We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Victoria falls getaway. ”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
A'Zambezi River Lodge
Ranked #10 of 16 Hotels in Victoria Falls
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 13, 2014 via mobile

Perfect room with a great staff. Free wifi which is fast enough for general browsing but not fast enough for video streaming. Breakfast was a buffet that could use some help and dinner buffet was so so also. Free shuttle to the falls and they can book with wild horizons at check in.

Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank swabibs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
azambeziriverlodge, Guest Relations Manager at A'Zambezi River Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded April 22, 2014

A refreshing day to you swabibs

We greatly appreciate the time you took to review our hotel on Trip Advisor. It is good to note that it was a perfect place for a getaway.

We hope and look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future.

Kind Regards,

Alice

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (915)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

518 - 524 of 915 reviews

Reviewed April 11, 2014

The recently refurbished rooms are really great, perfect actually
Magical riverside views, sitting around the fire in the evening and listening to the not so distant roar of lions - unforgetable.
Having to chase the vervet monkeys away from the breakfast tables was part of the daily entertainment.
The staff were welcoming, helpful and competent
My only disappointment was the wifi didnt work

Room Tip: The riverfront rooms should be your first choice by far
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TLC_4play
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
azambeziriverlodge, Guest Relations Manager at A'Zambezi River Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded April 22, 2014

A refreshing day to you TLC_4play

Thank you for the positive review we greatly appreciate the time you took to write on our wall. We sincerely apologize for the inconvenience you faced with our WIFI.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind Regards,

Alice

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2014

Located right on the banks of the Zambezi River - A'Zambezi River Lodge offers a scenic view of the Zambezi River from the comfort of one's ground floor patio. It is close to the sunset/dinner cruise pier. Checking in and out was seamless and the staff handled queries and requests with efficiency and great pleasantness. The shuttle service was very helpful and the food and drink staff most efficent .

Room Tip: river frontage has best views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MMeehan_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
azambeziriverlodge, Guest Relations Manager at A'Zambezi River Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded April 22, 2014

A refreshing day to you MMeehan_13

Thank you for taking time to review our hotel we greatly appreciate and thank you also for choosing to stay with us. We hope you had a safe journey back home.

We look forward to welcoming you back again.

Kind Regards,

Alice

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2014

Excellent riverside views from the hotel, very good rooms, quiet setting. Staff was very helpful and courteous. Several miles from town of Victoria Falls, but you can either take free shuttle service to central Vic Falls (be sure the check the schedule!) or take a taxi to town and falls, about $10 each way. Very good buffet meals, good service in pleasant outdoor surroundings, traditional singing/dancing for entertainment in the evenings. Some additional free intertainment was a troop of baboons who decided to make this their home one evening. Fortunately went their own way as the sun went down so dinner was uneventful. Not sure if this was a regular event or a special. After enjoying our first dinner, we opted to go into town for something different our second evening.

Room Tip: Try to get a room facing the river. We were on second floor which was a better view if you don't...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Larry M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
azambeziriverlodge, Guest Relations Manager at A'Zambezi River Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded April 7, 2014

A refreshing day to you Larry M

It is good to note that you loved the riverside view from our hotel. Thank you for your positive feedback we greatly appreciate.

We hope you had a safe trip back home and we look forward to welcoming you back again with family and friends.

Kind Regards,

Alice

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2014

After a very long drive from Mozambique we arrived and the staff could not find our booking... while they tried to sort everything out they stored our bags and we went to falls, by the time we got back not only had they sorted everything out we were upgraded for the inconvenience. This was lovely and very much appreciated seeing the problem came from the booking agent. We stayed 3 nights and had a great time and loved our room

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Karyn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
azambeziriverlodge, Guest Relations Manager at A'Zambezi River Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded April 7, 2014

A refreshing day to you vacivilwar

Thank you so much for taking time to review our hotel. We always thrive to make our guest feel at home at all times.

We are glad to note that you had an amazing experience. We look forward to welcoming you back again.

Kind Regards,

Alice

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2014

We were booked into this hotel as a part of a safari package....and were totally pleased the rooms were perfect, the staff attentive and friendly, and the location on the Zambezi River spectacular. The meals were perfect. It was the perfect place to stay, especially since we were coming out of the bush country. The hotel shuttle allowed us to tour the town of Victoria Falls at our own leisure. Nicely done!!

Room Tip: I think all rooms look out toward the river, but it is probably good to verify.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank vacivilwar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
azambeziriverlodge, Guest Relations Manager at A'Zambezi River Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded April 3, 2014

A refreshing day to you Vacivilwar

Thank you so much for taking time to review our hotel. We greatly appreciate the positive feedback and we value all the feedback that comes through to us.

It is also good to note that you were pleased with our rooms and that the staff were attentive and friendly.

We hope you had a safe journey back home and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind Regards,

Alice

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2014

I was very impressed with the reviews about this hotel and when i was about to book, i noticed that options for smoking and non-smoking rooms which shocked me as an allergy sufferer from smoke. The hotel confirmed that they allow guests to smoke in any room and they do not have smoke free rooms! How unbelievable is that and no one has mentioned it in their reviews. Do all adventure travellers smoke? How can a hotel allow smoking in all their rooms at this day when everybody talks about the dangers of smoking and smoking ban is widely applied? Very disappointed

Stayed: March 2014
3  Thank Umash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
azambeziriverlodge, Guest Relations Manager at A'Zambezi River Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded April 3, 2014

A refreshing day to you Umash

Thank you for taking time to review our hotel. I sincerely aplogize for the wrong information that was conveyed to you. However all our rooms are non-smoking because our roof is thatched.

For more information please kindly contact the hotel on +263 13 44561 -4 or +263 776 625 845. Thank you once again for the feedback, we hope that you will choose to stay with us in the near future.

Kind Regards,

Alice

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Victoria Falls hotels
1.3 mi away
Victoria Falls Safari Lodge
Victoria Falls Safari Lodge
#8 of 16 in Victoria Falls
1,988 reviews
0.8 mi away
Elephant Hills Resort
Elephant Hills Resort
#9 of 16 in Victoria Falls
678 reviews
1.8 mi away
Rainbow Hotel Victoria Falls
Rainbow Hotel Victoria Falls
#15 of 16 in Victoria Falls
558 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Cresta Sprayview Hotel
Cresta Sprayview Hotel
#11 of 16 in Victoria Falls
406 reviews
2.5 mi away
The Victoria Falls Hotel
The Victoria Falls Hotel
#7 of 16 in Victoria Falls
2,515 reviews
2.2 mi away
Ilala Lodge
Ilala Lodge
#6 of 16 in Victoria Falls
1,248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to A'Zambezi River Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about A'Zambezi River Lodge

Address: 308 Parkway Drive | P O Box 150, Victoria Falls +260, Zimbabwe
Location: Zimbabwe > Matabeleland North Province > Victoria Falls
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Victoria Falls
#6 Family Hotel in Victoria Falls
#8 Business Hotel in Victoria Falls
#8 Romantic Hotel in Victoria Falls
#9 Luxury Hotel in Victoria Falls
Price Range: $157 - $339 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — A'Zambezi River Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 87
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A'Zambezi River Lodge, is a recently refurbished 4 star Hotel situated on the banks of the mighty Zambezi River, 5km upstream from the magnificent Victoria Falls. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your A'Zambezi River Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
a`Zambezi River Hotel Victoria Falls
Mercure Victoria Falls

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing