We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spectacular setting.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Gorges and Little Gorges Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 6, 2013 via mobile

The hotel is set in most spectacular surroundings overlooking the Zambezie River , which lies hundreds of metres immediately below the hotel site. The view is breathtaking ,enjoyed both from the bar/ dining areas and the individual chalets. The manager was most hospitable, treating us to the sight of Black Eagles feeding at close quarters .

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alec D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hayley F, Marketing Manager at Gorges and Little Gorges Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded April 16, 2013

Dear Alec D,

Thank you very much for choosing to stay at Gorges Lodge. It was a pleasure to host you, and thank you for taking your time to give us your feedback.

We are thrilled that you loved the surroundings at Gorges – they are quite unique and one never tires of those spectacular views! We’re glad you enjoyed the black eagle feeding activity – one doesn’t quite realise what magnificent creatures they are until you see them up close! We hope you managed to get some good photos of them to show your friends!

Please take care of yourself and we hope you will visit us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (297)
There are newer reviews for Gorges and Little Gorges Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

201 - 207 of 297 reviews

Reviewed March 27, 2013

Had an amazing time with a group of friends. A lovely welcome smile from the staff. Views breath taking, overlooking the Zambezi, great service, lovely food. I would recommend it to anyone, a lovely break away.

Room Tip: Honeymoon suite has double bed.
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lilian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hayley F, Marketing Manager at Gorges and Little Gorges Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded April 16, 2013

Dear Lilian C,

Thank you for your preference in choosing Gorges Lodge, part of the Imvelo Safari Lodges portfolio.

We are delighted with your kind words; ‘great service’, ‘lovely food’, ‘lovely break away’– I will be sure to pass these comments on to our team at the lodge, where they would love to welcome you back with more big smiles in the future!

On behalf of the Gorges Lodge team, thank you very much for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2013

Over looking the gorge in tranquil setting. Good price, good food, comfortable well appointed room. Friendly staff. Would go again. Great friendly driver to and from activities. I wish I had known about special African dinner in town and would of done that for one night instead of gorges. Check your tour books. I would also recommend touring the falls yourself and not book a "tour" for that.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mutzelBerkeley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark B, Owner at Gorges and Little Gorges Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded April 9, 2013

Thanks very much for taking the time to do this review . We're very happy to hear our staff took good care of you and you enjoyed both our lodge and its tranquil setting. When next you are back in Victoria Falls we'd love you to stay again. All the best from Gorges lodge and Imvelo Safari Lodges.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2013

We booked all the rooms. A party of 23 or 24. My first time back at the falls in about 5 years. It was spendid. The views are breathtaking, the service great, the meals great and affordable. We greeted 2013 at the Lodge. Exhausted but happy to be there.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Audrey Sithabil... M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark B, Owner at Gorges and Little Gorges Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded March 20, 2013

Hi - thanks for the 5 Stars! We are all very happy your group enjoyed Gorges so much and of course we hope 2013 will be a great year for you. Thank you from the Gorges team and Imvelo Safari Lodges.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2013

What a wonderful welcome we received on our arrival, after travelling a long and dusty road! And what a view!

We were so impressed with the friendliness of the whole management and staff team; always ready to assist with a smile.

The rooms were delightful, the pool and gardens very well kept.

Food was tasty and drinks not too expensive.

Thanks to all concerned - will definitely be recommending this one!

Room Tip: All the rooms are great.
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AnniedPretoria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark B, Owner at Gorges and Little Gorges Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded March 20, 2013

Hi - thanks for taking the time to do this review and thank you very much for the 5 stars! We're thrilled you enjoyed 'Gorgeous Gorges' and sounds like our team tried hard to spoil you. When next you're in Victoria Falls, we'd love to have you back! Thanks again from all of us at Imvelo Safari Lodges!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2013

We stayed at the Gorges Lodge just after Christmas 2012. We wanted to get away from Vic Falls for a few days as we were between overland trips that departed on the 29th December. It is a 40 minute journey to the Gorges but they have a regular car service that if you need to get to town they will take you. The Gorges was fantastic. Had the most friendly and helpful staff we had encountered in the whole of Africa. From the bar and restaurant to the gardener to Beatrice the manager everyone was exceptionally nice and helpful. Nothing was too much. We got a little sick while we were there and the restaurant were very accommodating with supplying bland food that would help us recover. Scenery outstanding, walks magnificent and lovely accommodation.
Thank you to Debbie and all the staff.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dazza1068
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark B, Owner at Gorges and Little Gorges Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded February 25, 2013

Thank you so much for taking the time to write this review and thank you very much for the five stars. Of course we are thrilled you enjoyed your stay - and I will pass on to our staff that you appreciated their efforts. If you are ever back in Zim and particularly in the Falls we'd love to see you again. Best wishes from the Gorges Lodge team and all of us at Imvelo Safari Lodges.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2013

We stayed at Gorges Lodge for 3 nights. We were greeted with some juice at the bar, overlooking the most spectacular river gorge I have ever seen. Our chalet was based on the tip of the Gorge looking down upon the river raging below. We were based about 20km away from the Victoria Falls town, so going out to town wasnt much of an option, but we had a driver who was more than accommodating when driving us to the town and waiting whenever we needed to grab food or a few things. The staff were definately what made our stay even more pleasant. They took care of us like I cannot describe. Definately would advise anyone to go!!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hash28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hayley F, Marketing Manager at Gorges and Little Gorges Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded January 29, 2013

Hi there,

Thank you for your preference in choosing Gorges Lodge, part of the Imvelo Safari Lodges group, for your recent stay in the magnificent Victoria Falls.

We are delighted you gave us a 5 star rating on Trip Advisor, thank you! It truly made our day to read all your glowing comments, particularly about our accommodating staff. It is hearing uplifting feedback like this that helps them to continue to deliver exceptional and friendly service to all of our guests.

We look forward to seeing you again next time you visit Zimbabwe and if I can be of any assistance in the future please feel free to contact me directly on marketing@imvelosafarilodges.com

Warm wishes from all of us at Imvelo Safari Lodges!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Victoria Falls hotels
23.6 mi away
Victoria Falls River Lodge - Zambezi Crescent
18.3 mi away
The Victoria Falls Hotel
The Victoria Falls Hotel
#6 of 16 in Victoria Falls
2,373 reviews
20.0 mi away
Victoria Falls Safari Lodge
Victoria Falls Safari Lodge
#8 of 16 in Victoria Falls
1,868 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.6 mi away
Ilala Lodge
Ilala Lodge
#7 of 16 in Victoria Falls
1,187 reviews
20.7 mi away
A'Zambezi River Lodge
A'Zambezi River Lodge
#11 of 16 in Victoria Falls
879 reviews
16.1 mi away
The Elephant Camp
The Elephant Camp
#2 of 16 in Victoria Falls
876 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gorges and Little Gorges Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gorges and Little Gorges Lodge

Address: Zambezi River Gorge, Victoria Falls, Zimbabwe
Phone Number:
Location: Zimbabwe > Matabeleland North Province > Victoria Falls
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 37 Specialty Lodging in Victoria Falls
Price Range: $654 - $735 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Gorges and Little Gorges Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gorges and Little Gorges is a mere 30 minute drive from Victoria Falls town and offers a unique Victoria Falls experience from a peaceful and idyllic base on the edge of the Batoka Gorge - a perfect choice for your Victoria Falls safari adventure! At Gorges you can relax away from the hustle and bustle of Victoria Falls town - our peaceful guest accommodation is nestled in a landscaped garden that makes walking to your room a joy, and our staff are renowned for their warm hospitality. Gorges is famous for its spectacular views, described by some as the best in southern Africa; whether you are enjoying a cup of coffee at sunrise on your private veranda or a cool refreshment by the pool at sunset, you will be constantly drawn to the stunning vistas provided by the Batoka Gorge and the rushing waters of the Zambezi River below. Little Gorges is perched on the edge of the Batoka Gorge next to main Gorges. This tented extension of Gorges overlooks the dramatic junction of the Dibu Dibu River and the Zambezi, where black eagles and lanner falcons nest in the sheer cliff faces. Construction of the luxury tents in this rugged, rocky and broken terrain necessitated careful planning and feats of engineering and is a wonderful alternative to the main Gorges chalets while still providing all the same comforts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your Gorges and Little Gorges Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gorges Hotel Victoria Falls

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing