We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Vic Falls Adventure”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Victoria Falls Hotel
Ranked #8 of 16 Hotels in Victoria Falls
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 30, 2008

I stayed at the Victoria Falls hotel, it was a lovely old english colonial style hotel which I would rate as 5 star as the service was great and considering the current conditions in Zimbabwe the hotel was well stocked. Room are a lovely size as well. The falls it self are absolutely magnificent, a must see.
I also took a package with Shearwater adventures, which included 5 activties of your choice. We did a bungi jump, white water rafting, elephant back safari, night game drive and a helicopter filght over the falls. Of all the activities i would say that the bungi jump, rafting and the game drive were my favourites!

From a security point of view , there really is nothing to worry about, people ar very honest and friendy. Victoria falls is almost an island in Zimbabwe.

I would really urge people to try this destination, as it has so much to offer and experience.

3  Thank 2Qute
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,519)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,902 - 1,908 of 2,519 reviews

Reviewed November 29, 2008

We stayed in this grand hotel in July and had a fabulous time. We traveled by Rovos Rail through Zimbabwe and we departed the train in front of the hotel. The staff, the accommodations, and the view were superb. Our U.S.State Department had warnings against traveling to Zimbabwe and Vic Falls. We had our concerns and decided to stay there after our German travel agent highly recommended it and we are so glad that we did. By staying away from this grand hotel, we are only hurting the people of Zimbabwe. We felt perfectly safe with our two sons and the staff could not have been more gracious and kind. Their pool is incredible and the scenery (including wart hogs and baboons) is not to be missed. We highly recommend the hotel and will be sure to visit again soon.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank spzandj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2008

We spent one night, June 6th, at the Vic Falls Hotel. It was an interesting drive from the airport, to say the least. We knew the country was in turmoil with the elections, but it was still sad to see people with their belongings hiking to the border, ATMs boarded up, and a military truck heading into the police headquarters (shocked our local driver too). The hotel is full of history and past grandeur. They do an amazing job of keeping the grounds lovely, but the interior is showing need of serious attention. We had a lovely tour of the falls with a local guide arranged by our travel agent. Dinner at Jungle Junction was fun with the food acceptable. Same for breakfast. We wisely kept receipts for drinks and a bottle of wine. At checkout we were prepared with US dollars but the bill was over the top as the currency was changing 5 times a day. We could prove that we only owed $52 (all else was prepaid) and that's what we paid. I wouldn't recommend a stay here until the country returns to some semblance of normalcy. The staff were friendly but all seemed to have a haunted look in their eyes. We were happy to be off to Botswana the next day.

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Connie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 22, 2008

A magnificent, elegant, comfortable hotel and a beautifully maintained historic site. The rooms and all public areas are immaculate, the service is impeccable, and the food in all restaurants is outstanding. My compliments, thanks and best wishes to every member of the staff.

Stayed: November 2008
1  Thank Dododog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2008

Where do I start...? Check in seems to be a overall event no matter where we stayed in Africa but they weere just an unorganized mess at the hotel.
The rooms are old, dingy and just plain gross. We tried to have them change, upgrade our rooms and it turned out to be a tad better but not much. They need some major remodeling. The people in the hotel are generally nice but smelly! The food is just terrible. I have had much better food and game parks! I lived off the egg rolls at the buffett for two days!
Definitely not a four star hotel....!

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank michelleshirani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2008

We stayed at this hotel for three nights and had a wonderful. The setting of the hotel and the grounds overlooking the falls in the distance is spectacular. The food and service were excellent. This hotel is a must if you visit the falls their really isn't anything like it in all of Africa. Bob & Linda

Stayed: April 2008
3  Thank granitebaynick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2008

We stayed at the Victoria Falls Hotel for two nights at the beginning of August and we truly had a great and lovely time.
The hotel is a grand old lady and breaths the atmosphere of the old colonial life in Africa. It is full of reminders of the grand old days and you truly feel part of it by merely walking around.
By just looking out of the window of your room one is amazed by the feeling that so many before you have probably looked through exactly the same window, seeing the exact and unchanged sight of the Victoria Falls Bridge, the Gorge and the spray.
Remarks that the building needs urgent attention and standards are not up-to-date are unjustified. The building is indeed old and perhaps a bit tired in the charming sense of the word but it is in no way neglected. Gardens are kept in pristine condition and rooms are simple but clean.
The service is excellent. The staff is so friendly and helpfull and makes you feel at home at any part of the day.
The food is definitely a problem in the hotel. One feels that they are struggling to get the right ingredients for the menu and also at breakfast things might certainly be improved. But with the country in the state it is in one just has to accept this.
We felt quite safe both in and outside the hotel. We had a guided tour to the falls and were hardly ever hassled along the way. The fact that people try to sell their products to earn a living are just not more than normal. However, this is done in a friendly and relaxed atmosphere.
If you have the chance stay at this lovely grand old leading lady !

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Antwerpengl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Victoria Falls hotels
1.7 mi away
Victoria Falls Safari Lodge
Victoria Falls Safari Lodge
#7 of 16 in Victoria Falls
1,992 reviews
2.5 mi away
A'Zambezi River Lodge
A'Zambezi River Lodge
#10 of 16 in Victoria Falls
916 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ilala Lodge
Ilala Lodge
#6 of 16 in Victoria Falls
1,249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Elephant Hills Resort
Elephant Hills Resort
#9 of 16 in Victoria Falls
679 reviews
1 mi away
Batonka Guest Lodge
Batonka Guest Lodge
#1 of 16 in Victoria Falls
459 reviews
1.8 mi away
Victoria Falls Safari Club
Victoria Falls Safari Club
#5 of 16 in Victoria Falls
438 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Victoria Falls Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Victoria Falls Hotel

Address: 1 Mallet Drive, Victoria Falls PO Box 10, Zimbabwe
Phone Number:
Location: Zimbabwe > Matabeleland North Province > Victoria Falls
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Victoria Falls
#4 Spa Hotel in Victoria Falls
#4 Business Hotel in Victoria Falls
#5 Family Hotel in Victoria Falls
#7 Luxury Hotel in Victoria Falls
Price Range: $345 - $975 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Victoria Falls Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 161
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For more than a century, The Victoria Falls Hotel has been the address of choice for Royal Families, statesmen, celebrities and discerning travellers as it occupies a fine location from which to explore the magical wonders of untamed Africa. From the thundering Victoria Falls at its threshold, to the big 5 that roam freely less than 5kms away, the “Grande Dame” provides an experience like no other. Less than a ten minute walk away from the Victoria Falls Rainforest, this is one hotel that can truly claim to be unique.The Victoria Falls Hotel’s grand Edwardian architecture evokes the spirit of a bygone era. The courtyard and entrance completed in 1915, with flowering shrubs, palms and stately mango trees picturesquely reflected in the water lily ponds. The chic elegance of the marble floored reception area sets the tone for the style and sophistication synonymous with The Victoria Falls Hotel. Many a guest has marveled at the magnificent views seen from The Victoria Falls Hotel and the experience begins with the sun rising beneath the mist of one of the seven natural wonders of the world. Combining old-fashioned, traditional elegance with warm and welcoming decor, the main lounge provides a perfect backdrop for relaxing with friends, whilst the Bulawayo Room offers serenity and seclusion in surroundings of exceptional comfort and luxury. There’s a well-appointed curio shop specializing in colonial memorabilia. The Palm Lounge, bright and cool, is a quiet and secluded corner in which to relax, read or write. Throughout its many corridors and alcoves, the hotel’s long and fascinating history is depicted through photographs, posters and artistic impressions, reflecting the past glories of the empire. The quaint Chapel, built in 1929, has been the venue of many weddings and The Victoria Falls Hotel remains a favourite destination for honeymooners from around the world. Echoing its glorious past, The Victoria Falls Hotel’s traditional rooms and suites are truly a 5 star experience. Style and sophistication are trademarks of the hotel’s executive suites, which are luxuriously appointed with decor being warm, inviting and rich with tradition. Deluxe guest rooms are spacious, well-appointed and furnished in traditional Edwardian style with an "out of Africa" feel. All rooms are air-conditioned with every modern amenity including digital satellite television, direct dial telephone and a personal safe. Cast-iron, roll-top bath tubs in the stables wing rooms and suites turn the bathroom into a haven of sumptuous relaxation. All three restaurants have ideal locations, making dining around the hotel a memorable experience. Lavish buffets at the casual Jungle Junction restaurant are but one of the many choices for breakfast and dinner. Stanley’s Terrace is an excellent option for light meals throughout the day and is an absolute must for the infamous High Tea served every afternoon, with spectacular views of The Victoria Falls Bridge and the Falls themselves. Later, enjoy the hotel’s legendary cocktails or a gin and tonic in Stanley’s Bar while listening to the roar of the mighty Falls. Evening dining at the open-air jungle Junction restaurant offers an unforgettable experience with a fusion of flavours of Africa. Entertainment from ethnic groups epitomises the spirit of Africa; Jungle Junction is the ideal venue for incentive groups. Enjoy dinner and dancing in the elegant, Edwardian Livingstone Room, with classic a la carte and table d’hote menus. Whilst the Livingstone Room reflects the century old hotel’s style of grandeur and opulence, the dress code has been slightly relaxed for the convenience of the guest and it is no longer essential for gentlemen to wear jacket and tie for dinner. A fine selection of wines and liqueurs are available to complement the chef’s wonderfully innovative creations. Cool off and enjoy the splendour of the glorious colonial swimming pool set amongst the beautiful landscaped gardens, overlooking the famous Victoria Falls Bridge with the Batoka Gorge below. Massage treatments are available in the airy gazebos located around the poolside or in the tranquility of the hotel’s gardens. The Pullman Suite and the Centenary Room are well-appointed with exquisite antique furnishing, adding a new dimension of sophistication to conferencing. Suitable for meetings of between 8 and 40 people, conference packages (including spouses’ programs) are available. The Victoria Falls are approximately 1,690 metres wide with an estimated 550 million litres of water per minute cascading over a 111 metre chasm. It must be highlighted that Zimbabwe has 16 out of the 19 prime viewing spots and is where you will find the "untamed" Victoria Falls Rainforest with its many winding pathways and trails. In 1855 David Livingstone, arguably the first European to see the awesome Falls, remarked "scenes so lovely must have been gazed upon by angels in their flight." The Victoria Falls have been declared a World Heritage Site and enjoy special conservation status. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Victoria Falls Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Victoria Falls Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing