We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Victoria Falls River Lodge - Zambezi Crescent
Ranked #5 of 16 Hotels in Victoria Falls
Certificate of Excellence
Shropshire
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Wonderful”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2014

Beautiful luxurious tents. Delicious food. Excellent personal service. Nothing was too much trouble from lifts into town, game drives and sunset cruises. Thanks to Sabrina and the rest of the team who worked tirelessly to make our time here special.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank halcyonlover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

300 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    250
    35
    11
    4
    0
See reviews for
78
141
11
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2014

We arrived at Victoria Falls River Lodge by boat passing elephants playing in the water. We received a very warm welcome when we were met on the jetty. Our rooms were luxurious and looked out onto the Zambezi river. The team at Victoria Falls River Lodge were all fantastic and looked after us so well. One evening we even had our dinner at a table set up for us on the jetty where we looked out across the moon shimmering on the Zambezi - it was absolutely amazing. The game drives were brilliant - so many elephants and the river trip in the evening was just as brilliant. What could be better than sipping a chilled glass of wine watching the sun go down, listening to the hippos and wildlife all around? I would love to return to Victoria Falls River Lodge having enjoyed every minute of our stay here.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RayMagsandBruce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Telford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 175 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2014

Victoria Falls.
Most tourists travel to Victoria Falls, it is after all considered to be one of the 7 wonders of the world and the forever mighty Zambezi river cascading over the falls are truly magnificent all year round, but in August to October the falls are not as strong as during the dry season in the African countries upstream that the Zambezi river gets its water from, but during the wet season the spray from the falls is so powerful that it can be difficult to take good photos and you get wet from the forceful fine spray as you walk through the rain forest, take a light rain coat with a hood, when the sun shines on the spray there is a magnificent rainbow to photograph, the distance from the David Livingston Statue to the Victoria Falls bridge quite long, the pathways are tarred and so many different views and photos to be treasured and kept, On Victoria Falls Bridge is the highest Bungee Jumping both on the Zimbabwe side and also on Zambia side too, there is the white water rafting below on a 1 or 2 day trip depending on your experience, World Championships have been held here. The Hotels are stunning and provide for all your needs, Visa Cards are accepted and there are commercial banks too as well as a town bustling with curios and the famous village market that makes and sells all good quality carvings in wood and stone, there is an abundance of wild life in easy reach with lots of tours on offer within Victoria Falls and to Hwange safari area 105 km away or to nearer Matetsi safari area and even trips to Botswana and Zambia. Game viewing is better in the dry season while the grass is sparse and leaves on the trees are dry and it is not as hot and humid as in the rainy season.
There is an excellent Casino and you will not find better hotels anywhere else on safari, I have stayed at all of them over 44 years but on my last visit i stayed at the A’Zambezi river Lodge that stands on the edge of the Zambezi River and has been revamped and furnishings are excellent and the service is really good and on our next visit we will stay there again.
My family enjoy their golf at the Elephant Hills Hotel a great golf course, the monkeys love pink golf balls and all the white balls on offer was not as good as the pink one.

Room Tip: There is a ground and an upper floor by steps always nicer to have the lower as we like our Braai...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
187 reviews
172 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2014

Simply heaven. Truly beautiful luxurious resort in the middle of the Zambezi national park. Very very pretty tents, most friendly and helpful staff. Their cook is a kitchen god. He prepares your perfect meal three times a day. The activities are well organized and executed to perfection. There is nothing, absolutely nothing, that you miss at this Lodge. And if you haven't thought of anything or it has not yet come to your mind, their lovely staff will already know what you might be enjoying next. Over and above the inclusive trips and extras, they also give you a lift to any other activity, outside, you have booked. That is service and at a truly affordable rate. We will certainly go back there. If it was not that far away from Europe, it would become my favourite weekend trip destination.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RHW1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
226 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 8, 2013

The Victoria Falls River Lodge is a Five Star wannabe that falls short in virtually every category, i.e., rooms, food, service, amenities and extras. There is no lack of effort on the part of the staff. The location is well away from town and the falls, the tented rooms are difficult to air condition, a limited food and wine menu and an apparent inability to cook items to order renders the food average at best, inconsistent service and routine extras, e.g., a sunset cruises leave a lot to be desired.

We did not take a game ride, so cannot comment on that service

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rolftowe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burleigh Heads, Australia
Level Contributor
161 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 7, 2013

Just up the Zambezi River from the famous Victoria Falls is Victoria Falls River Lodge, which is an ideal spot for fans of hippos, crocodiles and warthogs - as well as relaxing alongside the river..
We were picked up by boat for the short trip to the camp. Although the camp is also accessible by road, the water transfer is more interesting and enjoyable - and impressive on the broad Zambezi River.
Spacious enclosed lodges, open-air dining area, really helpful service - and a wonderful location on the river: it's a pleasant change from the inland camps.
The warthogs come right into camp, crossing under and feeding near the raised wooden walkway. You hear hippos all night, and must have an escort back to your lodge after dark and after dinner.
A river excursion gives visitors a chance to spot the crocs on little islands or on the shore, sunbathing with open jaws, and to watch a beautiful sunset while sipping a drink and nibbling on a snack.
Vic Falls is only a few minutes away, when you feel like a bit of shopping or getting up close and personal to this famous attraction.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mike g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Elizabeth, South Africa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 28, 2013

Zambezi Crescent

Staff
The professionalism, enthusiasm and personal interest shown by all of the staff (without exception) was superb. Lucky and Chrissie made me feel welcome from the moment I arrived at the lodge. Patrick was immediately on hand to offer me a drink and inform me of the lunch plans. From then on, Shane, George, Clever and all of the rest of the team made sure that my experience would be unforgettable - the game viewing and guiding, river cruise, bush walk, food and overall hospitality were superb

Lodge and Facilities
The team has created a true oasis on the banks of the Zambezi. The main lodge is comfortable and you are free to join the larger group of guests or spend some time privately. Accessing the Internet via the free wi-fi access was also a pleasant surprise (especially being able to Skype my family from the banks of the Zambezi). The rooms are spacious, comfortable and have all the necessary amenities one would expect (e.g. bath, two showers - one outdoors, clean water, large beds, couches, stocked fridge, aircon, fan, etc).

The food was a definite highlight - all the main meals were well prepared, of the highest quality and offered a variety for all tastes and guest preferences; high tea was excellent; and the snacks on the sunset cruise and game drives were great.

Activities
George and Shane must definitely be two of the most experienced game rangers I have met - their knowledge of birds, trees, animals and "signs of the wild" were incredible. I was definitely not prepared for the massive variety of birds that one can spot on the river and in the surrounding bush and I learnt a lot about them and their habits from the team. We got to see Sable, Porcupine, Genet and Serval on our night drive. Buffalo, Hippos, Waterbuck, Warthog, Baboon and Vervet Monkeys are abundant around the main lodge. We were also fortunate to see many crocodiles, hippos and elephant on the sunset river cruise as well.

Overall, my stay at Zambezi Crescent certainly rates as one of the best lodge and bush experiences that I have ever had. I cannot wait to share it with more family and friends in future - well done to the whole team for an out of this world experience!

Room Tip: All the rooms are superb!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Diane G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Victoria Falls hotels
5.3 mi away
The Victoria Falls Hotel
The Victoria Falls Hotel
#6 of 16 in Victoria Falls
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,189 reviews
3.7 mi away
Victoria Falls Safari Club
Victoria Falls Safari Club
#4 of 16 in Victoria Falls
5.0 of 5 bubbles 363 reviews
3.7 mi away
Victoria Falls Safari Lodge
Victoria Falls Safari Lodge
#7 of 16 in Victoria Falls
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,693 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
A'Zambezi River Lodge
A'Zambezi River Lodge
#12 of 16 in Victoria Falls
4.0 of 5 bubbles 808 reviews
4.6 mi away
Batonka Guest Lodge
Batonka Guest Lodge
#1 of 16 in Victoria Falls
5.0 of 5 bubbles 202 reviews
7.9 mi away
The Elephant Camp
The Elephant Camp
#2 of 16 in Victoria Falls
5.0 of 5 bubbles 799 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Victoria Falls River Lodge - Zambezi Crescent? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Victoria Falls River Lodge - Zambezi Crescent

Property: Victoria Falls River Lodge - Zambezi Crescent
Address: Zambezi National Park | Kandahar, Victoria Falls, Zimbabwe
Phone Number:
Location: Zimbabwe > Matabeleland North Province > Victoria Falls
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 16 Hotels in Victoria Falls
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Victoria Falls River Lodge - Zambezi Crescent 4*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on the banks of the Zambezi River, within the Zambezi National Park (Zimbabwe), Victoria Falls River Lodge is the ideal place from which to explore Victoria Falls. The combination of fine dining, luxurious accommodation and an exceptional African Safari experience with one of the Seven Natural Wonders of the World - the spray of which can be seen in the distance – ensures an unforgettable experience that will leave guests wanting to return again, and again. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Victoria Falls River Lodge - Zambezi Crescent reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing