We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gorgeous”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Gorges and Little Gorges Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 9, 2013

My wife and I spent two nights at gorgeous Gorges and were awed by the view of the Zambezi as well as the superb and beautiful location away from the hustle of the town of Victoria Falls. We appreciated the level of service and the attention to detail and the offer to get our car wash after driving the dusty road to Gorges. It's a drive well worth it, though!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brian G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark B, Owner at Gorges and Little Gorges Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded November 18, 2013

Hi Brian - thank you for taking the time to write this great review and we are obviously very happy that you also enjoyed our little paradise away from the hustle of Victoria Falls town. All the best from our 'Gorgeous' team and all of us at Imvelo Safari Lodges.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (302)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

177 - 183 of 302 reviews

Reviewed October 4, 2013

Recently I stayed at Gorges Lodge for three nights. This was tacked onto the end of my stay in Africa after completing a 27 day overland safari. The views from the lodge are just breath taking not to mention the amazing sunrises. The staff are so friendly and accommodating. It is a place to relax and take in your moments in Africa and a great place to stay whilst enjoying the many activities in Victoria Falls. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nicole F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark B, Owner at Gorges and Little Gorges Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded October 7, 2013

Hi Nicole - thanks for this 5 star review - we are very happy you chose us as the spot to relax at the end of your 27 day safari and of course that you enjoyed Gorges Lodge so much, we too think it a great place to stay when visiting and enjoying Victoria Falls! Best wishes from the Gorges lodge team and all of us at Imvelo Safari Lodges.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2013

Big rooms that are newly redone. Great for families. Close to attractions but off the beating path to be exclusive! Amazing! Amazing! views from almost everywhere you stand!!
The staff was very friendly and they even had a small gift shop with locally made treasures.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kari r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark B, Owner at Gorges and Little Gorges Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded October 7, 2013

Hi Kari. Thanks for this great review and of course you are quite right - off the beaten path but close enough to the attractions to enjoy them and amazing views wherever you look - pretty much sums it up!! A big thank you from the Gorges Lodge team and all of us at Imvelo Safari Lodges.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2013

Gorges Lodge is a beautiful peaceful haven out of the hub bub of central Victoria Falls. Your hosts will make sure that your every need is satisfied. The view of the massive gorge awaits you at every waking minute and the rushing water down below lulls you to sleep at night. all your entertainment and viewing in the Victoria Falls will be taken care of expertly. The lodge s are super comfortable with big bathroom/ shower and toilet, lovely verandah, fans and very clean. The staff work around you so efficiently that you hardly notice them and when you sip that cocktail from the deck by the bar overlooking the gorge you will think you are in heaven. black eagles are seen daily . highly recommended of you like peace and quiet.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lyn P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark B, Owner at Gorges and Little Gorges Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded October 7, 2013

Hi Lyn, thank you very much for taking the time to write this great review - it was so good to see you at Gorges again. And of course you will be very welcome again to come and enjoy our 'Peace and Tranquility' when next you are in Victoria Falls. Best wishes from the Gorges lodge team and all of us at Imvelo Safari Lodges

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2013

For those of you who don't know Zimblish 'Mushe Sterek' means outstanding. I recently took a group of five to Gorges and we had a superb stay, thanks to Debz and team for making the trip really worthwhile. I add that I have been conducting safaris for over 20years and the attention to detail and personal service of this camp was among the best I have witnessed in Africa.

Room Tip: Fitness center involves walking to the bottom of the gorge each day, will definately help cardio.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steve T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hayley F, Marketing Manager at Gorges and Little Gorges Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded September 17, 2013

Dear Steve T,

Thank you for your very unique and original description of your stay at Gorges Lodge!

Our team constantly strive to make our guests have a truly memorable and special time when they come to Gorges and your comments regarding our attention to detail and personal service being among the best you have “witnessed in Africa” confirms that our hard work is paying off - thank you for these kind words.

We look forward to welcoming you back on your next African safari.

All the best,

The Gorges Lodge team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2013

You took such care of our elderly Mum, in a fantastic setting Nothing was too much trouble for the staff and you arranged a special diet for her. We had a very special time together and it meant so much to us all. So a big thank you to all the staff at Gorges. It is a magic place, a real piece of paradise.

Room Tip: Just ask the staff, they are so helpful in sorting out your requirements.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hillary M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hayley F, Marketing Manager at Gorges and Little Gorges Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded September 17, 2013

Dear Hillary M,

We are so happy that we were able to help make your stay with your mum a special one, it was simply a pleasure to help!

Please take care and we would love to welcome you back any time. Send our love to your mum.

Best wishes,

The Gorges Lodge team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2013

This place was amazing and very unique in Vic Falls. It's only a small lodge and therefore feels very homely and welcoming. The service was faultless. The staff made us feel most welcome and were always on hand to help. Food and drink was very reasonable, even the fully stocked minibar. Our first night we were treated to a traditional dance that was more exciting and authentic than any I have seen. The lodge may be 30-40 mins from town but they offer transport to suit your plans and are very helpful with any changes you may need. Plus the drive out there takes you through truly African rural villages which you do not get anywhere else in Vic Falls.

We can't recommend this enough.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jimmy b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark B, Owner at Gorges and Little Gorges Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded September 8, 2013

Hi Jimmy - thanks for this great review.We're very happy the two of you enjoyed your stay with us. Of course you are right the fact that we are outside of Vic Falls town is actually an advantage, our guests can experience a little more reality and still get spoiled by our staff. When next you are in the Falls please come and visit again - best wishes from the Gorges team and all of us at Imvelo Safari Lodges.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Victoria Falls hotels
23.6 mi away
Victoria Falls River Lodge - Zambezi Crescent
20.0 mi away
Victoria Falls Safari Lodge
Victoria Falls Safari Lodge
#8 of 16 in Victoria Falls
1,911 reviews
18.3 mi away
The Victoria Falls Hotel
The Victoria Falls Hotel
#7 of 16 in Victoria Falls
2,423 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.7 mi away
A'Zambezi River Lodge
A'Zambezi River Lodge
#11 of 16 in Victoria Falls
895 reviews
18.6 mi away
Ilala Lodge
Ilala Lodge
#6 of 16 in Victoria Falls
1,208 reviews
16.1 mi away
The Elephant Camp
The Elephant Camp
#2 of 16 in Victoria Falls
888 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gorges and Little Gorges Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gorges and Little Gorges Lodge

Address: Zambezi River Gorge, Victoria Falls, Zimbabwe
Phone Number:
Location: Zimbabwe > Matabeleland North Province > Victoria Falls
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 38 Specialty Lodging in Victoria Falls
Price Range: $660 - $735 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Gorges and Little Gorges Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gorges and Little Gorges is a mere 30 minute drive from Victoria Falls town and offers a unique Victoria Falls experience from a peaceful and idyllic base on the edge of the Batoka Gorge - a perfect choice for your Victoria Falls safari adventure! At Gorges you can relax away from the hustle and bustle of Victoria Falls town - our peaceful guest accommodation is nestled in a landscaped garden that makes walking to your room a joy, and our staff are renowned for their warm hospitality. Gorges is famous for its spectacular views, described by some as the best in southern Africa; whether you are enjoying a cup of coffee at sunrise on your private veranda or a cool refreshment by the pool at sunset, you will be constantly drawn to the stunning vistas provided by the Batoka Gorge and the rushing waters of the Zambezi River below. Little Gorges is perched on the edge of the Batoka Gorge next to main Gorges. This tented extension of Gorges overlooks the dramatic junction of the Dibu Dibu River and the Zambezi, where black eagles and lanner falcons nest in the sheer cliff faces. Construction of the luxury tents in this rugged, rocky and broken terrain necessitated careful planning and feats of engineering and is a wonderful alternative to the main Gorges chalets while still providing all the same comforts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your Gorges and Little Gorges Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gorges Hotel Victoria Falls

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing