We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely Stunning!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Gorges and Little Gorges Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Austin, TX
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Absolutely Stunning!!”
Reviewed February 26, 2010

This place is incredible. If your looking for a relaxing, friendly, gorgeous place then this is certainly it. The food was fantastic! You must also have dinner and show at the Boma. The views are incredible. The staff are incredibly friendly and helpful. You will always remember this place.

Stayed February 2010, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank CharlieMich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

281 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    228
    48
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
57
116
15
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bulawayo
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2009

It was such a lovely surprise - I had been told that it was a little old and frayed and whilst the rooms could do with an update, it was delightfully clean, well contained and all the extras were in place - even the bar fridge was nicely stocked. The new Camp Manager Brigitte had just arrived and despite still finding her feet, she was a pleasure to deal with and made us feel very welcome. Definately will pass this onto friends and plan to come back again in the near future

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Tinpiggy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bend, Oregon
Level Contributor
47 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2008

We stayed at The Gorges in August of this year, for a week. The view is magnificent from everywhere in the property, including the individual cabins. Our cabin was clean and spacious. Food was excellent, and provided from the local area. Vegetables come out of a garden behind the kitchen, eggs and chicken are very, very, fresh, and everything was perfectly prepared. The lodge is a short distance outside of Vic Falls, so Gorges staff arranged for daily transportation (included in the lodging cost) to and from the Falls, or to and from any other activity. Don't miss the gift shop--we found some very good things there that had been made by the staff.

  • Liked — View and staff
  • Disliked — nothing--everything was better than we expected
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank bend395
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg
Level Contributor
39 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed February 28, 2008

After checking in at reception, we proceeded to the main deck area. The view literally takes one's breath away and I think our group of 6 friends stood with mouths open in absolute silence. The lodge is built over the Zambezi gorge which is some 200m below. The main deck/bar/lounge area is definitely the best the lodge has to offer and is atrractively decorated. The rooms are clean and functional, but pretty basic. The rooms each have a deck overhanging the gorge, but in parts the wood was quite rotten and breaking away. Without renovation soon, someone is going to end going through the floorboards and it's a long way down to the bottom of the gorge. The food was OK, but nothing to write home about. The drinks were exhorbitant. I always seem to go on about the cost of drinks, which is probably not important to foreigners, as it probably doesn't cost you any less in London or New York. However I am African and so is my Husband and when I travel in my country or those of our neighbours, I get quite sour about paying more than a 300% markup at hotels on the cost that you would pay at a liquor retailer. At sundown, between 6 of us, we ordered a total of 9 Zimbabwe local beers, 2 whiskey's (South African) and a glass of white South African wine and it came to just over R1000. Roughly at the time equal to GBP90 or US$145. Very expensive for the locals!!!

As opposed to the wonderful, fully booked Vic Falls Safari Lodge from where we had just come, Gorges was empty and we were the only guests in the entire place.

  • Liked — the setting
  • Disliked — prices of drinks
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank theXmases
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Titusville, FL
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2007

My husband and I just returned from our third trip to Africa and each
time we have begun our Africa vacation at the Gorges Lodge in Victoria Falls, Zimbabwe. Gorges is located about 12 miles outside of Victoria Falls - it is quiet and private with breathtaking views of the gorge. Their unattached cottages overlook the Zambize River (about 800 feet below) and each one has its own small veranda to watch the sunsets. The bar area practically hangs over the gorge as does the dining area. No matter where you are you have the most incredible views. The hosts, Jack and Marie have been there for years
and are very friendly and helpful. After three trips they feel like family. We went on an all inclusive package that included meals, activities, and a driver to take us everywhere. After spending the day in town and seeing the other hotels that were huge and close together, we were glad to be able to return to romantic Gorges at the end of the day. The food was excellent, and the staff were great.
They even wrote things like "how was your day?" in the butter on the table! I look forward to my next trip to Gorges.

Stayed June 2007
Helpful?
2 Thank Sanjy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Titusville, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2007

We recently stayed at this Lodge for the first time along with friends who were there for the third time. This property is quiet and private with stunning views of the gorge. These are unattached cottages, and each one has its own small veranda to watch the sunsets. The bar area practically hangs over the gorge. We went on an all inclusive package that included meals and activities. The hosts, Jack and Maurie have been there for years and are very friendly and helpful. We had a driver to take us everywhere who was also great. It is a little outside town, but gives you a feel of the area. After spending the day in town and seeing the other hotels that were huge and close together, we were glad to be able to return to romantic Gorges at the end of the day. The food was excellent, and the staff were great. They even wrote things like "how was your day?" in the butter on the table! We loved this place and would go back in a heartbeat. In fact the friends who accompanied us were on their 3rd trip to Africa, (our first) and were originally not planning to go back to Vic Falls since they had already been. As soon as the details were being worked out for us to stay at Gorges, they changed their minds and decided to join us just so they could go back there.

Stayed June 2007
Helpful?
2 Thank Micnkev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed September 7, 2005

The accommodation is supurb, the staff and management is simply wonderful, the location is breathtaking, perched on top of a deep canyon with the Zambian River over 200 mtrs, dirctly below, monkeys and squirills, bus to take you everywhere, top food, just an unbelievable experience.
If you do not want to walk up stairs, or be too far from the dinning room let them know, as each unit stands alone in the grounds and is right on the edge to provide the best views.
You can visit the local village and school and just see how little these people have and wonder how they can be so happy and friendly.

Your Hosts, Jack and Marie will see that you have a first class stay and the staff are first rate too.

This is one of the very few places on earth that I have travelled to that I would happily return to, and I hope I can.

Helpful?
18 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Victoria Falls hotels
20.2 mi away
Victoria Falls Safari Lodge
Victoria Falls Safari Lodge
#8 of 16 in Victoria Falls
1,746 reviews
20.3 mi away
Victoria Falls Safari Club
Victoria Falls Safari Club
#4 of 16 in Victoria Falls
384 reviews
18.5 mi away
The Victoria Falls Hotel
The Victoria Falls Hotel
#6 of 16 in Victoria Falls
2,251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.3 mi away
The Elephant Camp
The Elephant Camp
#2 of 16 in Victoria Falls
824 reviews
21.0 mi away
A'Zambezi River Lodge
A'Zambezi River Lodge
#11 of 16 in Victoria Falls
829 reviews
23.8 mi away
Victoria Falls River Lodge - Zambezi Crescent
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gorges and Little Gorges Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gorges and Little Gorges Lodge

Property: Gorges and Little Gorges Lodge
Address: Zambezi River Gorge, Victoria Falls, Zimbabwe
Phone Number:
Location: Zimbabwe > Matabeleland North Province > Victoria Falls
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 35 Specialty Lodging in Victoria Falls
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Gorges and Little Gorges Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gorges and Little Gorges is a mere 30 minute drive from Victoria Falls town and offers a unique Victoria Falls experience from a peaceful and idyllic base on the edge of the Batoka Gorge - a perfect choice for your Victoria Falls safari adventure! At Gorges you can relax away from the hustle and bustle of Victoria Falls town - our peaceful guest accommodation is nestled in a landscaped garden that makes walking to your room a joy, and our staff are renowned for their warm hospitality. Gorges is famous for its spectacular views, described by some as the best in southern Africa; whether you are enjoying a cup of coffee at sunrise on your private veranda or a cool refreshment by the pool at sunset, you will be constantly drawn to the stunning vistas provided by the Batoka Gorge and the rushing waters of the Zambezi River below. Little Gorges is perched on the edge of the Batoka Gorge next to main Gorges. This tented extension of Gorges overlooks the dramatic junction of the Dibu Dibu River and the Zambezi, where black eagles and lanner falcons nest in the sheer cliff faces. Construction of the luxury tents in this rugged, rocky and broken terrain necessitated careful planning and feats of engineering and is a wonderful alternative to the main Gorges chalets while still providing all the same comforts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your Gorges and Little Gorges Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gorges Hotel Victoria Falls

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing