We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“PV”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Gorges and Little Gorges Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Exeter
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“PV”
Reviewed November 16, 2012

The location of Gorges lodge is one of the most spectacular in Southern Africa. Located on the edge of the Gorge with amazing views and complete peace and quiet. None of the helicoptes buzzing overhead which nowadays is all you can hear if you are in Vic Falls town. Yet Gorges is only a short ride into Victoria Falls to take advanatge of all the usual amenities and activities. A must stay for anyone visiting the Falls regardless of how well they know the area. Unlike the bigger hotels the personal service of Gorges is fantastic, Debbie & Chris run a professional operation welcoming everyone from around the globe. Can't wait to go back...

Room Tip: They are all fantastic but if you find walking difficult and do not have a car then ask for a room c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicholas V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark B, Owner at Gorges and Little Gorges Lodge, responded to this review, November 18, 2012
Hi PV, It was good to have you visit us again and good to meet your friend - thanks for this great review and when next you are planning to be in the Falls please come back and enjoy the lodge, and cheers for now from all of us at Gorges and Imvelo Safari Lodges
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

281 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    228
    48
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
57
116
15
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tulare, California
Level Contributor
36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2012

We brought a group of 21 through Vic Falls spending 2 nights in town and the last night at Gorges Lodge. But one night was not enough! The quiet peacefulness of this oasis at the edge of the gorge had us all wishing we had booked another night. In addition to the spectacular view of the gorge from every building the facilities were well maintained, the staff were friendly and accommodating and the food was delicious.

Upon arrival, managers Debbie and Chris brought us into the bar for welcome juice as we checked in. We were then invited out to the conference center (also on the gorge) to watch as Debbie fed two gorgeous black eagles while Chris engaged our group in lively conversation, answering all our questions about the area. Before dinner, we were invited to watch a local group (comprised of children from the surrounding villages) perform traditional song and dance. The kids were very good and had our group on their feet dancing and clapping along with the music. After dinner we had an early night, wanting to wake up for sunrise over the gorge - we were not disappointed, it was a lovely as we imagined.

Thank you Gorges Lodge for a wonderful stay. We will be back!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travelologists
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hayley F, Manager at Gorges and Little Gorges Lodge, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
Thank you for your lovely comments about Gorges lodge, and we are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us. Its good to hear that you enjoyed our traditional dancers' preformance, and even more wondeful to hear that you joined in! There is definitely a certain charm about Gorges that always keeps people coming back, so we hope to have you visit us again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
2 reviews
Reviewed September 16, 2012

Gorges has got to be one of the most unique and breathtaking places I have ever stayed. Our room had an amazing view of the gorge and the zambezi river. It was cleaned daily and the staff kept our mini fridge stocked with drinks so we could have sundowners on our own verander just meters from the edge of the gorge. You walk through a beautifull lush green garden to get from your room to the main bar and dinning area where we had our meals. Food was good and the staff polite and eager to please. If I visit Zimbabwe again I would definately stay there again. If you happen to be in and around the falls I highly recommend you fit at least one nights stay into your travel plans. Its worth it based on the view alone.
The lodge is about a 20 minute drive from the main Victoria Falls town so make sure you arrange transport to get there. We quite enjoyed the fact is was a little bit out of town so we could unwind and get away from the rest of the crowd.

Room Tip: Pre arrange transport to and from the lodge or hire a car.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Grant J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark B, Owner at Gorges and Little Gorges Lodge, responded to this review, September 19, 2012
Hi Grant, thanks for staying with us and thanks for this great review - we are all real happy your wedding trip was such a success and your family and friends enjoyed - big congrats to you and Claire form all of us at Gorges and Imvelo Safari Lodges
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyderabad, India
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2012

Gorges Lodge lives up to its name and is truly unique with a spectacular view! Its only about a 20-30 minute drive from Victoria Falls, but makes up for the distance with its stunning views, and pleasant staff.

The rooms are spacious and clean and you can hear the Zambezi flowing hundreds of feet below you. Nothing beats watching the sun rise over the gorge while sipping coffee outside of your room, just a few feet from the cliff! Breakfast was equally pleasant and the staff were especially kind. Also the value for the lodging is superior to any of the oevrpriced places in Victoria Falls.

I think the pictures I'm attaching will do more justice to the place than my words...

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Omar F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark B, Owner at Gorges and Little Gorges Lodge, responded to this review, September 12, 2012
Hi Omar, thank you very much for this review, it was great to meet you and your family, and of course we are very happy you enjoyed yourselves. We wish you good luck in your new assignment and hope to see you back here in Zim again one day. Best wishes from all of the Imvelo team both at Gorges and Bomani
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richardson, Texas
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2012

Not only is the view of the Zambezi river absolutely breathtaking, but the staff makes you feel perfectly at home. The food was scrumptious and the cottage was very comfy. I could have spent days just exploring the lush grounds. The lodge is a short drive from Victoria Falls, but remote enough to feel like you are in the bush.

Most of our fantastic Zimbabwe adventure was spent in slightly more rustic lodges. We enjoyed them immensely, but it was a delight to spend the last night in Zimbabwe somewhere a bit more plush.

Falling asleep to the sound of the Zambezi rushing far below was enchanting.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank susanad813
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark B, Owner at Gorges and Little Gorges Lodge, responded to this review, September 9, 2012
Hi Susan - thanks for this review glad you enjoyed the lodge and incidentally your Black
Eagle photos are still the best we've had so far - if you get a chance try upload a few here - thanks again and cheers for now
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dar es Salaam, Tanzania
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2012

We recently stayed at the Gorges Lodge on the Zim side. First off, the lodge is a 30-40 minute drive from the border/falls, so really is not near Vic Falls. The view of the lodge is absolutely stunning though, but you must make time to soak this in. Also, it isreally essential to have a car. We came up for the Zim/Vic Falls half-marathon. The lodge advertised that they had transport to the town, but this was not the case and taxis were 15USD per person per ride. A few days prior to our visit, an agent from the Gorges called to confirm that we were coming and said they would be charging our card. We arrivedrather late in the evening, and instead of being welcomed, payment was the first thing brought up. We told them about the call, but there seemed to be a lot of confusion on their side, and really took away from the experience. The next morning, this was the first question as well. The staff at the lodge was fantastic, particularly the wait servers. Very high attention to detail and kind, but the manager of the lodge could have really used more work in customer service. This is a pretty high end place, and this is really not the way to treat clients. Based on this I would not return.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cmarona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark B, Owner at Gorges and Little Gorges Lodge, responded to this review, September 14, 2012
Hi Cmarona,
Many thanks for your honest crit of Gorges Lodge. We welcome constructive criticism as this is the only way to see through the eyes of our guests so we can do better. We apologise that you were unaware of our location - it is something we have already clarified on the internet site you unfortunately used, as we agree, it was not very clear there. We are exactly 22 km by road or 10 km straight line from the Falls, but at night of course it can appear to be a lot further.
A very late arrival, especially when we are unaware of it, is always a little tricky at a small lodge but we are pleased our staff did go out of their way to assist you by arranging a late dinner etc. Regarding the shuttles in and out of town - we do offer a complimentary shuttle service to and from town for every guest per paying night to enjoy the Falls. However, on the accommodation plan you booked, at the beginning or end of a stay transfers in and out of the lodge, to the airport, borders or the Falls are booked and charged separately.
We have looked into the situation with your payments seriously. We recommend that it is always helpful to have your agents voucher handy as this creates clarity for both parties about what has or has not been paid for, particularly helpful with internet credit card payments that may or may not have gone though. Most Lodge managers act on instructions from a main office not at the lodge, so are not able to easily access records, particularly at night.
We have seriously addressed all your issues with your agent and our managers and are confident a re-occurrence will not happen. Once again on behalf of the Gorges team our sincere apologies for the negatives that were part of your experience, but thank you for your honesty!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2012

Gorges Lodge is spectacular! It's a convenient drive from Victoria Falls and the Victoria Falls airport where stunning views of the Zambezi River await you. Lush grounds, attentive and cheerful staff (thanks all!), excellent cuisine and amazing accommodations will all be found here. However, none of those things can compete with the sound of the Zambezi flowing below you as you drift off to sleep or the amazing sunrise to greet you in the morning. I can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Amy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hayley F, Manager at Gorges and Little Gorges Lodge, responded to this review, August 2, 2012
Thank you for the positive feedback and we look forward to seeing you again soon!

Fondest regards!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Victoria Falls hotels
20.2 mi away
Victoria Falls Safari Lodge
Victoria Falls Safari Lodge
#8 of 16 in Victoria Falls
1,746 reviews
20.3 mi away
Victoria Falls Safari Club
Victoria Falls Safari Club
#4 of 16 in Victoria Falls
384 reviews
18.5 mi away
The Victoria Falls Hotel
The Victoria Falls Hotel
#6 of 16 in Victoria Falls
2,253 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.3 mi away
The Elephant Camp
The Elephant Camp
#2 of 16 in Victoria Falls
826 reviews
21.0 mi away
A'Zambezi River Lodge
A'Zambezi River Lodge
#12 of 16 in Victoria Falls
829 reviews
23.8 mi away
Victoria Falls River Lodge - Zambezi Crescent
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gorges and Little Gorges Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gorges and Little Gorges Lodge

Property: Gorges and Little Gorges Lodge
Address: Zambezi River Gorge, Victoria Falls, Zimbabwe
Phone Number:
Location: Zimbabwe > Matabeleland North Province > Victoria Falls
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 35 Specialty Lodging in Victoria Falls
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Gorges and Little Gorges Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gorges and Little Gorges is a mere 30 minute drive from Victoria Falls town and offers a unique Victoria Falls experience from a peaceful and idyllic base on the edge of the Batoka Gorge - a perfect choice for your Victoria Falls safari adventure! At Gorges you can relax away from the hustle and bustle of Victoria Falls town - our peaceful guest accommodation is nestled in a landscaped garden that makes walking to your room a joy, and our staff are renowned for their warm hospitality. Gorges is famous for its spectacular views, described by some as the best in southern Africa; whether you are enjoying a cup of coffee at sunrise on your private veranda or a cool refreshment by the pool at sunset, you will be constantly drawn to the stunning vistas provided by the Batoka Gorge and the rushing waters of the Zambezi River below. Little Gorges is perched on the edge of the Batoka Gorge next to main Gorges. This tented extension of Gorges overlooks the dramatic junction of the Dibu Dibu River and the Zambezi, where black eagles and lanner falcons nest in the sheer cliff faces. Construction of the luxury tents in this rugged, rocky and broken terrain necessitated careful planning and feats of engineering and is a wonderful alternative to the main Gorges chalets while still providing all the same comforts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your Gorges and Little Gorges Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gorges Hotel Victoria Falls

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing