We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hotel just outside Victoria falls” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of A'Zambezi River Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
A'Zambezi River Lodge
Ranked #10 of 16 Hotels in Victoria Falls
Certificate of Excellence
Lichfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great hotel just outside Victoria falls”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2013 via mobile

We stayed for 2 nights during our trip to Victoria Falls. The hotel overall is excelent, the staff were very friendly and helpful with everything we asked of them. The grounds and pool area are excelently kept even with the heard of warthogs on the lawns doing their worst. The rooms have reacently been renovated to a very high standard. The location of the hotel a few miles out of town was not an issue as every activity we had planned, collected and returned us to the hotel.
The only reason I have given 4 starts not 5 is due to the restaurant / food. On the whole the food is good however all of the meat in the evenings is cooked on the grill while you wait. The chef will only give a tiny portion of only 1 of the 3 types of meat he had each night, he seamed to ignore what ever else you requested and just cook 1 tiny piece. Also the cost of the evening buffet was very expensive in comparison to everywhere else we stopped on our 2 week trip. Given the price of around $34 pp, I feal they could have been a lot more generous with the portions. As a guide we had a 3 course meal in the Trip Advisor number 3 ranked restaurant in Cape Town with wine for less than this at around $28. Despite this, I would still highly recommend stopping at this property for your trip to vic falls.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jacob N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
azambeziriverlodge, Guest Relations Manager at A'Zambezi River Lodge, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
A refreshing day to you Jacob N

Thank you for taking time to review our hotel. We take each and every feedback that we get from our guests seriously in-order for us to improve on our service delivery.

We sincerely apologize for any inconvenience caused during your stay with us. We have already looked into to the issue and the problem has been rectified.

Thank you once again for your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back again.

Kind Regards,

A'Zambezi Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

783 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    310
    354
    81
    27
    11
See reviews for
154
367
39
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (203)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Roodepoort, Gauteng, South Africa
Level Contributor
130 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2013

I was expecting a basic lodge but standard is high, bathroom has granite finishes, room well appointed with balcony , Ask for upstairs room if you don't want warthogs etc too close. Gardens in the lodge beautifully kept, pool area immaculate with towels for guests. Service levels high, good value for money. Use US dollars. Meals are fantastic, cruise the Zambezi from their premises

Room Tip: You can stay nearer the falls but worth the drive down a dusty road to this retreat
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Adrienne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
azambeziriverlodge, Guest Relations Manager at A'Zambezi River Lodge, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
A refreshing day to you Adrienne M

Thank you for for the positive feedback we greatly appreciate and we look forward to welcoming you back again.

Kind Regards,

A'Zambezi Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Garrafe de Torio, Spain
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2013

Simply fantastic. After a busy day seeing the falls and performing various activities the best option to relax on the banks of the Zambezi River. The river views are spectacular. The staff is wonderful and at all attend to your desires. Any problem is solved immediately. In our case the transport for an activity was spoiled and a member of the staff immediately moved us in his own car so we could make our activity. The rooms are functional and clean. The food was really great , varied and with a touch of home cooking that I loved. Dinners were unforgettable enlivened to the light of fire by groups of dancers and local musicians. I would love to come back. Highly reccommended

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JJRCoque
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
azambeziriverlodge, Guest Relations Manager at A'Zambezi River Lodge, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
A refreshing day to you JJRCoque

Thank you for taking time to review our hotel we greatly appreciate and we look forward to welcoming you back again.

kind regards,

A'Zambezi Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradenton, Florida
Level Contributor
42 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2013

We stayed two nights at the A'Zambezi which was chosen by our travel agent. We were not disappointed. It is located right on the river so the setting is lovely. The room was very nice and we enjoyed a cup of tea each afternoon on our balcony. We watched monkeys playing and warthogs eating many times throughout the day. We enjoyed relaxing by the pool each afternoon. Our only negative comment would be that the food was expensive(in our opinion) and since the hotel is outside of town dining there was a necessity for us.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank maxnmeme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
azambeziriverlodge, Guest Relations Manager at A'Zambezi River Lodge, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
A refreshing day to you maxnmeme

Thank you for taking time to review our hotel. We sincerely apologize for any inconvenience that you went through during your stay. We greatly appreciate for the feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading
Level Contributor
60 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2013

We really enjoyed our stay at the A'Zambezi - the hotel has recently been refurbished, and the rooms were modern, clean and comfortable. The grounds were immaculate, with closely cropped green lawns, comfortable sun-loungers and a nice pool. There were at various stages, a family of warthogs, a troop of Vervet monkeys and a lone waterbuck wandering through the grounds during our stay. It was pleasant to sit by the pool, and be able to see the Zambezi flowing past.

The staff can not do enough for you, and were very friendly and helpful. Cooked breakfast was good, but the continental would benefit from more fresh and fewer tinned fruits.

We ate dinner at the restaurant once, and it was a very good buffet ($34 each), soup, salad, some pre-cooked meats and vegetables, fresh warthog steak and crocodile tail cooked in front of you, and desserts. Drinks also fairly reasonable (international prices) at $3 for a local beer and $4 for a Savannah Cider.

We had a vehicle, so the short drive to the falls was not an issue for us.

A good stay in the Falls area - we hope the standard is maintained after the tourism expo is over.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank deltaseven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
azambeziriverlodge, Guest Relations Manager at A'Zambezi River Lodge, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
A refreshing day to you deltaseven

Thank you for the feedback that you posted on our Trip Advisor wall we greatly appreciate.

Thank you for choosing to stay with us we look forward to welcoming you back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Navan Ireland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2013

We stayed here for three nights to experience Victoria Falls. The hotel provides a very good standard of accommodation and the service was excellent at all times. The rooms are very clean and modern and are well located among the grounds of the hotel. A small issue with water pressure was rectified promptly and with minimum fuss. The staff are very friendly and helpful and will assist with bookings for activities or transfers. The food is of a very high standard and there was a very wide range of options at every meal. On one of the evenings we were lucky to enjoy some traditional music which created a great atmosphere. The pool area is again very clean and well maintained and is a lovely space to relax. The hotel is 4km outside Victoria Falls town but this was not an issue for us as the hotel provides a free and reliable shuttle bus to the falls entrance. Also, the companies which organise activities generally provide collection from the hotel. Overall we enjoyed our stay here very much and would recommend it highly.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sarah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
azambeziriverlodge, Guest Relations Manager at A'Zambezi River Lodge, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
A refreshing day to you Sarah B

We greatly appreciate for the time you took to review our hotel. Thank you for the feedback and for also choosing to stay with us.

We look forward to welcoming you back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2013

Apart from one extremely poor experience in their restaurant, I found the A'Zambezi River Lodge to be excellent. Though the rooms are a little small, they were modern, stylish, air-conditioned, and had all the necessities that I expected. The shower was roomy, with good water pressure, and there was a separate bath for those who prefer that. The king-size bed, made up of two single beds, had a mosquito net for those who needed it. The only item I missed was an ironing board and iron.

The food in the restaurant area was generally very good. I particularly liked the warthog meat that was served in a number of dishes, for it is a very tender lean meat. However, one incident spoiled my dining experience at A'Zambezi River Lodge. Whilst in the bar area we had enjoyed some pre-dinner drinks of wine at about US$8 a glass. However, when we moved into the adjoining restaurant area, we requested several bottles of red wine without having requested a wine list. The waiter showed us the bottles, and we nodded agreement. However, at the end of the meal the bill revealed that the wine had cost US$60 a bottle. We protested to the waiter, but he insisted that was the cost. The next morning we complained to the duty manager, but their response was that we had agreed to accept the bottle. Yes, it was our fault that we had not queried the cost of the wine that the waiter had suggested to us. However, we felt that we had been scammed, by them having suggested such expensive wine to us. Keep in mind that this is a country where such a wine would be the waiter’s weekly wage. So, the lesson is: never accept a waiter’s suggestion of wine or food without clarifying the cost.

Room Tip: Select a river view room, not a garden view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank youngphil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
azambeziriverlodge, Guest Relations Manager at A'Zambezi River Lodge, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
A refreshing day to you Youngphil

Thank you so much for airing your views with us. We sincerely apologize for the poor experience that you received during your stay. We greatly appreciate the feedback and we have taken this issue seriously.

Thank you once again for your feedback. We look forward to welcoming you back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Victoria Falls hotels
0.8 mi away
Elephant Hills Resort
Elephant Hills Resort
#12 of 16 in Victoria Falls
4.0 of 5 bubbles 517 reviews
2.5 mi away
The Victoria Falls Hotel
The Victoria Falls Hotel
#6 of 16 in Victoria Falls
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,148 reviews
1.8 mi away
Rainbow Hotel Victoria Falls
Rainbow Hotel Victoria Falls
#15 of 16 in Victoria Falls
3.5 of 5 bubbles 468 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Victoria Falls Safari Club
Victoria Falls Safari Club
#4 of 16 in Victoria Falls
5.0 of 5 bubbles 355 reviews
1.2 mi away
Victoria Falls Safari Lodge
Victoria Falls Safari Lodge
#7 of 16 in Victoria Falls
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,639 reviews
2.1 mi away
Cresta Sprayview Hotel
Cresta Sprayview Hotel
#14 of 16 in Victoria Falls
4.0 of 5 bubbles 289 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to A'Zambezi River Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about A'Zambezi River Lodge

Property: A'Zambezi River Lodge
Address: 308 Parkway Drive | P O Box 150, Victoria Falls, Zimbabwe
Location: Zimbabwe > Matabeleland North Province > Victoria Falls
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Victoria Falls
#8 Romantic Hotel in Victoria Falls
#8 Business Hotel in Victoria Falls
#10 Luxury Hotel in Victoria Falls
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — A'Zambezi River Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 87
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A'Zambezi River Lodge, is a recently refurbished 4 star Hotel situated on the banks of the mighty Zambezi River, 5km upstream from the magnificent Victoria Falls. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your A'Zambezi River Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
a`Zambezi River Hotel Victoria Falls
Mercure Victoria Falls

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing