We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Victoria Falls Hotel
Nearby Hotels
$340
$303
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$397
$360
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ilala Lodge(Victoria Falls)
$291
$276
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
A'Zambezi River Lodge(Victoria Falls)
$200
$148
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$231
$213
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Elephant Camp(Victoria Falls)
$1,003
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Elephant Hills Resort(Victoria Falls)
$188
$161
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$1,017
$987
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
N1 Hotel Victoria Falls(Victoria Falls)(Great Value!)
$57
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
Cresta Sprayview Hotel(Victoria Falls)
$234
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (2,647)
Filter reviews
2,647 results
Traveler rating
1,623
733
190
67
34
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,623
733
190
67
34
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsjungle junctionlivingstone roomhigh teagrand old ladystanley terracelivingstone restauranthistoric hotelold world charmcolonial timesstep back in timebygone eragrand dameterrace restaurantpublic roomsrovos railcolonial styledeluxe room
Filter
Updating list...
1,438 - 1,443 of 2,647 reviews
Reviewed April 5, 2014

110 years and huge with lots of interesting history and pictures. Walking distance to V falls, railroad station and small town. Lots of vendors / sellers but no crime in VF. Hotell ok, but not brill. Food very good but expensive. Breakfast really enourmous and great at the jungle junction. No alchohol in the minibar and ants in the bathroom is a big minus + noicy AC. However, beautiful location and good service makes up for it if you are prepared to go back in time. Warthogs doing the lawn mowing is also a bit unusual. I recommend this hotel even if not perfect.

Room Tip: All suites are different. Try for a view upstairs.
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AinaK2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2014

Ah, what a place! The Victoria Falls Hotel is an institution now over 100 years old. She is steeped in tradition and history and a throw-back to colonial times but there is no other place to stay in Victoria Falls that even comes close to delivering what TVFH delivers.
The staff all provided superb service which cannot always be easy for them. Make sure you tip well - you could be indirectly providing school or books to a youngster as a result of your generosity.
I don't know if we received an upgraded room (we booked a deluxe double) but it was quite the largest hotel room we have ever stayed in at something like 55 feet long all told and 16 feet wide. Absolutely stunning. Room 45 if you are interested.
The public rooms are superb - more akin to Downton Abbey's Drawing Room than a 'normal' hotel's lounge area.
High Tea on the Terrace, Dinner at the Jungle Junction. Just soak up the ambiance, look at the mist rising from the Falls and at that iconic bridge across the gorge and thank your lucky stars for the opportunity to be a part of it if only for a short while.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TransplantedBrit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2014

Stayed at Victoria Falls Hotel. Grand old hotel, but needs some work. A/C in my room and couple of other rooms had problems. Mine ran constantly and leaked water on the carpet. Found very large millipede on floor last morning. Restaurants are very, very expensive. We went to casino next door for lunch and dinner. Number of decent, inexpensive restaurants there. Excellent breakfast at hotel. Staff at hotel was excellent and efficient. Great location and view of falls and bridge. Just needs some work.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Weltbesucher31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2014

The Zimbabwean people are amazing and they made my stay here unforgettable. To me the staff make all the difference and here they excel. Everybody from the gardener to the pool guy to the manager is genuinely friendly and interested and helpful; it goes so far beyond politeness and to me it made it very special. I have to specifically mention Duly and Japhet; thank you for your kindess.

The hotel itself is colonial and old-fashioned - and for those who have read my reviews before you would know it is not really my thing - but it suits the environment. Walking through the halls is a trip down memory lane for Zimbabwe; they embrace their colonial heritage, unlike some countries which try to pretend the past never happened. I stayed in the main hotel but had the opportunity to see the rooms in the new wing and would highly recommend them; next time I'll be in room 237!

The buffet is very good, I particularly enjoyed breakfast. High tea is a must; in fact, just taking the time to have a drink on the terrace and watch "the smoke that thunders" is a must. Love the warthogs that just wonder around the grounds like domestic animals! The grounds are beautifully kept and very tranquil and the pool is a godsend. Just the right temperature.

Easy stroll along a path to the Vic Falls themselves - mind the monkeys! The tour of the Falls was WOW - I came out the other side drenched. Helicopter flip is out of this world (my first hellie trip) - wished it would never end. Elephant back safari was also amazing - thanks Rodney and Detemba.

We were due to move on to Chobe given the option I would happily have stayed here longer and merely gone to Chobe for a day.

Without a doubt I will return.

Room Tip: Stay in the new wing, if possible.
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ThePugHusky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2014

This was our second stay at the hotel and it is still the most charming place I've ever stayed. Wonderful staff, beautiful communal rooms, good food. I could sit on the varanda all day admiring the view.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sally1368
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews