We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An unexpected treat”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
A'Zambezi River Lodge
Ranked #12 of 16 Hotels in Victoria Falls
Certificate of Excellence
Cape Town Central, South Africa
2 reviews
“An unexpected treat”
Reviewed April 22, 2014

Arriving at the A'Zambezi River Lodge is a treat. There is a warm and friendly welcoming and everything is done to ensure your comfort during the (admittedly somewhat lengthy) check in process. The staff are incredibly friendly and helpful and will do everything in their power to make your stay a comfortable one. The rooms are lovely, modern and clean, with crisp bedding and fluffy towels. The open-plan public areas are beautiful and well-maintained, with pristine lawns stretching all the way to the mighty Zambezi river.

The breakfast buffet is comprehensive and will have something for even the most picky eater. Every other night the lodge has a dinner buffet that offers the standard fare, as well as local dishes such as fried crocodile or warthog, the latter of which I highly recommend. The only real trouble came in on À la carte nights when a large portion of the dishes on the menu wasn't available and the service incredibly slow. However, despite the stress, staff remained friendly and kept our hands busy with local Zambezi lager, which is another must.

Besides for being right next to the river, the lodge is also only a few minutes drive to Victoria Falls town and the Rain Forest where you can see the wonder of the falls itself. The lodge runs a regular shuttle service with knowledgeable and accommodating drivers who can give advice and make slight adjustments to their route for the comfort of guests.

The lodge has an upmarket, yet relaxed atmosphere and retains a sense of privacy and isolation, despite being almost fully booked. There were always couches available in the bar and places at the pool. I found it to be the ideal accommodation for a family of backpackers who wants some comfort without the crowds.

Room Tip: The rooms of the lodge are arranged in two crescents, one in front of the other. The front crescent...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MinkiPool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
azambeziriverlodge, Guest Relations Manager at A'Zambezi River Lodge, responded to this review, April 22, 2014
A refreshing day to you MinkiPool

Thank you MinkiPool for taking time to review our hotel we greatly appreciate the feedback. We believe that it will help us in improving our services. It is great to note that you regard A'Zambezi River Lodge as treat and that you liked our signature beer the Zambezi Lager.

Thank you once again for the review. We look forward to welcoming you back again.

Kind Regards,

Alice
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

830 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    329
    375
    86
    29
    11
See reviews for
162
392
42
29
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (211)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
62 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2014

We stayed three nights in at the A' Zambezi and had a wonderful time. The rooms were spacious and comfortable, and ours overlooked the river. Elephants joined us for breakfast one morning, and warthogs visited us in the evening, as did the resident hippo. The pool was very refreshing after a day in the sun. Food was good, and the nightly entertainment was fun to watch. We loved going into town on the shuttle. It certainly made shopping easier! We would stay here again if we make another trip to Vic Falls.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisa W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
azambeziriverlodge, Guest Relations Manager at A'Zambezi River Lodge, responded to this review, April 22, 2014
A refreshing day to you Lisa W

We greatly appreciate the time you took to post a review on our wall. It is good to note that you enjoyed your stay with us here at A'Zambezi River Lodge. Wow you were so lucky to come across our family hippo Sebastian.

We look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future together with your family and friends.

Kind Regards,

Alice
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gig Harbor, Washington
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2014

We had so many places to choose from when planning our trip to Victoria Falls, but once we arrived, we were thrilled to find that A'Zambezi exceeded our expectations! We stayed for 3 nights, giving us plenty of time to both explore the many things to do and see, but also to slow down and unwind. The rooms are nicely decorated, clean and comfortable. I loved all the storage! The view and the balcony were lovely...overlooking the river and the well landscaped grounds and pool. We loved the pool! It was a perfect temperature and had a really nice wrap around ledge at a perfect depth to sit and relax in the water. The restaurant/bar area was open and inviting. We loved the live entertainment at dinner! With all this place has going for it, I think the biggest plus was the staff. Everyone we encountered was super friendly and helpful. There were free shuttles into town and to the falls every few hours during the day. Perfect place to stay, great value!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cheril64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
azambeziriverlodge, Guest Relations Manager at A'Zambezi River Lodge, responded to this review, April 22, 2014
A refreshing day to you Cheril64

Thank you for taking time to review our hotel and for highly rating us. We are also glad that we managed to exceed your expectations. We hope you had a safe journey back home.

We look forward to welcoming you back again with your families and friends.

Kind regards,

Alice
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2014 via mobile

Perfect room with a great staff. Free wifi which is fast enough for general browsing but not fast enough for video streaming. Breakfast was a buffet that could use some help and dinner buffet was so so also. Free shuttle to the falls and they can book with wild horizons at check in.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank swabibs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
azambeziriverlodge, Guest Relations Manager at A'Zambezi River Lodge, responded to this review, April 22, 2014
A refreshing day to you swabibs

We greatly appreciate the time you took to review our hotel on Trip Advisor. It is good to note that it was a perfect place for a getaway.

We hope and look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future.

Kind Regards,

Alice
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
51 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed April 11, 2014

The recently refurbished rooms are really great, perfect actually
Magical riverside views, sitting around the fire in the evening and listening to the not so distant roar of lions - unforgetable.
Having to chase the vervet monkeys away from the breakfast tables was part of the daily entertainment.
The staff were welcoming, helpful and competent
My only disappointment was the wifi didnt work

Room Tip: The riverfront rooms should be your first choice by far
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TLC_4play
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
azambeziriverlodge, Guest Relations Manager at A'Zambezi River Lodge, responded to this review, April 22, 2014
A refreshing day to you TLC_4play

Thank you for the positive review we greatly appreciate the time you took to write on our wall. We sincerely apologize for the inconvenience you faced with our WIFI.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind Regards,

Alice
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2014

Located right on the banks of the Zambezi River - A'Zambezi River Lodge offers a scenic view of the Zambezi River from the comfort of one's ground floor patio. It is close to the sunset/dinner cruise pier. Checking in and out was seamless and the staff handled queries and requests with efficiency and great pleasantness. The shuttle service was very helpful and the food and drink staff most efficent .

Room Tip: river frontage has best views
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MMeehan_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
azambeziriverlodge, Guest Relations Manager at A'Zambezi River Lodge, responded to this review, April 22, 2014
A refreshing day to you MMeehan_13

Thank you for taking time to review our hotel we greatly appreciate and thank you also for choosing to stay with us. We hope you had a safe journey back home.

We look forward to welcoming you back again.

Kind Regards,

Alice
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaufort, South Carolina
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed April 5, 2014

Excellent riverside views from the hotel, very good rooms, quiet setting. Staff was very helpful and courteous. Several miles from town of Victoria Falls, but you can either take free shuttle service to central Vic Falls (be sure the check the schedule!) or take a taxi to town and falls, about $10 each way. Very good buffet meals, good service in pleasant outdoor surroundings, traditional singing/dancing for entertainment in the evenings. Some additional free intertainment was a troop of baboons who decided to make this their home one evening. Fortunately went their own way as the sun went down so dinner was uneventful. Not sure if this was a regular event or a special. After enjoying our first dinner, we opted to go into town for something different our second evening.

Room Tip: Try to get a room facing the river. We were on second floor which was a better view if you don't...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Larry M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
azambeziriverlodge, Guest Relations Manager at A'Zambezi River Lodge, responded to this review, April 7, 2014
A refreshing day to you Larry M

It is good to note that you loved the riverside view from our hotel. Thank you for your positive feedback we greatly appreciate.

We hope you had a safe trip back home and we look forward to welcoming you back again with family and friends.

Kind Regards,

Alice
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Victoria Falls hotels
0.8 mi away
Elephant Hills Resort
Elephant Hills Resort
#9 of 16 in Victoria Falls
563 reviews
1.8 mi away
Rainbow Hotel Victoria Falls
Rainbow Hotel Victoria Falls
#15 of 16 in Victoria Falls
496 reviews
1.3 mi away
Victoria Falls Safari Lodge
Victoria Falls Safari Lodge
#8 of 16 in Victoria Falls
1,751 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Cresta Sprayview Hotel
Cresta Sprayview Hotel
#13 of 16 in Victoria Falls
331 reviews
2.5 mi away
The Victoria Falls Hotel
The Victoria Falls Hotel
#6 of 16 in Victoria Falls
2,257 reviews
2.2 mi away
Ilala Lodge
Ilala Lodge
#7 of 16 in Victoria Falls
1,118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to A'Zambezi River Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about A'Zambezi River Lodge

Property: A'Zambezi River Lodge
Address: 308 Parkway Drive | P O Box 150, Victoria Falls +260, Zimbabwe
Location: Zimbabwe > Matabeleland North Province > Victoria Falls
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Victoria Falls
#7 Family Hotel in Victoria Falls
#8 Business Hotel in Victoria Falls
#8 Romantic Hotel in Victoria Falls
#10 Luxury Hotel in Victoria Falls
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — A'Zambezi River Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 87
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A'Zambezi River Lodge, is a recently refurbished 4 star Hotel situated on the banks of the mighty Zambezi River, 5km upstream from the magnificent Victoria Falls. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your A'Zambezi River Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
a`Zambezi River Hotel Victoria Falls
Mercure Victoria Falls

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing