We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Victoria Falls Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ilala Lodge(Victoria Falls)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
N1 Hotel Victoria Falls(Victoria Falls)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Cresta Sprayview Hotel(Victoria Falls)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Batonka Guest Lodge(Victoria Falls)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Elephant Hills Resort(Victoria Falls)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Victoria Falls Safari Lodge(Victoria Falls)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Victoria Falls Safari Club(Victoria Falls)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (2,620)
Filter reviews
2,621 results
Traveler rating
1,609
725
188
66
33
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,609
725
188
66
33
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsjungle junctionlivingstone roomhigh teagrand old ladystanley terracelivingstone restauranthistoric hotelold world charmcolonial timesstep back in timebygone eragrand dameterrace restaurantpublic roomsrovos railcolonial styledeluxe room
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,586 - 1,591 of 2,621 reviews
Reviewed June 1, 2013 via mobile

We were met at the entry with an elegant and warm welcome - warm wash cloth and a refreshing beverage. All staff went over and above to make our stay comfortable and memorable. Special kudos to Sharon in Guest Services. Glenda gave me a great massage. Wonderful breakfast and dinner buffets. They make an excellent vodka martini too.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank MarinMinnFoodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2013

Built to take advantage of the spectacular view of the Gorge immediately below the Victoria Falls this Victorian Classic - now 108 years old is well maintained and super staffed. Every need is catered to immediately. There are two restaurants the Terrace, overlooking the grounds and gorge and the Jungle Junction. The food is good. The service is friendly and expert. Rooms are good sized and all baths are updated. The spa area is extensive and the pool inviting. It is quick and easy walk to the falls themselves. Everything is priced in US dollars which is the national currency. even the ATM's give US Dollars. With that in mind it is American pricing int he gift shops, for the rides ($140 for 12 minute helicopter ride over the falls) the entrance to the falls is $30 US for each and every entrance. The city trolley ride is $60.

Room Tip: ask for rooms in the main area - they are the older and larger ones. Upstairs has a better view but there is not an elevator
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mmkhlava
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2013

The best thing about this old styled, colonial era hotel is the location - it is within walking distance to the Falls, and also only a 5 to 10 min walk to the Victoria Falls town, where one can find a few restaurants, shops, and outdoor craft market.
The second best thing about the hotel is the view from the perfectly manicured lawn - that of the bridge and the bungee jumpers.
The third best feature of the hotel is its public areas - very elegantly decorated and spacious. The grounds around the hotel are well maintained, with warthogs and banded mongeese wandering around frequently.
The service overall was excellent - most of the hotel staff was helpful and friendly.
I stayed at a double room - room #70 - room is fine. The bathroom is fairly spacious, but all the bathroom fixtures are old and somewhat rusty. The wifi worked very well inside my room during my stay.
I dined at the hotel several times during my stay - and here is my conclusion - the food at the jungle Junction restaurant (where breakfast and buffet dinner are served daily) was mostly excellent. I especially enjoyed the buffet dinner on May 26 - the crocodile kabobs were very tasty. And the traditional dance performance was excellent. For $35 per person, I thought it is good value.
But beware of the food at the terrace restaurant. The Thai chicken broth I had tasted like a mixture of soya sauce mixed with MSG, and the ostrich loin was tough. My aunt ordered the beef fillet to be done medium well, but when it came out, it was more like medium rare, and the meat was rough. The pasta dish my mom ordered was blend, with no sauce, no oil mixed in with the pasta. The only saving grace that night was the excellent service offered by Dionne - I think she was the restaurant manager on duty. When she heard that we were not happy with our main dishes, she asked us to pick out some other choices, and the chicken dish and the bream fillet that were brought out later were both tasty. The chef also "recooked" my mom's pasta with some pesto sauce that came out much better.
Overall, i would recommend this hotel - for its location and atmosphere. But avoid dinner a the terrace restaurant.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sdgt625
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2013

This beautiful perfectly situated hotel is living in the past. So do the bathrooms : Extremely small and lousy , yellow stains in the bathtub and wash basin, not a single hook to hang clothes, sliding old yellowish door, poor light, paint stains on the tiles and cheap plastic curtain. Water clogging both in bathtub and wash-basin. Not to be expected in a 5* hotel ! Deluxe (basic) rooms are OK except old noisy A/C and no refrigerated bar. Apart from these critics, the surroundings are very nice, big trees, green lawn, but no benches or seats in the garden facing the Falls (why ?). Livingston Room (smartest restaurant) closed for renovation. Nobody dressing up any more for dinner (are bermudas and plastic slippers a must ?). Excellent Jungle Junction restaurant, African show every night there at 7.30 pm, huge buffet well presented with tasty food. Excellent breakfast as well. Very professional and helpful staff.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms on level starting with room n° 150. "Deluxe" and very expensive, rather small, no refrigerated bar, no view. Old and noisy A/C. And a lousy bathroom !
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank parpaillot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2013

Timeless elegance,calm,relaxed in an amazing setting.It is all a well run Hotel should aspire to be.The rooms are spacious and comfortable and the beds and especially the pillows like sleeping on a cloud.Food lovely although we were very disappointed to find the Livingstone Room was closed for renovation. Free Wifi. Hotel full of character and interest.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank oscar0734
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews