We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Birds and views, comfort and service: all excellent!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Gorges and Little Gorges Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
“Birds and views, comfort and service: all excellent!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2013

We stayed 7 nights at Gorges in July 2013, using the lodge as a base for our survey of raptors along the Batoka Gorge. We were warmly welcomed by the gracious Beatrice on our arrival, and from then until our early morning departure, we experienced outstanding, friendly and well-informed service throughout our visit. We had to drag ourselves away from the lodge each day that we worked in different areas of the gorge, and thoroughly enjoyed the little time we spent lounging at our very comfortable chalets, drinking in the incredible views and spectacular birdlife. Can't recommend this venue highly enough! Andrew J.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AndrewJenkins2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hayley F, Marketing Manager at Gorges and Little Gorges Lodge, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
Dear Andrew,

We were privileged to have been able to host you and the rest of your team whilst you were carrying out your raptor survey in the gorge. Many thanks for your kind and thoughtful comments about the staff at the lodge, I will be sure to pass them along.

It sure sounds like you found the view and settings at Gorges as spectacular as we do – do come and stay with us again so that we may have the honour of calling you a regular!

Kindest regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

277 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    225
    47
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
57
113
15
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2013

My husband and I stayed here two nights before our safaris in Botswana.
The lodge is some 20 min from Victoria Falls and is really on a gorge; the bar, restaurant and also the rooms are directly on the Zambezi river canyon and the views are stunning!
The whole place (from the bar to the rooms) is very nice and constitutes a perfect place for just relaxing or exploring the area. The the "out of town" location is not a problem as there is a driver always available.
The owners and all the staff are very kind (they also gave us a mobile phone for calling the driver while on tours).
We warmly recommend this place and we will definitely stay here again when in town!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank paolaMunich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark B, Owner at Gorges and Little Gorges Lodge, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Hi Paola. Thanks for the 5 stars! We are very happy you and your husband enjoyed your stay at Gorges and most importantly that you would stay with us again if you returned to Victoria Falls. A great compliment thank you and we hope it will be soon! All the best from the Gorges team and all of us at Imvelo Safari Lodges
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gouda, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2013

We stayed 3 nights, with 3 kids (10-14yrs) and we all loved it. Very friendly staff, good service, neat, good food and last but not least...the views. Sitting 200m above the mighty Zambezi with a cold beer in your hand watching the eagles and (less spectactular) the lizzards is truly amazing. The pool was in 'maintenance', that was a bit of a bummer but it did not spoil the fun at all. Thanks for all the hospitality and wish you son luck in far-away Malaysia.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank niels a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark B, Owner at Gorges and Little Gorges Lodge, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Hi Nils. Thanks for taking the time with this great review, and very glad you and your family enjoyed Gorges lodge. Our most sincere apologies that your kids couldn't swim, but of course the good news is that our pool now that it is repainted looks beautiful! Next time you are in Victoria Falls please visit again we'd love to see you all. Best wishes from the Gorges team and all of us at Imvelo Safari Lodges
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boca raton
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

Our stay at The Gorges Lodge was fantastic. The rooms were very cozy and the views were perfect. The staff and management did a wonderful job and our stay was the perfect ending to an amazing trip to Zimbabwe. The birding is great and the grounds are so well kept the pictures do not do it justice.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank peaks8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark B, Owner at Gorges and Little Gorges Lodge, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Thankyou for this great review and we are very glad you enjoyed your stay. And please when next you are in Vic Falls come and visit again. Best wishes from the Gorges Lodge team and Imvelo Safari Lodges
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
49 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2013

I couldnt have said it better than Lulu the previous reviewer !.
We were 2 couples who decided to stay here for 8 nights before a 6 week self drive around Namibia. Mainly to recharge our batteries before Namibia, and obviously to see the Falls.
My wife and I had been to Victoria Falls a number of times in the distant past and always stayed in town.
Well we had the most magnificent time at the Gorges, from the people to the Chalets to the meals, all was perfect. We had Chalets No 9 and 10 and are into our 60,s, but found it easy walking to the rooms. In fact the walk thru the gardens spotting the birds and animals was worth doing regardless.
Chalet No10 had the most privacy, with its own little viewing area, as at the end, but No 9 had the best view of the 2. However they are all good.
We had also pre-arranged a local school visit and took soccer balls and school stationary and met the local children. What a great job the teachers do with so little infrastructure. So if you can help on your next visit they would really appreciate that.
We also did the Chobe Day trip, excellent and a great way to see Chobe and avoid the crowds staying there !.
The shuttle into/out of town worked well and was always waiting for us where/when we asked. So transport into town was not an issue.
The 9 days seemed to fly and we are so glad we chose to stay here.
Waking up each morning to that view is something that will stay with us forever.
Imvelo lodges, Debbie, Chris, and Sjaan, you are legends !.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MelbourneBazza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark B, Owner at Gorges and Little Gorges Lodge, responded to this review, July 6, 2013
We enjoyed this great review too. We are very glad you enjoyed your stay and great that you took the time to stay a little longer "and smell the roses" . Also on behalf of the kids you helped at our schools - thank you. We sincerely hope your trip around Namibia was as enjoyable after getting off to such a great start! From all of us at Imvelo Safari Lodges our very best wishes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2013

Truly a magnificent place to stay!

The setting is beautiful and the chalets are lovely (clean and just private enough)-each with its own patio overlooking the gorge! I felt lazy to not even have to get out of bed to watch the sun rise! But what or rather who really makes this the place to stay are the people!!
Debbie and Chris do a fabulous job of running Gorges Lodge; they keep the grounds and buildings immaculate, but their warm and friendly personalities are what you make feel so welcome and at home. And it doesn't stop there; their daughter Karry is just as sweet and personable. The staff follows their lead perfectly; they are all professional, courteous and friendly!!
Debbie and Chris invited my father and I to their home to see Debbie call in a black eagle and his mate for a feeding-what fabulous photos!! Karry took my dad and I on multiple trips; smiling the entire wet walk of Victoria Falls! She also took me for a hike down the canyon to the Zambezi River!! I am not in shape, but she was very patient and let me take my time going both down and up (and up was NOT easy!!). Beza and Phineas were very sweet in trying to assist me in my Ndebele pronunciation! And Phineas was very helpful in getting the chef to make me sadza/isitshwala when I made the request (over and over and over). Conrad proved to be a very professional and timely driver; I always felt safe as he transported us from one place to another day after day. Everyone is so helpful and answers your questions as if it is the first time they have ever been asked when you know they have heard the same questions thousands of times! But every answer comes with fresh enthusiam and a smile!
I thoroughly enjoyed my visit in Victoria Falls and all the people were very nice, but there is no way I would stay anywhere but Gorges Lodge! The setting, the facilities, the PEOPLE=perfection!!! Obviously I am a people person and you can take the most beautiful place like Gorges and put it in the most beautiful location like the edge of a cliff at the top of a canyon with the Zambezi flowing below and have good food and all the proper amenities (mini bar in room, coffee/tea in room, nice dining area, nice bar, nice pool, nice grounds) but without the right people it's just a nice building in a nice place. Gorges Lodge is a nice building(s) in a beautiful place with spectacular people and those people (Debbie, Chris, Karry, Phineas, Beza, Conrad, etc.) make all the difference! Do yourself and all your travelling companions a favor: stay at Gorges Lodge when you go to Victoria Falls!!!! You won't be sorry!

Room Tip: Rooms 1,2 and 9, 10 are further from the bar and dining area thus requiring a little more walking an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lulu f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark B, Owner at Gorges and Little Gorges Lodge, responded to this review, July 6, 2013
Hi Lulu, We really enjoyed reading your review - thank you. You are very right there are many special things about Gorges Lodge, of course the setting and the lodge itself - but warmth and hospitality are becoming our bye words. Our staff thank you and appreciate your compliments. Best wishes from your friends at Gorges lodge and the Imvelo team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Lawley, Western Australia, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2013

This place is a little slice of heaven away from the business of Vic Falls Town. The views from the dining area, bar, lounge and the villas are jaw dropping. The grounds are maintained beautifully and are lush and green. The villa itself was beautiful, clean and had an authentic african feel. French doors opening out onto the view of the gorges and river. Beds were comfortable. I wouldn't say the rooms are close to
Five star but they are lovely bathrooms are very clean but
I wouldnt describe as luxurious. Transfers to and from the lodge to hotel are easy to arrange and are done by the lovely Conrad. All staff are very accommodating and friendly in every way. I travelled there alone and felt very safe. Dinners I would describe as 'homely cooking' and breakfast is a cooked breakfast plus continental. I would definitely return and plan on doing so in the future!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Erin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark B, Owner at Gorges and Little Gorges Lodge, responded to this review, July 6, 2013
Erin, Thanks for taking the time with this super review. You put it quite right - Gorges Lodge is a little slice of heaven, away from all of the business of Vic Falls Town. Best wishes from all of the team at Gorges lodge and Imvelo Safari lodges
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Victoria Falls hotels
20.2 mi away
Victoria Falls Safari Lodge
Victoria Falls Safari Lodge
#7 of 16 in Victoria Falls
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,694 reviews
18.5 mi away
The Victoria Falls Hotel
The Victoria Falls Hotel
#6 of 16 in Victoria Falls
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,189 reviews
23.8 mi away
Victoria Falls River Lodge - Zambezi Crescent
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.0 mi away
A'Zambezi River Lodge
A'Zambezi River Lodge
#12 of 16 in Victoria Falls
4.0 of 5 bubbles 808 reviews
20.3 mi away
Victoria Falls Safari Club
Victoria Falls Safari Club
#4 of 16 in Victoria Falls
5.0 of 5 bubbles 363 reviews
16.3 mi away
The Elephant Camp
The Elephant Camp
#2 of 16 in Victoria Falls
5.0 of 5 bubbles 799 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gorges and Little Gorges Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gorges and Little Gorges Lodge

Property: Gorges and Little Gorges Lodge
Address: Zambezi River Gorge, Victoria Falls, Zimbabwe
Phone Number:
Location: Zimbabwe > Matabeleland North Province > Victoria Falls
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 35 Specialty Lodging in Victoria Falls
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Gorges and Little Gorges Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gorges and Little Gorges is a mere 30 minute drive from Victoria Falls town and offers a unique Victoria Falls experience from a peaceful and idyllic base on the edge of the Batoka Gorge - a perfect choice for your Victoria Falls safari adventure! At Gorges you can relax away from the hustle and bustle of Victoria Falls town - our peaceful guest accommodation is nestled in a landscaped garden that makes walking to your room a joy, and our staff are renowned for their warm hospitality. Gorges is famous for its spectacular views, described by some as the best in southern Africa; whether you are enjoying a cup of coffee at sunrise on your private veranda or a cool refreshment by the pool at sunset, you will be constantly drawn to the stunning vistas provided by the Batoka Gorge and the rushing waters of the Zambezi River below. Little Gorges is perched on the edge of the Batoka Gorge next to main Gorges. This tented extension of Gorges overlooks the dramatic junction of the Dibu Dibu River and the Zambezi, where black eagles and lanner falcons nest in the sheer cliff faces. Construction of the luxury tents in this rugged, rocky and broken terrain necessitated careful planning and feats of engineering and is a wonderful alternative to the main Gorges chalets while still providing all the same comforts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your Gorges and Little Gorges Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gorges Hotel Victoria Falls

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing