We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Victoria Falls Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ilala Lodge(Victoria Falls)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
N1 Hotel Victoria Falls(Victoria Falls)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Cresta Sprayview Hotel(Victoria Falls)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Batonka Guest Lodge(Victoria Falls)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Elephant Hills Resort(Victoria Falls)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Victoria Falls Safari Lodge(Victoria Falls)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Victoria Falls Safari Club(Victoria Falls)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (2,621)
Filter reviews
2,621 results
Traveler rating
1,609
725
188
66
33
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,609
725
188
66
33
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsjungle junctionlivingstone roomhigh teagrand old ladystanley terracelivingstone restauranthistoric hotelold world charmcolonial timesstep back in timebygone eragrand dameterrace restaurantpublic roomsrovos railcolonial styledeluxe room
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,680 - 1,685 of 2,621 reviews
Reviewed November 23, 2012 via mobile

The history and location make this a good stay, although pricey. Rooms are good but aged. My AC and TV kept going off likely due to dated electrical wiring, staff good and offered to move me but I waited until next day (upgrade). Free wifi, staff good, several places to eat. I enjoyed the age of the hotel but hopefully some internal changes can be done with time,

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OntarioCanuck1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 22, 2012

Realizing this is Zimbabwe and a major tourist spot (Victoria Falls) and you're coimg off roads with a very arid landscape, this hotel is an oasis ! Dirt, dry dry and very sporadic people walking, there is no relief until you're here.
Hotel has a British colonial era feel; you're almost feel Dr Livingston and Stanley will be dinning there. Grounds are peaceful and comfortable to walk. Don't worry about the warthog family strolling the grounds. Different sitting rooms or areas are so inviting; read the many hallway memorabilia !
We were in updated renovated rooms; try and get these unles you are accustomed to no a/c, open windows & bugs. Bath amenities are ample & refreshing. Service is always with a smile; excellent to a fault. Guest Services is always responsive but not timely.
Food buffets are good .... Breakfast and Diner selections superb. High Tea of the patio excellent; a must to do.
As a side almost Victoria Falls and then history.

Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
Thank Track1089
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2012

On our bucket list for many years, the Vic Falls Hotel did not disappoint. Elegance, style and charm grace the rooms, the curved staircases, the courtyards, the staff- all added to a very fine stay. Proximity to the Falls themselves is important - the view, the nearness, not having to face the street busyness. Going very early, 6:30, is a good idea, before the hordes arrive. Viewpoints are small, it's nice not to be hurried or hassled. High tea a treat, and breakfast always delicious with personal service for the cooked items. Good to see the informal craft market has returned. An excellent place to buy curios - don't forget to visit the women's stalls, they are delightful just to chat with. Found the staff helpful and very concerned when I fell and hurt my knee. Each and every one was concerned and asked if they could help me. The hair dresser's salon also a treat! Will return one day if we can.

Room Tip: An inside room looking out into the courtroom is a good choice.
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ruthinafrica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2012

The grounds are magnificent and the convenience is excellent. For the most part the staff are helpful but they are quick to say "yes" and yet do not always fulfill the request. Our room was well appointed yet needs to be updated. The food was mediocre. I would suggest to others going to Vic Falls to look at accommodations on the Zambia side of the river.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Terri S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2012

You must stay here more than one night to appreciate this place. I felt like I was walking into a movie set of a 19th century safari story. Unfortunately, I had only one night here, as part of a small Road Scholar group. One needs time just to appreciate this old but well-maintained gem. The property is spread out, and one must do a lot of walking to get from room to restaurants to grounds (not a complaint), I found the staff to be very welcoming. The buffet in the Jungle casual restaurant, away from the main reception area, was excellent and abundant. Dancers and drummers entertained the evening we had dinner. "Vancana"'s review of this property is excellent, and I defer to him/her.

Room Tip: Rooms vary, so it depends on what you want to pay and what is important to you. I was just fine in my small room facing a courtyard.
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lorettam55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews