We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Gorges and Little Gorges Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Colorado
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Wonderful staff”
Reviewed February 27, 2014

The lodge has the most amazing views. The scenery and atmosphere is outstanding. We were taken care of from the moment we arrived and the staff did everything possible to make our stay pleasant. The manager and her husband we gracious and knowledgable about the area and Zimbabwe history. The only thing that I would suggest is possibly updating some of the rooms but it is Zimbabwe and it takes awhile for change.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank willtravel72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark B, Owner at Gorges and Little Gorges Lodge, responded to this review, April 1, 2014
Thanks so much for taking the time to write the review and we are very happy to know that our staff took such good care of you, and of course that you found the scenery and atmosphere were outstanding - we really do try hard to keep Gorges the warm and friendly place for which it has a reputation .You will be pleased to know that we have just completed rebuilding 4 of the guest accommodation units, they have been thoroughly modernised particularly the bathrooms - but are still elegant and charming. The other rooms are being done one by one. When next you're in Victoria Falls we'd love to see you again!! Best wishes from the Gorges team and all of us at Imvelo Safari Lodges
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

293 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    240
    48
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
63
117
15
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2014 via mobile

This was my second stay at Gorges and for the second time I was not disappointed! An absolutely beautiful property with an amazing staff!
The view is breath taking! Sitting on the edge of the Zambei river canyon, you can look down at the river and all the gorgeous foliage! And stare across to Zambia in the morning to watch the sun rise.
The chalets are lovely and clean! Daily maid service assures all the dirt and dust tracked in the previous day is swept away so your room is always clean!
And if you return late (after dark) they go to your room and turn on your light so you do not return to a dark cottage!
What really makes Gorges the best is the service! From the managers to the groundskeepers and everyone in between, the service is phenomenal. Everyone is pleasant, courteous and extremely helpful at any hour of the day. We enjoyed out stay immensely and will surely return at the first opportunity!!
The lodge is located out of Vic Falls and I hear the road can get bad at certain times of the year, so you should check on that if you are driving yourselves.
Don't miss a stay at Gorges Lodge! You'll love it there!!!

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lulu f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hayley F, Marketing Manager at Gorges and Little Gorges Lodge, responded to this review, February 27, 2014
Dear Lulu,

Welcome back to Gorges!

Thank you so much for taking the time to write this review and thank you very much for the five stars. Of course we are thrilled you enjoyed your second stay with us - and I will pass on to our staff that you appreciated their efforts.

We would love to welcome you back for a 3rd time and really make you part of the Imvelo family.

Best wishes from the Gorges Lodge team and all of us at Imvelo Safari Lodges.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Overton, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 31, 2014

We stayed at Gorges Lodge in September 2013. It is amazing, with spectacular views over the Zambezi far below. The gardens are beautiful, and the accommodation is great. All the staff were very helpful, and we enjoyed our visit very much.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Diane C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hayley F, Marketing Manager at Gorges and Little Gorges Lodge, responded to this review, February 27, 2014
Dear Diane,

Thanks for taking the time to write this review - we are of course very happy you enjoyed your stay and it sounds like you enjoyed our setting as much as we do!! From all of the team at Gorges and Imvelo Safari Lodges - a big thank you and when next in the Falls please come and visit again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gaborone, Botswana
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 10, 2014

Inability to find the lodge on GPS, the booking agent not picking the phone, the long drive out of the town, long graveled road-all were killing my spirits. BUT that was only till i reached the reception of the lodge. The waaaarm welcome from the receptionist and the greenery surrounding the lodge washes the bitter feeling in a minute. you are taken around the lodge by the receptionist and treated with a secret welcome drink-amazing. the views from the restaurant, the bar and the chalets are exxxxxxcelent. you feel you are out of the world. nice clean pool. greenery all around. nice clean spacious chalets, very helpful and friendly managers. the best thing about this lodge is the quality of the staff and the management. They really make you feel important. if you really have to pick something negative-it is only the dinner. the choice was very limited and unfortunately what was on offer didnt suit our taste buds. also, having some air-conditioners in the bedrooms might be a good idea.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Devaprasad A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hayley F, Marketing Manager at Gorges and Little Gorges Lodge, responded to this review, February 27, 2014
Dear Devaprasad A,

Thank you so much for your review - we are so glad you loved the lodge as much as we do! The view from the Gorge puts a smile on our face every time.

We have taken your constructive critcism onboard, thank you - we always strive to improve the experience for our guests. We are undertaking a major refurb at the Gorges this year, so hopefully you can come back again and enjoy the Gorges hospitality!

Warm regards,

The Imvelo team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2014 via mobile

The road leading to the lodge will question your choice in accommodation, as you enter the gate you can clearly see the mystery and experience to come. The location, quality and friendliness was was well above our expectations. This place is a must when visiting Victoria Falls.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Gerald D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark B, Owner at Gorges and Little Gorges Lodge, responded to this review, January 9, 2014
Hi Gerald. Thank you for taking the time to write this great review. The recent good rains whilst a welcome respite to all of us did 'muddy up' the road. However it is drying up nicely and as we always say "the view at Gorges Lodge is well worth the drive!" When next you're in Victoria Falls we'd love to have you stay again. Best wishes from the Gorges lodge team and all of us at Imvelo Safari Lodges
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Verona, Italy
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2014

This is the third year we've been at Gorgeous. The lodge is just in the best location to enjoy the greatest view of the gorge. You may want to experience such an amazing view while having a romantic dinner at the restaurant, having breakfast in the cottage of your room or while enjoying a pleasant gin & tonic at the bar. Rooms are lovely, comfortable and clean, the food and service is excellent whereas the directors are so kind and friendly that make you feel at home. This is a "must" place to stay while visiting Victoria Falls.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fabio_FV77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark B, Owner at Gorges and Little Gorges Lodge, responded to this review, January 9, 2014
Hi Fabio, thanks for taking the time with this great review . We loved having you back again at Gorges Lodge and please know that you will always be very welcome should you be able to return. Thankyou again and best wishes from your friends at Gorges and all of the Imvelo Safari Lodges team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 11, 2013

We stayed at this quirky hotel while visiting Victoria Falls and had a great time. The 30minute drive from the town is actually a bonus, you drive through bush past authentic villages. But the real attraction here is the the Gorge. you are literally on the gorge, every room is a self contained unit with its own million dollar view! Run by friendly owners ask directions for the short walk to their spring, a lovely bonus to a very special place

Room Tip: No such thing as a bad room here. Every room is situated right on the edge of the gorge
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark B, Owner at Gorges and Little Gorges Lodge, responded to this review, December 17, 2013
Hi Carin - thanks for taking the time with this review and we are of course very happy you enjoyed Gorges lodge - as you correctly say it's all about the view, and the 30 minute drive does give a fascinatingand different perspective from the tourism in town. Once again thanks and when next you are in Vic Falls we'd love to have you stay with us again. All the best from the Gorges lodge and all of us at Imvelo Safari Lodges
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Victoria Falls hotels
18.3 mi away
The Victoria Falls Hotel
The Victoria Falls Hotel
#6 of 16 in Victoria Falls
2,328 reviews
23.6 mi away
Victoria Falls River Lodge - Zambezi Crescent
20.0 mi away
Victoria Falls Safari Lodge
Victoria Falls Safari Lodge
#7 of 16 in Victoria Falls
1,822 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.7 mi away
A'Zambezi River Lodge
A'Zambezi River Lodge
#10 of 16 in Victoria Falls
851 reviews
18.6 mi away
Ilala Lodge
Ilala Lodge
#8 of 16 in Victoria Falls
1,162 reviews
19.1 mi away
Batonka Guest Lodge
Batonka Guest Lodge
#1 of 16 in Victoria Falls
329 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gorges and Little Gorges Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gorges and Little Gorges Lodge

Property: Gorges and Little Gorges Lodge
Address: Zambezi River Gorge, Victoria Falls, Zimbabwe
Phone Number:
Location: Zimbabwe > Matabeleland North Province > Victoria Falls
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 37 Specialty Lodging in Victoria Falls
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Gorges and Little Gorges Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gorges and Little Gorges is a mere 30 minute drive from Victoria Falls town and offers a unique Victoria Falls experience from a peaceful and idyllic base on the edge of the Batoka Gorge - a perfect choice for your Victoria Falls safari adventure! At Gorges you can relax away from the hustle and bustle of Victoria Falls town - our peaceful guest accommodation is nestled in a landscaped garden that makes walking to your room a joy, and our staff are renowned for their warm hospitality. Gorges is famous for its spectacular views, described by some as the best in southern Africa; whether you are enjoying a cup of coffee at sunrise on your private veranda or a cool refreshment by the pool at sunset, you will be constantly drawn to the stunning vistas provided by the Batoka Gorge and the rushing waters of the Zambezi River below. Little Gorges is perched on the edge of the Batoka Gorge next to main Gorges. This tented extension of Gorges overlooks the dramatic junction of the Dibu Dibu River and the Zambezi, where black eagles and lanner falcons nest in the sheer cliff faces. Construction of the luxury tents in this rugged, rocky and broken terrain necessitated careful planning and feats of engineering and is a wonderful alternative to the main Gorges chalets while still providing all the same comforts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your Gorges and Little Gorges Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gorges Hotel Victoria Falls

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing