We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gorgeous lodge!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Gorges and Little Gorges Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 16, 2014

I stayed here for two nights on a study abroad trip with my school while we were visiting Victoria Falls, and I had a great time. The view is breathtaking, especially when the sun rises and sets, and the staff was very sweet and attentive. I also loved the little shop they had so that we could purchase local gifts for family and friends. I would definitely come back here. The rooms are fairly spread out, so if walking is difficult for anyone in your party, I would request a room that is close to the main lodge area. About a 20 to 30 minute drive to the Falls area, so plan accordingly.

Room Tip: I rated the value and fitness center as average, because I am not sure what the actual rates for the...
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kaitlin D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hayley F, Marketing Manager at Gorges and Little Gorges Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded June 17, 2014

Dear Kaitlin,

A big thank you for taking the time to write this review of your stay at Gorges Lodge. We're glad you enjoyed our breathtaking views and hope you found some lovely souvenirs for everyone back home!

We acknowledge your comment about some of our rooms being a bit of a distance from the main lodge - we did this so that all the rooms could be extremely private and peaceful so that our guests could feel as though they have the amazing view all to themselves!

We do offer our guests a free return transfer to town per paying night that they stay with us so they can still visit the Falls during their stay, while still enjoying the peace and quiet of the lodge being out of town.

Thanks again for your feedback.

Warm regards,

The Gorges Lodge Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (297)
There are newer reviews for Gorges and Little Gorges Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

149 - 155 of 297 reviews

Reviewed June 2, 2014

I stayed two nights in April. Wish I had more time!!! The beauty is unsurpassed. Tranquil. Just perfect. Everyone was so nice. The food was unbelievable. The cottages well stocked. To sit on my porch in the morning drinking coffee and enjoying the view-wow!! I will return but next time will schedule more time for Gorges!!

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rinderpest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hayley P, Marketing Director at Gorges and Little Gorges Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded June 10, 2014

Thank you so much for your 5 star review! We are so pleased to hear that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay at Gorges! We also feel that it is an absolute treasure in Zimbabwe, one of our favourite things too is having morning coffee with the Zambezi River rushing past 200m below! Please do return soon and come and enjoy more peaceful and beautiful days with us at Gorges! All the best from the Gorges team and all at Imvelo Safari Lodges.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2014

I loved Gorges Lodge! A two night stay was not long enough! The space, peace and quiet and beautiful surroundings restored body and soul. Black eagles nesting and soaring close by our balcony were a highlight. The staff were excellent and provided first class service. Our room was very comfortable although we spent almost all our time on the balcony taking in the magnificent views. Deep down in the gorge the river was high and fast and occasional shrieks from intrepid rafters shooting the rapids added excitement. In the distance we could see mist rising over the falls. A memorable and special time. I would love to return.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LizF43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hayley P, Marketing Director at Gorges and Little Gorges Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded June 10, 2014

Hi Liz - thank you so much for the 5 star review! Gorges is famous for its spectacular views and vistas and we are so glad to read you experienced its magic! We will pass on your lovely comments to the team at the lodge and hope to host you again one day soon! All the best from all at Imvelo Safari Lodges

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2014

This hotel is just the best ever. People working there are very friendly and always willing to help and the rooms are constroyed over the clift with incrédible views.

Just incrédible place and amazing views!

Room Tip: All amazing
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alberto O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hayley P, Marketing Director at Gorges and Little Gorges Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded June 10, 2014

Hi Alberto, thank you for your wonderful review and for the 5 stars! We are so glad to read that you had an incredible time at the lodge and we hope that one day soon you will visit us again so that we can show you more of Zimbabwe! All the best from the Imvelo Safari Lodges team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2014

World class service along with the best view on the planet! Just back from an amazing weekend in Victoria falls - Gorges Lodge being the highlight. Thank you so much to Debbie, Chris and the staff for giving us an engagement weekend to remember! Food, service and Accommodation was 5 star and we cannot wait to be back again!!

Room Tip: We stayed in Honeymoon Suite #1 and it was quiet, secluded and luxurious
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BudliteSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hayley P, Marketing Director at Gorges and Little Gorges Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded June 10, 2014

Thank you so much for the lovely 5 star review and for choosing Gorges lodge for your engagement weekend! We are thrilled to hear that we were the highlight of your trip! I will pass on your lovely comments to Chris, Debbie and the team and we very much look forward to having you back one day soon! All the best from all at Imvelo Safari Lodges

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2014 via mobile

Incredible place and what a view! We stayed a night during our visit to Vic Falls and wow was it worth it. It's a fair way out of town, but the incredible views, excellent service, unique lodges (room 1 is fab!) make this a really memorable stay. The food is great too! To top it off, local villagers stop by to put on a really cool dance and singing show before dinner--it was really good! A peaceful place to relax after a visit to Victoria Falls or before Safari...

Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Londonboi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hayley P, Marketing Director at Gorges and Little Gorges Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded June 10, 2014

Thank you so much for your 5 star review! We are so glad you decided to stay a night with us on your Vic Falls trip and hope one day you will return for longer.. Our local traditional dancers love entertaining our guests and are a real highlight in the evening at Gorges, its lovely to hear that you enjoyed the show. Thank you again for taking the time to tell us about your stay! All the best from the team at Imvelo Safari Lodges

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2014

Gorges Lodge is the ideal place to stay when visiting Viictoria Falls. 20K outside the Falls it is quiet and beautiful, with lovely gardens and a small pool. Situated high above the Gorge with the rapids of the Zambezi below. Eagles fly by you while you are having a cocktail. My large room, with large bathroom and equally large walk in shower, was refurbished to a high standard, with its own balcony overlooking the Gorge. The food was very good and all the managers and staff were so helpful and friendly. Getting to and from the Falls is not a problem as they arrange transport pretty much as you require it. I highly recommend it and would stay there again.

Room Tip: make sure you get one which is refurbished - not all are at present - there is on-going programme.
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kathleen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hayley F, Marketing Manager at Gorges and Little Gorges Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded June 17, 2014

Dear Kath,

Thank you for your wonderful review of Gorges Lodge. We were very pleased to hear that you had such a great time and that you were happy with the service and staff. We look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Warm wishes from the Imvelo Team!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Victoria Falls hotels
23.6 mi away
Victoria Falls River Lodge - Zambezi Crescent
18.3 mi away
The Victoria Falls Hotel
The Victoria Falls Hotel
#6 of 16 in Victoria Falls
2,373 reviews
20.0 mi away
Victoria Falls Safari Lodge
Victoria Falls Safari Lodge
#8 of 16 in Victoria Falls
1,868 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.6 mi away
Ilala Lodge
Ilala Lodge
#7 of 16 in Victoria Falls
1,187 reviews
20.7 mi away
A'Zambezi River Lodge
A'Zambezi River Lodge
#11 of 16 in Victoria Falls
879 reviews
16.1 mi away
The Elephant Camp
The Elephant Camp
#2 of 16 in Victoria Falls
876 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gorges and Little Gorges Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gorges and Little Gorges Lodge

Address: Zambezi River Gorge, Victoria Falls, Zimbabwe
Phone Number:
Location: Zimbabwe > Matabeleland North Province > Victoria Falls
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 37 Specialty Lodging in Victoria Falls
Price Range: $654 - $735 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Gorges and Little Gorges Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gorges and Little Gorges is a mere 30 minute drive from Victoria Falls town and offers a unique Victoria Falls experience from a peaceful and idyllic base on the edge of the Batoka Gorge - a perfect choice for your Victoria Falls safari adventure! At Gorges you can relax away from the hustle and bustle of Victoria Falls town - our peaceful guest accommodation is nestled in a landscaped garden that makes walking to your room a joy, and our staff are renowned for their warm hospitality. Gorges is famous for its spectacular views, described by some as the best in southern Africa; whether you are enjoying a cup of coffee at sunrise on your private veranda or a cool refreshment by the pool at sunset, you will be constantly drawn to the stunning vistas provided by the Batoka Gorge and the rushing waters of the Zambezi River below. Little Gorges is perched on the edge of the Batoka Gorge next to main Gorges. This tented extension of Gorges overlooks the dramatic junction of the Dibu Dibu River and the Zambezi, where black eagles and lanner falcons nest in the sheer cliff faces. Construction of the luxury tents in this rugged, rocky and broken terrain necessitated careful planning and feats of engineering and is a wonderful alternative to the main Gorges chalets while still providing all the same comforts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your Gorges and Little Gorges Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gorges Hotel Victoria Falls

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing