We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Hotel and even better staff!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Victoria Falls Safari Club
Ranked #4 of 16 Hotels in Victoria Falls
Certificate of Excellence
New York, New York, United States
1 review
“Fantastic Hotel and even better staff!!!”
Reviewed July 16, 2013

Victoria Falls Safari Club is a wonderful hotel with an amazing staff that will take care of your every wish. Our hotel manager, Claire, made our stay an enjoyable one. When we looked for another activity before departing to the United States, she was able to get a private bicycle tour (about 2 miles each way) to the the local crocodile farm. The rooms are brand new in a modern design with most of the rooms overlooking the wild "bush."

Each day there is a 1pm vulture feeding, which is an amazing sight.

Highly recommend it to all!!!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KST007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicky Q, Manager at Victoria Falls Safari Club, responded to this review, July 27, 2013
Thank you in New York for your wonderful full-house five-star review of The Club. Our entire team is hugely committed to providing service that truly transcends the ordinary and this is done with a genuine smile and friendliness, so inherent in all our local people.I hope you enjoyed your bike sojourn, though it must have been a bit uphill on the return journey! Claire Wright. Club Manager. claire@saflodge.co.zw
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

403 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    341
    51
    9
    1
    1
See reviews for
72
177
34
25
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
ncr
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2013

I wish we had stayed longer is what i can say about this georgeous property, as we got all of 1 night here which did not do justice to the hospitality the staff extended. With a camp-like ambience, the Safari Club was warm and seated enclosures through out the property, to lounge around in made one feel very much at home. There is a rustic feel to the property, but no modern amenity goes overlooked. The experience is like staying at a national park, without the disadvantage of the poor connectivity and for the faint hearted - without the risk of the creatures of the jungle coming too close.
The highlight however is the dinner at The Boma, another property owned by the Albeida group. The precursor of things to come is the lamb being barbecued at the entrance. You realise this is not going to be an ordinary experience, and with every passing moment you are slowly and surely transported to (a different) Planet Boma. The beating of the drums starts slowly, and the cresendo rises higher and higher till at the climax, all the 300 odd people have overcome their inhibitions and are participating in the extempore contest between tables. The evening concludes with the dance section which everybody partakes in, and may i mention it is some of the most bizzare free form genre dancing I have seen anywhere in the world. The Boma is not only a great place for guests at the Safari Club but for anyone visiting Vic Falls.
Must Do. Very Experiential.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sadhana_737
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicky Q, Manager at Victoria Falls Safari Club, responded to this review, July 27, 2013
What a wonderful and enthusiastic review of our exclusive Club - thank you! The Boma is one of those places that the great majority enjoy but also gets some poor reaction from people who are not in the mood, out for a quiet dinner or just can't appreciate the delights of the various elements and the festive spirit of the night. You put this into perfect perspective and it will be well worth our while cutting and pasting your comments in future when someone gives The Boma a thumbs down! Claire Wright. Club Manager. claire@saflodge.co.zw
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2013

This hotel was fantastic. I was only there for three days, but easily could have stayed longer. The furnishings were exquisite throughout the property and the staff was incredibly attentive. I have been to over 70 countries and have never experienced the grace and warmth that I received at this hotel. I truly believe you will not be disappointed with this hotel.

I went with my finance who is from South Africa, and he'd been to this hotel 20+ times. He thought my fascination with the animals was trite, and decided to play a game with the Baboons. I would NOT recommend doing this... He placed half a banana on the ledge of the balcony attached to the room, and because Baboons have such excellent eye sight, they had not only climbed onto the balcony, but had broken into the room (which was unlocked). Needless to say, we hid in the bathroom. Unfortunately, because of this stunt, the couple staying in the room below us came back to their room only to find it had been broken into and all of their fruit missing.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eve B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AfricaAlbidaTourism, Manager at Victoria Falls Safari Club, responded to this review, July 7, 2013
Dear Eve. You cannot beat the neutral voice of experience and your statement about our caring and friendly staff is the ultimate accolade. Thank you so much, our entire team is over the moon and beaming with delight! This, of course, inspires them even more. I would like your permission to use this quote in some of our blog posts and collateral as it speaks volumes.

It's actually an amazing phenomenon that the majority of people - and corporate groups - who leave our lodges comment on the friendliness of the local people as a major point, if not THE major asset. They may have seen great sights, but they find the people just great. As you will have experienced this is genuine and not contrived - it is inherent in their very nature and is a huge asset for tourism in Zimbabwe.

Please ask your fiance to write 100 lines for taunting the baboons! Naughty boy! This encourages them to raid rooms and become a nuisance...but what an adventure you both had1 Thanks for your wonderful review that does us proud. Claire Wright. Club Manager. claire@saflodge.co.zw
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2013 via mobile

The moment we checked in they knew our names. Our rooms were excellent and staff was so friendly and accommodating. The shuttle service was convenient and comfortable. Being able to relax every night watching the African sunset was priceless. Our last night we had 3 elephants walk just past out balcony as well. I plan to return and will stay at the Safari Club!

Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Meesh P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicky Q, Manager at Victoria Falls Safari Club, responded to this review, July 27, 2013
Thank you Meesh for such a refreshing and happy review. "Priceless" you called the experience of watching the sunset over the distant horizon while overlooking the waterhole and animal parade. I'm sure you appreciated that there was not a man-made object in view right to that very far horizon! The three elephants that walked past your bedroom balcony were a most fitting farewell to you...and our thanks for choosing the exclusive butler-service Club. Claire Wright. Club Manager. claire@saflodge.co.zw
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new orleans
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2013

They addressed me by name from the moment I checked in and inquired frequently whether there was something they could do to make my stay more enjoyable. The rooms were spacious and comfortable, the included breakfast was satisfactory, and I enjoyed watching from my room's balcony as the occasional antelope or elephant visited the watering hole below the adjoining sister lodge. HOWEVER... the hotel is a couple of miles from town. As a result a guest is something or a prisoner, and the food at the lodge is astoundingly mediocre, leaving one to question -- given the hassles at the Zim border -- whether one might be better advised to stay at one of the luxury hotels on the Zam side nearer the falls.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JimFromNola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AfricaAlbidaTourism, Manager at Victoria Falls Safari Club, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Greetings Jim from Victoria Falls. Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at our exclusive Club and for your four-star rating. You clearly believe that because we are 4 kms out of the town centre (and from the falls themselves) that this is a negative, as is your prerogative. However, I should like to explain our viewpoint.

The authentic wilderness location of the Club and the adjacent Victoria Falls Safari Lodge is something we consider to be an immense BENEFIT and is actually our major defining point and signature. A glance through our Trip Advisor reviews will show that the great majority acclaim our location and that our complimentary on-the-hour shuttle service to the town is very efficient and suitable.

Yes, two Zambian hotels (a 3 star and a 5 star) are walking distance to the Falls and are excellent. However, the best year-round viewing of the Falls is unquestionably from the Zimbabwe side as the walkways cover at least 75% of the width. The 25% viewing area on the Zambian side is very spectacular in high volume time - March to August - but thereafter the Zambian side starts to dry up and does turn entirely dry at the end of the year. Whatever time of year it is the falls should be viewed from the Zimbabwe side because of the scope and also the fact that it never dries completely. We believe it is best to stay in the wilds with us and take a 10-minute shuttle to see the falls.

Claire Wright. Club manager. claire@saflodge.co.zw
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed June 27, 2013

A visit to Victoria Falls and staying at the Safari Club was all we could wish for. The staff could not do enough for us and one even took my husband fishing on the Zambezi on his day off! The rooms, meals, setting and service were all excellent. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AfricaAlbidaTourism, Manager at Victoria Falls Safari Club, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Thank you Karen for your short but highly enthusiastic review of your stay at our Club. Your strong endorsement is appreciated and I hope your husband got to catch a few fish on the Zambezi. Claire Wright. Club Manager. claire@saflodge.co.zw
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
Reviewed June 18, 2013

The Victoria Falls Safari Club is a well located lodge with magnificent rooms & views, with a fine staff.
The free shuttle is a excellent way to get around town & to the Falls on your own schedule.
The public lounge is a good place to enjoy a coffee or sundowner.

Room Tip: They are all good, the Club is a distance way from the main hotel & we enjoyed the peace & q...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Leopard007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AfricaAlbidaTourism, Manager at Victoria Falls Safari Club, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Hello LA, great Trip Advisor nom-de-plume...hope you saw a few leopards on your safaris? Tbank you for your endorsement of your stay at our very special Club - the rooms and the most glorious views from any lodge in Victoria falls are our real unique signature. The free on-the-hour shuttle is also very important for guests as they can enjoy the solitude of nature - the real Africa - and yet be just 10 minutes away from the falls and the town centre. A big plus for our guest, Claire Wright. Club Manager. claire@saflodge.co.zw
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Victoria Falls hotels
0.0 mi away
Victoria Falls Safari Lodge
Victoria Falls Safari Lodge
#7 of 16 in Victoria Falls
1,815 reviews
1.8 mi away
The Victoria Falls Hotel
The Victoria Falls Hotel
#6 of 16 in Victoria Falls
2,321 reviews
1.1 mi away
Elephant Hills Resort
Elephant Hills Resort
#9 of 16 in Victoria Falls
584 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
A'Zambezi River Lodge
A'Zambezi River Lodge
#10 of 16 in Victoria Falls
851 reviews
1.6 mi away
Ilala Lodge
Ilala Lodge
#8 of 16 in Victoria Falls
1,160 reviews
0.9 mi away
Batonka Guest Lodge
Batonka Guest Lodge
#1 of 16 in Victoria Falls
324 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Victoria Falls Safari Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Victoria Falls Safari Club

Property: Victoria Falls Safari Club
Address: Stand 471 Squire Cummings Road, Victoria Falls, Zimbabwe
Phone Number:
Location: Zimbabwe > Matabeleland North Province > Victoria Falls
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 16 Hotels in Victoria Falls
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Victoria Falls Safari Club 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The premium Victoria Falls Safari Club is situated within the magnificent grounds of the award-winning Victoria Falls Safari Lodge. The Club looks out over the Zambezi National Park and a private waterhole, which with an abundanance of game; you can enjoy a safari experience without having to leave the main deck area. The design of the rooms is modern and open, giving a sense of abundant space. Coupled with uninterrupted views of bushveld and sunset, you will feel completely removed from the hustle and bustle of everyday life. Space, style and absolute comfort in fully equipped, conditioned rooms will make your stay with us completely seamless and ultimately rewarding. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, Hotwire, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Victoria Falls Safari Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing