We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stanley's Terrace”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Victoria Falls Hotel
Ranked #6 of 16 Hotels in Victoria Falls
Certificate of Excellence
Dallas, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
712 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 371 helpful votes
“Stanley's Terrace”
Reviewed February 16, 2014

We just stopped in at Stanley's Terrace Restaurant, therefore I can not comment on the rooms. Our guide took us there as we were told it was a must see, and we agree it is...the architecture, the decor, the old world charm, it is lovely. The private gardens are amazingly beautiful and it overlooks the Victoria Falls Bridge and the gorges below. I am pleased we did not stay there simply because it did appear outdated and even though we are glad we took the time to visit this historic hotel we are happy per the TA reviews we decided to stay elsewhere. We did enjoy our brief time at this hotel and the staff was very nice.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mi-Dan20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,321 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,432
    631
    165
    61
    32
See reviews for
390
1,199
138
49
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (492)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Ohio
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed February 15, 2014

It was a wonderful stay at the Victoria Falls Hotel! Beautifully kept grounds, stately lounge areas. Delicious buffet breakfasts at Jungle Junction. Very convenient to have a trail from the Victoria Falls Hotel to the entrance to Victoria Falls. Fun to watch a mother warthog and her babies in the courtyard outside of the room in the morning! And baboons along the trail. And vervet monkeys trying to get into hotel windows. We were there for Christmas morning - there was a choir singing Christmas carols at Jungle Junction during breakfast - as well as Santa. Beautiful view of the mist rising from Victoria Falls especially in the morning. Friendly, accommodating, helpful staff!! Highly recommended!!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JubilantTravelerOhio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
201 reviews
92 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed February 14, 2014

The hotel is one beautiful old hotel with absolutely stunning grounds only about a 10 minute walk from the falls. One can see the mist from the falls as well as the international bridge from the property. Breakfast is very good. The staff is very friendly and accommodating. The rooms are more disappointing. My room 37 is small, 2 people would have been tight. Lock didn't work right, the sliding doors were very tough to move. Asked to have them fixed but they didn't though I think they tried.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Semelg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
566 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 338 helpful votes
Reviewed February 13, 2014

I reserved the room several months in advance. Customer service was wonderful. I was presented with cold towels to wipe my face and lemonade upon my arrival from the airport. The hotel was very impressive both in architecture as well as the wonderful paintings and statues all over the place, which included the main tea room, which took you back to the Victorian Times. Outside in the back of the hotel was the Jungle junction Restaurant, where i had breakfast, which was very good, and a walking path that would take you to either the Zambezi Gorge, or directly to the Victoria Falls National Park, and the falls themselves.

Beware of the peddlers trying to sell you things once you leave the hotel grounds, they will not take no for an answer, and they only go away when you either raise your voice at them, or when the tourist police come by to help you.

My room at the hotel was the only letdown. It seemed more like a Victorian room that had not been updated. It was hot, and the air conditioning did not work well, plus you could hear everything going on in the rooms next to you, which for me lacked privacy. At $300.00 per night, i have defiantly stayed at better hotels, but it was still an experience that I'm glad I got to do and share with you.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sean O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bingley,UK
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed February 12, 2014

Despite this hotel being a little over our budget we decided to book it for the two nights we stayed in Victoria Falls. We were not disappointed and from the first moment we arrived, the thing that most impressed was the care and attention shown by all the staff. Nothing was too much trouble, they were always interested in what we were doing and above all they smiled and looked genuinely happy all the time.
The hotel provides a little bit of a trip down memory lane in terms of its style and it's service, right down to the afternoon tea served on the terrace in the afternoon. Don't miss it.
Particular thanks to Sindy who met us on arrival and Grace for giving us a great room (145) to celebrate our 40th Wedding Anniversary and providing a lovely card, flowers, fruit and champagne in our room on arrival. Very classy. Sindy, short for I think Sindola was himself a class act and on establishing our first names when we arrived, never forgot them.
It's a great location and a great place to stay and I would recommend without hesitation.
To all at The Victoria Falls Hotel, thank you and we hope our paths cross again in the future.

Room Tip: We had a lovely room looking towards the mist that the falls generates.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AlistairCoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
200 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed February 11, 2014

Staff was great but it was easy to get lost in the compound. A few more direction signs would help guests not miss the turns to their rooms. Old fashioned bathtub is just too difficult to use for shorter guests. Too hard to get in and out of. Comfortable bed and great included breakfast. Lots of selection and a great omelette chef. Service here was impeccable.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CndnGuider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2014

The colonial style hotel is situated very close to the Falls and has wonderful views of the Falls. It has nice rooms, excellent service and good restaurants.
The entertainment was interesting. We walked to the African market in town.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Victoria Falls hotels
1.7 mi away
Victoria Falls Safari Lodge
Victoria Falls Safari Lodge
#7 of 16 in Victoria Falls
1,815 reviews
1.7 mi away
Elephant Hills Resort
Elephant Hills Resort
#9 of 16 in Victoria Falls
584 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ilala Lodge
Ilala Lodge
#8 of 16 in Victoria Falls
1,160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
A'Zambezi River Lodge
A'Zambezi River Lodge
#10 of 16 in Victoria Falls
850 reviews
0.7 mi away
Rainbow Hotel Victoria Falls
Rainbow Hotel Victoria Falls
#15 of 16 in Victoria Falls
517 reviews
0.9 mi away
Cresta Sprayview Hotel
Cresta Sprayview Hotel
#14 of 16 in Victoria Falls
346 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Victoria Falls Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Victoria Falls Hotel

Property: The Victoria Falls Hotel
Address: 1 Mallet Drive, Victoria Falls PO Box 10, Zimbabwe
Phone Number:
Location: Zimbabwe > Matabeleland North Province > Victoria Falls
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Victoria Falls
#3 Spa Hotel in Victoria Falls
#4 Business Hotel in Victoria Falls
#5 Luxury Hotel in Victoria Falls
#6 Family Hotel in Victoria Falls
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Victoria Falls Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 161
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For more than a century, The Victoria Falls Hotel has been the address of choice for Royal Families, statesmen, celebrities and discerning travellers as it occupies a fine location from which to explore the magical wonders of untamed Africa. From the thundering Victoria Falls at its threshold, to the big 5 that roam freely less than 5kms away, the “Grande Dame” provides an experience like no other. Less than a ten minute walk away from the Victoria Falls Rainforest, this is one hotel that can truly claim to be unique.The Victoria Falls Hotel’s grand Edwardian architecture evokes the spirit of a bygone era. The courtyard and entrance completed in 1915, with flowering shrubs, palms and stately mango trees picturesquely reflected in the water lily ponds. The chic elegance of the marble floored reception area sets the tone for the style and sophistication synonymous with The Victoria Falls Hotel. Many a guest has marveled at the magnificent views seen from The Victoria Falls Hotel and the experience begins with the sun rising beneath the mist of one of the seven natural wonders of the world. Combining old-fashioned, traditional elegance with warm and welcoming decor, the main lounge provides a perfect backdrop for relaxing with friends, whilst the Bulawayo Room offers serenity and seclusion in surroundings of exceptional comfort and luxury. There’s a well-appointed curio shop specializing in colonial memorabilia. The Palm Lounge, bright and cool, is a quiet and secluded corner in which to relax, read or write. Throughout its many corridors and alcoves, the hotel’s long and fascinating history is depicted through photographs, posters and artistic impressions, reflecting the past glories of the empire. The quaint Chapel, built in 1929, has been the venue of many weddings and The Victoria Falls Hotel remains a favourite destination for honeymooners from around the world. Echoing its glorious past, The Victoria Falls Hotel’s traditional rooms and suites are truly a 5 star experience. Style and sophistication are trademarks of the hotel’s executive suites, which are luxuriously appointed with decor being warm, inviting and rich with tradition. Deluxe guest rooms are spacious, well-appointed and furnished in traditional Edwardian style with an "out of Africa" feel. All rooms are air-conditioned with every modern amenity including digital satellite television, direct dial telephone and a personal safe. Cast-iron, roll-top bath tubs in the stables wing rooms and suites turn the bathroom into a haven of sumptuous relaxation. All three restaurants have ideal locations, making dining around the hotel a memorable experience. Lavish buffets at the casual Jungle Junction restaurant are but one of the many choices for breakfast and dinner. Stanley’s Terrace is an excellent option for light meals throughout the day and is an absolute must for the infamous High Tea served every afternoon, with spectacular views of The Victoria Falls Bridge and the Falls themselves. Later, enjoy the hotel’s legendary cocktails or a gin and tonic in Stanley’s Bar while listening to the roar of the mighty Falls. Evening dining at the open-air jungle Junction restaurant offers an unforgettable experience with a fusion of flavours of Africa. Entertainment from ethnic groups epitomises the spirit of Africa; Jungle Junction is the ideal venue for incentive groups. Enjoy dinner and dancing in the elegant, Edwardian Livingstone Room, with classic a la carte and table d’hote menus. Whilst the Livingstone Room reflects the century old hotel’s style of grandeur and opulence, the dress code has been slightly relaxed for the convenience of the guest and it is no longer essential for gentlemen to wear jacket and tie for dinner. A fine selection of wines and liqueurs are available to complement the chef’s wonderfully innovative creations. Cool off and enjoy the splendour of the glorious colonial swimming pool set amongst the beautiful landscaped gardens, overlooking the famous Victoria Falls Bridge with the Batoka Gorge below. Massage treatments are available in the airy gazebos located around the poolside or in the tranquility of the hotel’s gardens. The Pullman Suite and the Centenary Room are well-appointed with exquisite antique furnishing, adding a new dimension of sophistication to conferencing. Suitable for meetings of between 8 and 40 people, conference packages (including spouses’ programs) are available. The Victoria Falls are approximately 1,690 metres wide with an estimated 550 million litres of water per minute cascading over a 111 metre chasm. It must be highlighted that Zimbabwe has 16 out of the 19 prime viewing spots and is where you will find the "untamed" Victoria Falls Rainforest with its many winding pathways and trails. In 1855 David Livingstone, arguably the first European to see the awesome Falls, remarked "scenes so lovely must have been gazed upon by angels in their flight." The Victoria Falls have been declared a World Heritage Site and enjoy special conservation status. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Cancelon, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Victoria Falls Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Victoria Falls Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing