We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“"BEYOND THE EXTRA MILE.."”
Review of Ilala Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ilala Lodge
Ranked #7 of 16 Hotels in Victoria Falls
Certificate of Excellence
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
52 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“"BEYOND THE EXTRA MILE.."”
Reviewed March 21, 2011

To Kelly, Peter, Tandi, Kenja, Basil, and Thomas to name but a few, of the very friendly helpful and pleasant staff of Ilala, Thank You for making out very first trip to Zimbabwe so memorable. Our room was on the top floor - with fantastic views of the surrounding area and resort. Our room was clean and fesh, location central to all activities and markets, service from the TOP DRAW!! excellent value, no problem sleeping in the clean crisp fresh white cool sheets, and comfortable bed. No mozzies - rooms have plug in repelent, as well as spray. The room has both plug options, so no need for an adaptor. Take cotton clothing as it is hot this time of year, with a slight breeze. Food served-excellent, its wise to book for evening meals as the resturant is very popular. Most guests we encountered were friendly, I was very pleased to find many South Africans staying here..

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DEAR1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IlalaVictoriaFalls, Guest Relations Manager at Ilala Lodge, responded to this review, March 24, 2011
Thank you kindly for your review. We at Ilala greatly appreciate the lovely comments you have posted and look forward to seeing you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,100 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    629
    404
    59
    8
    0
See reviews for
196
588
76
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (222)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 19, 2011

We enjoyed a fantastic 4 night stay at Ilala lodge as part of our honeymoon. Awesome staff, especially Peter who upgraded our room after finding out we were on honeymoon. Beautiful outside area for eating and drinking. We won't forget enjoying sunset gin and tonics watching hundreds egrets flying over the falls.

  • Stayed March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CJNSki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IlalaVictoriaFalls, Guest Relations Manager at Ilala Lodge, responded to this review, March 21, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of Ilala Lodge. We are so happy to hear that we were able to make your honeymoon that extra bit special and we look forward to welcoming you back for another special holiday in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
74 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed March 10, 2011

Ilala Lodge is a lovely hotel and a good location in Victoria Falls. We feel we paid too much and would have been better off at the Victoria Falls hotel which we visited. We made the booking through an agency in South Africa because we could not seem to contact the hotel via email or website. The food was ok and the dining area lovely. Our room was ordinary and the air conditioner was leaking but was soon repaired.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank muffetoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IlalaVictoriaFalls, General Manager at Ilala Lodge, responded to this review, March 17, 2011
Thank you kindly for your imperative feedback.
We at Ilala Lodge continuously strive to meet and exceed guests expectations. Your comments are highly appreciated and l can assure you that all efforts have been made to rectify the concerns raised.
Once again, thank you for your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durban, South Africa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed February 22, 2011

My partner and I stayed from 18th Feb to 21 Feb 2011, and this place is a little piece of paradise. From the time we arrived Peter took care of all our needs, and the ladies behind the desk were so helfull. The words "you,re welcome" was so refreshing from all the staff... it made you feel special. To all the staff at Ilala, Billy and Robby from Durban South Africa salute you and thank you so very much in making our stay so very special...

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BillyRobby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IlalaVictoriaFalls, Guest Relations Manager at Ilala Lodge, responded to this review, March 6, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to review Ilala Lodge, your feedback is appreciated. I am very pleased your stay was enjoyable and you are indeed "welcome" back here for another memorable holiday.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 16, 2011

We only had 3 short days in Zimbabwe Victoria falls, but these were fantastic 3 days. Don't bother looking for other hotels. Just go to Ilala lodge. Perfectly complimented stunning victoria falls. The food was outstanding, as well as cocktails by the beautiful pool :-). Staff very polite and helpfull. Lodge can organize any trips/safaris. Excellent location as few minutes walk to shops, local bars, clubs, and about 15 minute walk to falls itself. Enjoy

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank afrika31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IlalaVictoriaFalls, Guest Relations Manager at Ilala Lodge, responded to this review, March 6, 2011
Your review of Ilala Lodge is much appreciated. On behalf of the management and staff here, thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback. We look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart
Level Contributor
19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed February 7, 2011

Ilala Lodge is situated very close to the Victoria Falls and you can see the spray from the pool area, restaurant and some rooms.
We had a beautiful room, plenty of space with queen and single bed, huge bathroom, large balcony and lounge area with TV. Our stocks were supplied throughout the day and evening of bottled water, biscuits, tea, coffee etc. Turn down service at night with chocolates too. A fully stocked mini bar was also available at a charge. The pool area is great, very quiet. The bar is stocked with a range of drinks and the service is fantastic - very personal. The bar snacks available throughout the day are very tasty and huge. The day we had one come tea time none of us were hungry and in fact decided the next day to have a late afternoon snack instead of dinner.
The food at the lodge restaurant (The Palm Restaurant) is exquisite, very close to being the best food experience we had in Africa. Recommend this lodge highly.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mrsmusk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IlalaVictoriaFalls, Guest Relations Manager at Ilala Lodge, responded to this review, February 10, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to review Ilala Lodge and I am truly pleased your stay was memorable. We look forward to having you stay with us again on your next trip to Victoria Falls.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Level Contributor
46 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed January 29, 2011

My sister and I stayed here in March 2010 and I should have written this review as soon as I got back home. This place is wonderful! The staff is friendly and the food was superb. I enjoyed hearing the Falls at night and the warthogs roaming the property. I was awe struck at the beauty of this place. Its the perfect place to stay in Victoria Falls. Do visit the market behind the lodge for authentic African wares. The people are very friendly.

Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Sista_Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IlalaVictoriaFalls, Guest Relations Manager at Ilala Lodge, responded to this review, January 31, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to review Ilala Lodge. I am very pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to see you here again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Victoria Falls hotels
0.3 mi away
The Victoria Falls Hotel
The Victoria Falls Hotel
#6 of 16 in Victoria Falls
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,230 reviews
1.6 mi away
Victoria Falls Safari Club
Victoria Falls Safari Club
#4 of 16 in Victoria Falls
5.0 of 5 bubbles 373 reviews
0.9 mi away
Batonka Guest Lodge
Batonka Guest Lodge
#1 of 16 in Victoria Falls
5.0 of 5 bubbles 226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Victoria Falls Safari Lodge
Victoria Falls Safari Lodge
#8 of 16 in Victoria Falls
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,728 reviews
1.4 mi away
Elephant Hills Resort
Elephant Hills Resort
#9 of 16 in Victoria Falls
4.0 of 5 bubbles 551 reviews
2.2 mi away
A'Zambezi River Lodge
A'Zambezi River Lodge
#12 of 16 in Victoria Falls
4.0 of 5 bubbles 816 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ilala Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ilala Lodge

Property: Ilala Lodge
Address: 411 Livingstone Way, Victoria Falls, Zimbabwe
Phone Number:
Location: Zimbabwe > Matabeleland North Province > Victoria Falls
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Victoria Falls
#7 Luxury Hotel in Victoria Falls
#8 Family Hotel in Victoria Falls
#9 Business Hotel in Victoria Falls
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Ilala Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ilala Lodge is ideally located only minutes away from the spectacular Victoria Falls. A family run hotel, Ilala Lodge has 56 stylish, well-equipped rooms, providing the ultimate in comfort. The top-rated Palm Restaurant at Ilala Lodge offers delicious al-fresco dining under the starry African skies, whilst listening to the roar of the falls. The staff are attentive and friendly, and ensure your bucket list trip is perfect for you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Jovago.com, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Ilala Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ilala Hotel Victoria Falls

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing