We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ilala Lodge is a gem worth visiting!”
Review of Ilala Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ilala Lodge
Ranked #7 of 16 Hotels in Victoria Falls
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 23, 2011

Visited Ilala Lodge for 3 nights in March 2011 to celebrate my 50th birthday.
This charming lodge within walking distance of the magnificent Vic Falls is truly a gem, well worth visiting.
The ambience is relaxed with comfortable accommodation, which is well serviced and spotlessly clean.
We took advantage of the Trip Advisor DBB special offer and enjoyed dinner every night on the beautiful vernadah. Our last night was xtra special as elephants wandered into the garden to say hi and leave us with wonderful memories to treasure forever.
All the staff @ Ilala are well trained, always helpful and keen to chat.
Well done Ilala, Zim should be proud of you!

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Juanita044
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IlalaVictoriaFalls, Guest Relations Manager at Ilala Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded March 27, 2011

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of Ilala Lodge. We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed you special birthday with us and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,185)
There are newer reviews for Ilala Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

854 - 860 of 1,185 reviews

Reviewed March 23, 2011

I now know why so many people recommend the IlalaLodge. It is one of the best hotels that we have stayed at in a long time . The room was great looking out at the mist from the falls as we had drinks on the balcony. The staff we excellent and a pleasure to deal with. The restaurant is 5 star , you could not fault anything even the elephant in the bushes during dinner. Again I would recommend this as the best place to stay in Victoria Falls.
Roy
Melbourne Australia

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roysmb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IlalaVictoriaFalls, Guest Relations Manager at Ilala Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded October 1, 2012

Thank you so much for reviewing Ilala Lodge Hotel. We appreciate your comments and reviews.
We hope you return again in the near future.

Kind regards
Ilala Lodge Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2011

To Kelly, Peter, Tandi, Kenja, Basil, and Thomas to name but a few, of the very friendly helpful and pleasant staff of Ilala, Thank You for making out very first trip to Zimbabwe so memorable. Our room was on the top floor - with fantastic views of the surrounding area and resort. Our room was clean and fesh, location central to all activities and markets, service from the TOP DRAW!! excellent value, no problem sleeping in the clean crisp fresh white cool sheets, and comfortable bed. No mozzies - rooms have plug in repelent, as well as spray. The room has both plug options, so no need for an adaptor. Take cotton clothing as it is hot this time of year, with a slight breeze. Food served-excellent, its wise to book for evening meals as the resturant is very popular. Most guests we encountered were friendly, I was very pleased to find many South Africans staying here..

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DEAR1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IlalaVictoriaFalls, Guest Relations Manager at Ilala Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded March 24, 2011

Thank you kindly for your review. We at Ilala greatly appreciate the lovely comments you have posted and look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2011

We enjoyed a fantastic 4 night stay at Ilala lodge as part of our honeymoon. Awesome staff, especially Peter who upgraded our room after finding out we were on honeymoon. Beautiful outside area for eating and drinking. We won't forget enjoying sunset gin and tonics watching hundreds egrets flying over the falls.

  • Stayed: March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CJNSki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IlalaVictoriaFalls, Guest Relations Manager at Ilala Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded March 21, 2011

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of Ilala Lodge. We are so happy to hear that we were able to make your honeymoon that extra bit special and we look forward to welcoming you back for another special holiday in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2011

Ilala Lodge is a lovely hotel and a good location in Victoria Falls. We feel we paid too much and would have been better off at the Victoria Falls hotel which we visited. We made the booking through an agency in South Africa because we could not seem to contact the hotel via email or website. The food was ok and the dining area lovely. Our room was ordinary and the air conditioner was leaking but was soon repaired.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank muffetoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IlalaVictoriaFalls, General Manager at Ilala Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded March 17, 2011

Thank you kindly for your imperative feedback.
We at Ilala Lodge continuously strive to meet and exceed guests expectations. Your comments are highly appreciated and l can assure you that all efforts have been made to rectify the concerns raised.
Once again, thank you for your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2011

My partner and I stayed from 18th Feb to 21 Feb 2011, and this place is a little piece of paradise. From the time we arrived Peter took care of all our needs, and the ladies behind the desk were so helfull. The words "you,re welcome" was so refreshing from all the staff... it made you feel special. To all the staff at Ilala, Billy and Robby from Durban South Africa salute you and thank you so very much in making our stay so very special...

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BillyRobby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IlalaVictoriaFalls, Guest Relations Manager at Ilala Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded March 6, 2011

Thank you for taking the time to review Ilala Lodge, your feedback is appreciated. I am very pleased your stay was enjoyable and you are indeed "welcome" back here for another memorable holiday.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2011

We only had 3 short days in Zimbabwe Victoria falls, but these were fantastic 3 days. Don't bother looking for other hotels. Just go to Ilala lodge. Perfectly complimented stunning victoria falls. The food was outstanding, as well as cocktails by the beautiful pool :-). Staff very polite and helpfull. Lodge can organize any trips/safaris. Excellent location as few minutes walk to shops, local bars, clubs, and about 15 minute walk to falls itself. Enjoy

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank afrika31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IlalaVictoriaFalls, Guest Relations Manager at Ilala Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded March 6, 2011

Your review of Ilala Lodge is much appreciated. On behalf of the management and staff here, thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback. We look forward to welcoming you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Victoria Falls hotels
0.3 mi away
The Victoria Falls Hotel
The Victoria Falls Hotel
#6 of 16 in Victoria Falls
2,368 reviews
2.2 mi away
A'Zambezi River Lodge
A'Zambezi River Lodge
#11 of 16 in Victoria Falls
874 reviews
1.4 mi away
Elephant Hills Resort
Elephant Hills Resort
#10 of 16 in Victoria Falls
607 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Cresta Sprayview Hotel
Cresta Sprayview Hotel
#13 of 16 in Victoria Falls
364 reviews
1.5 mi away
Victoria Falls Safari Lodge
Victoria Falls Safari Lodge
#8 of 16 in Victoria Falls
1,865 reviews
0.9 mi away
Batonka Guest Lodge
Batonka Guest Lodge
#1 of 16 in Victoria Falls
369 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ilala Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ilala Lodge

Address: 411 Livingstone Way, Victoria Falls, Zimbabwe
Phone Number:
Location: Zimbabwe > Matabeleland North Province > Victoria Falls
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Victoria Falls
#7 Romantic Hotel in Victoria Falls
#8 Family Hotel in Victoria Falls
#9 Business Hotel in Victoria Falls
Price Range: $280 - $476 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Ilala Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ilala Lodge is ideally located only minutes away from the spectacular Victoria Falls. A family run hotel, Ilala Lodge has 56 stylish, well-equipped rooms, providing the ultimate in comfort. The top-rated Palm Restaurant at Ilala Lodge offers delicious al-fresco dining under the starry African skies, whilst listening to the roar of the falls. The staff are attentive and friendly, and ensure your bucket list trip is perfect for you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Ilala Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ilala Hotel Victoria Falls

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing