We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Victoria Falls Hotel
Nearby Hotels
The Elephant Camp(Victoria Falls)
$1,005
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
A'Zambezi River Lodge(Victoria Falls)
$169
$147
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$829
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$239
$213
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ilala Lodge(Victoria Falls)
$255
$247
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Batonka Guest Lodge(Victoria Falls)
$275
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Elephant Hills Resort(Victoria Falls)
$201
$194
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$439
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Cresta Sprayview Hotel(Victoria Falls)
$106
$99
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
N1 Hotel Victoria Falls(Victoria Falls)(Great Value!)
$58
$56
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
Reviews (2,625)
Filter reviews
2,625 results
Traveler rating
1,611
727
188
66
33
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,611
727
188
66
33
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsjungle junctionlivingstone roomhigh teagrand old ladystanley terracelivingstone restauranthistoric hotelold world charmcolonial timesstep back in timebygone eragrand dameterrace restaurantpublic roomsrovos railcolonial styledeluxe room
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,718 - 1,723 of 2,625 reviews
Reviewed September 22, 2012

From the moment we arrived until the moment we left all our needs and expectations were met! The facility is like a time warp (a claw foot bathtub...plus a modern shower of course) and so are the manners and hospitality.

The staff answered every question and request with, "It's my pleasure." And you got the feeling they meant it. Every one was interested in the US and welcomed us with enthusiasm. There were no hands out for tipping.

The room we had was large and comfortable with netting over the four poster beds. The amenities in the bat included insect repellent and wonderful shampoo and conditioner product. A glass stoppered bottle of water was provided each day.

The view is magnificent. The food is varied and quite good both off the menu and on the buffet.

There is native entertainment in the evening.

I definitely glad we booked 3 nights. should have doubled that. So much to do and see and experience we went from activity to activity and didn't leave time for just relaxing by the gorgeous pool or staring off into the distance and the mist from Victoria Falls.

Room Tip: rooms with a view cost more so save your money for adventures (Things we did: Swam in Devi's Pool, evening river cruise, walked with the lions, visited Rose of Charity Orphanage, helicopter ride, tour the falls) and sit outside and don't worry about your room. Use it to sleep.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dorothy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2012

Such a beautiful hotel!Well maintained, they managed to keep the " out of africa" feeling and style of the hotel.Service is excellent from the moment you arrive until the moment you leave.High tea is not to be missed, excellent value at 15 usd per person.Rooms are big and have a nice view.Beautiful grounds with mature trees.Nice swimming pool.Do not miss the buffet style dinner with african dances!Nice lunch buffet at the pool.Breakfast in style

Room Tip: Any room will do
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Luc P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2012

This hotel has everything in place to make it a great hotel but they drop the ball at every turn. The public areas are indeed impressive but the rooms are something else. The refurbished rooms need to be refurbished again. The furniture is beautiful but fabric is filthy. The carpeting is worse. Plan to wear shoes in your room. Of three deluxe rooms we tried, two had doorknobs that didn't work, we had to wait half an hour for them to find a key that would work, two had mosquito nets but one didn't, none had a bar fridge despite their literature which says they would. The restaurants are variable. The breakfast buffet is average at best. The staff do not seem to know what needs to be done. Two mornings they had de-caff coffee readily available, two mornings they didn't have it. Some mornings there was butter on the table and some not. On the terrace, sometimes you got a coaster with your drinks, sometimes a napkin and sometimes nothing. Again no one really seemed to know what to do. In the Livingstone Room, we weren't sure they wanted us there. The welcome was very cold. The beef tenderloin was as tough as round steak. I have never had beef tenderloin that tough in my life. Overall, the staff in the entire hotel including the junior managers were very helpful and quick resond as best they could. The real problem seems to be that no one is properly trained. There is no consistency in any of the dining areas and throughout the hotel. While we did not actually use a standard room, they looked pretty grim. We were told they are scheduled for renovation but given the state of the already renovated rooms, it doesn't seem promising. Senior management at this hotel need to give their head a shake. Leading Hotels of The World should give these guys the boot. This just is not close to their standar

Room Tip: Choose a different hotel
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank B M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2012

We spent two nights at the VF Hotels and overall, were delighted that we chose to stay there. Make sure you spend some time roaming the halls to look at all the old photographs, but take along a flashlight. The lighting is dim, to say the least. But the time is well spent - you can see photos of the Princesses Elizabeth and Margaret on their African tour in 1947 along with their parents.

Our room was lovely and comfortable; the staff were attentive and responsive to our needs. Breakfast on the terrace in the morning was particularly delightful as the food was excellent and the variety good and you could see the mist drifting up from the Falls. The only negative was the food (small portions, over priced, and not terribly good) and the service (slow) in the Terrace Restaurant where we had both lunch and dinner. In fact, that's where we encountered the one and only surly and incompetent wait staff in our three week trip through three different countries. At another meal there, the attitude was improved, but the orders got mixed up. There are other restaurants in town - and at the hotel so you might want to try one of them.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mid214
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2012

When you arrive at Victoria Falls Hotel a gentleman in a uniform of days gone bye decorated with pins from around the world will welcome you.Then you see beyond this gentleman and you begin to notice the decor of the hotel just as it was in the 1800s magnificant.
My room looked down the back lawn with a view of the bridge,gorg and spray from Vic falls.There is a sticker on the window to remind you to close the window else the monkeys will pay you a visit.

Of an evening warthogs and monkeys will be feeding on the lawn .To walk around the hotel is like entering a rabbit warren there is so much to see and take in.So many old paintings and drawings caritures of days gone bye.The decor is a blast from the past as if Livingston himself is to walk in and read a paper.

There is a path that leads to the falls but be prepared to be harrased by venders selling there wares.And I was even asked if I would need a guide so just be cautious .

It is amazing to watch the sun rise over the gorge with the spray from Vic falls in the foreground and then have breakfast on the green.

You will enjoy Victoria Falls Hotel

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KeenTraveller12372
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews