good bathroom. There was plenty of coffee/tea & hot chocolate on the supplied tray and complimentary mineral water waiting for us. Room contains a minibar & small fridge. Good sized balcony with coffee table and chairs, overlooking the grounds where we would watch the warthogs which wandered in. you can also see the spray of the 'Falls' from the room.

The breakfasts were lovely with a good choice of hot food from the menu. There was a plentiful supply of the cold buffet products.

We ate dinner on two occasions and were very pleased with the food. Yes - the food could be classed as a little expensive but this was part of our Victoria Falls experience and experience it was to be sat outside on the terrace, under candlelight, absorbing the sounds of a Zimbabwe evening.

There is a computer terminal in the lobby which provides free access to the internet but you need to time it right, as it is obviously popular.

I loved the quietness, the old world charm and it's proximity to the 'falls'. The staff were very friendly and we enjoyed our stay, very much.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sparky78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IlalaVictoriaFalls, Guest Relations Manager at Ilala Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded November 5, 2012

Thank you very much for recommending Ilala Lodge hotel. We appreciate your reviews and comments. We are happy you had wonderful stay with us and we hope to see you again in the future.

Kind regards
Ilala team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,235)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

756 - 762 of 1,235 reviews

Reviewed October 11, 2012

Rooms are very comfortable. Restaurant food was excellent but you pay $7US for 1 spring roll, so it is a tad expensive. We went on a night sunset cruise which was very nice, good food all you could drink, but to cloudy to see sunset. This hotel has free access to computer, you can also buy internet time for $5. Money is US$ but will take Rand.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lorraine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IlalaVictoriaFalls, Guest Relations Manager at Ilala Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded November 5, 2012

Thank you for taking time to review ilala lodge hotel. Its a pleasure to receive comments and recommendations from our guests. We are lad you enjoyed your stay with us.
We hope to see you return again in the near future

Kind regards
Ilala Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2012 via mobile

Greeted with a welcomed iced tea check in smooth. The rooms lovely spacious & very clean with your own patio. Water pressure constant & hot if you need it. Lovely products & tea coffe in room. All meals were lovely in a fantastic resteraunt be mindful of baboons! It's rather old worldy & quite (save for the buzz of helicopters) you can hear & see the falls. Does attract a more reserved clientele but for a break pop over to the kingdom casino. Everything's walking distance. Only gripe never had change at the bar so had to room charge it & wifi not free but reasonable $5usd got 80mgb.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank joancollins69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IlalaVictoriaFalls, Guest Relations Manager at Ilala Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded October 24, 2012

Thank you for your feedback on Ilala lodge hotel. We greatly appreciate your views and comments.
We are happy you had a pleasant stay with us. We hope to see you return again in the near future

Kind regards
Ilala Lodge team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2012

I thought Ilala although perfectly acceptable a bit tired and that other hotels such as Azambezi, Vic Falls safari Lodge better situated. As per other reviews it is central and within easy walking to the Falls but lacks the "wild african ambience" which i think I prefer when at a destination such as this.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gavin R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IlalaVictoriaFalls, Guest Relations Manager at Ilala Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded October 24, 2012

Thank you very much for reviewing Ilala Lodge. We appreciate your views and comments.
We hope you had a warm stay with us.
We hope to see you return in the near future.

Kind regards
Ilala Lodge team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2012

We were delighted with our choice of Ilala Lodge as a place to stay when we visited Victoria Falls. Their location is best, right at the edge of town at the beginning of the walk to the Falls national park. Our room was on the lower level and we were initally disappointed that we couldn't see the mist of the falls from our room, but honestly we were mostly in the room when it was dark, spending our days on the upper level where the view was lovely. The bed was very comfortable, the bathroom huge and well appointed (first time I've seen mosquito repellant as a bath amenity) although our air conditioner was noisy and the engineering staff weren't able to do much about it. We enjoyed watching the warthogs graze on the grass right outside our room. Breakfast was a hugely generous buffet, and we enjoyed cocktails (try the Blue Crocodile Tears) by the pool in the afternoon. (The pool was a welcome respite after a dusty day of walking.) One evening we ate at the Palm Restaurant and the food and service were outstanding. Another evening we signed up for the evening boat trip on the Zambezi on the Lodge's boat Ra-Ikane. Although expensive at $85 per person compared with $50 or so for the touristy faux paddlewheelers we saw, it was totally worth it for the small group, the comfortable chairs, and the lovely appetizers and unending beer and wine we were served. Why the lovely dessert tray remained untouched, not passed at all, was a mystery.

One thing to be aware of: we couldn't find any room prices on Ilala Lodge's website; you have to email them for availability. When the price was quoted, it was PER PERSON, which made it sound very reasonable, until we realized it was not per room. The quote was $157 per person, but you had to look carefully at the voucher to realized this. We believe the rate was very much worth it, but think they should quote prices on their website and be clearer that the rates are not per room, double occupancy, but are per person.

Oh, and there's no wifi in the rooms, but only one computer in the lobby. Don't buy a card for internet access for your computer; it only gets you about 5 minutes. We usually found the lobby computer available for a quick check of emails, which was adequate.

Finally, take advantage of the Tourist Police standing on the main road just outside the Ilala Lodge gate. They'll walk you to the gorge overlook, a fabulous view of the lower Zambezi, or to the Falls park entrance, thus sparing you the hassle of all the vendors selling curios. The Tourist Police are paid for by the hotels of Victoria Falls, so take advantage of their services; a small tip will be much appreciated and you'll enjoy their conversation if you wish.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank berwind
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IlalaVictoriaFalls, Guest Relations Manager at Ilala Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded October 24, 2012

Thank you very much for taking your time to review Ilala Lodge Hotel. It is a pleasure to receive comments from our guests. We apologize for any discomfort you felt during your stay with us and necessary measures have been taken to rectify your concerns raised.
We hope yo return again in the near future

Kind regards
Ilala team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2012

We spent two nights at Ilala lodge primarily to see Victoria Falls. The lodge is on the edge of town with good access to the Zambezi River Bridge. The staff were helpfull and welcoming and the bar area/swimmig pool deck were well situated and a nice place to relax. Our ground level room was well maintained and contained all the items to make our stay comfortable. The pictures/paintings scattered throughout display historical events relating to Victoria Falls and should be of interest. The restaurant served good fare and the drinks were reasonably priced. The service was all you could ask for. One of our group awoke to find a Hippo wandering the grassed area outside her room.
The town centre is just a short walk from the lodge and has some restaurants worthy of consideration. Seek out the artifacts market for some bargains if you are prepared to barter.
A good place to lay your head.

Room Tip: The pool level rooms have views of the mist over the falls.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Downunder62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IlalaVictoriaFalls, Guest Relations Manager at Ilala Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded October 13, 2012

Thank you for recommending Ilala Lodge Hotel. We appreciate your views and comments and we are glad that you had a pleasant stay with us here in Victoria Falls.
We hope to see you again in future.

Kind regards
Ilala Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2012

We had a really good time at Ilala and hence at the Victoria Falls as well. I have been to the Vic Falls before and this time used a dine-around-voucher to other hotels as well - I can honestly say that Ilala has the best restaurant in the area. The staff are very friendly and helpful and rooms good. We had different small animals such as deer and even a porcupine on our stoep enjoying our pot plants at night. Their tourist desk were very efficient in arranging the activities we wanted to do. Ilala is also closest to the falls, next to banks and very close to curios stores. Would love to stay here again.

Room Tip: Go on an elephant safari - the interaction with them is unforgettable. They are well looked after
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kappertjie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IlalaVictoriaFalls, Guest Relations Manager at Ilala Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded October 13, 2012

Thank you very much for reviewing Ilala. We are happy to know you had a great time with us.
We appreciate your views and comments.
We hope you return again in the near future

Kind regards
Ilala team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Victoria Falls hotels
1.5 mi away
Victoria Falls Safari Lodge
Victoria Falls Safari Lodge
#8 of 16 in Victoria Falls
1,957 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Victoria Falls Hotel
The Victoria Falls Hotel
#7 of 16 in Victoria Falls
2,485 reviews
2.2 mi away
A'Zambezi River Lodge
A'Zambezi River Lodge
#10 of 16 in Victoria Falls
906 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Elephant Hills Resort
Elephant Hills Resort
#9 of 16 in Victoria Falls
653 reviews
0.9 mi away
Batonka Guest Lodge
Batonka Guest Lodge
#1 of 16 in Victoria Falls
437 reviews
0.9 mi away
Cresta Sprayview Hotel
Cresta Sprayview Hotel
#11 of 16 in Victoria Falls
391 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ilala Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ilala Lodge

Address: 411 Livingstone Way, Victoria Falls, Zimbabwe
Phone Number:
Location: Zimbabwe > Matabeleland North Province > Victoria Falls
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Victoria Falls
#7 Romantic Hotel in Victoria Falls
#8 Family Hotel in Victoria Falls
#9 Business Hotel in Victoria Falls
Price Range: $279 - $466 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Ilala Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ilala Lodge is ideally located only minutes away from the spectacular Victoria Falls. A family run hotel, Ilala Lodge has 56 stylish, well-equipped rooms, providing the ultimate in comfort. The top-rated Palm Restaurant at Ilala Lodge offers delicious al-fresco dining under the starry African skies, whilst listening to the roar of the falls. The staff are attentive and friendly, and ensure your bucket list trip is perfect for you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity and TripOnline SA so you can book your Ilala Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ilala Hotel Victoria Falls

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing