We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Ilala Lodge(Victoria Falls)
$388
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$436
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
A'Zambezi River Lodge(Victoria Falls)
$177
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
N1 Hotel Victoria Falls(Victoria Falls)(Great Value!)
$68
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$195
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cresta Sprayview Hotel(Victoria Falls)(Great Value!)
$222
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Victoria Falls Backpackers Lodge(Victoria Falls)(Great Value!)
$43
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
The Elephant Camp(Victoria Falls)
$753
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$1,017
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (2,201)
Filter reviews
2,201 results
Traveler rating
1,412
605
137
31
16
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,412
605
137
31
16
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswater holewatering holevulture feedingsafari lodgeanimals comingboma restaurantbalcony overlookingwatching the animalsbuffalo barevery hourmosquito nettingshuttle busafrican experiencecape buffalothatched roofshuttle servicestandard room
Filter
Updating list...
1,938 - 1,943 of 2,201 reviews
Reviewed November 19, 2010

My third time to Victoria Falls and second time to stay at VFSL and just as good as the first time, not disappointed, and definately my hotel of choice for staying at in Vic Falls.

Whilst VFSL doesn't have the colonial splendour of the Victoria Falls Hotel, or the view or the Falls, it more than makes up for it in other ways. The hotel is slightly out of town (they operate a safe and efficient shuttle service every hour), you get a real feel of being in the wild. The main deck of the hotel overlooks a large water hole and you never know what you might see, from large herds of buffalo, elephants drinking in the noon day sun, or giraffe just lolling by. You can then go into town and spend an afternoon at the Victoria Fall Hotel, having afternoon tea, admiring the view of the gorge/Bridge etc, all the while knowing that when you get back to your hotel, you won't be bothered by tourists walking through the lobby to take photos, or be surprised at what animals await at the waterhole.

Rooms are a little chinzy/tired but that's all part of the charm, they're clean, the turndown service puts the mosquito nets down and prepares the room for bedtime!

Restaurants are excellent, Boma is a unqiue dining experience, but the hotels own restaurant, the Ma Kuwa Kuwa, is well worth it, the quailty of the food was exceptional, especially given that you're in Zimbabwe!

Reasonable sized pool, with good limited loungers, which can prove popular, as they all overlook the waterhole.

Hotel does have internet available in a business centre, but don't expect broadband speeds or 24 hour connection (the hotel is in Zimbabwe!).

All in all, for me, the best hotel to stay at in the Falls, which combines the best of everything. Service has always been good - even when my travel agent only booked me in for 3 nights, when I was meant to be there for 4 and that's what the voucher said, the hotel worked to resolve the problem (although I did have to move rooms).

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Constant_TravellerXX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2010

We stayed here for 4 nights in late September 2010. I can't fault anything. The rooms were clean, staff extremely helpful, food wonderful and location amazing. It was so relaxing eating dinner at night and watching the elephants playing at the waterhole. An experience not to be forgotten. 10 out of 10.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank holidaysruleBrisbane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2010

I had dinner one night in this fabulous location after enjoying a sundowner watching the animals at the watering hole. Dinner was amazing, food very tasty - tried the trio of starters with crocodile, ostrich and smoked salmon and warthog for maincourse - superb. Highly recommend - views amazing, service great, food presentation A1 and tasted even better. Enjoy

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ultimatelime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2010

You will not be disappointed with the Victoria Falls Safari Lodge, and I say that as a New Yorker who tends to find fault almost everywhere he stays. The public areas, pool, rooms, and staff are all generally first rate, though this is the only hotel in the area I've been to so it's difficult to compare with several other nice looking properties we saw in town. The advantage at sets the Safari Lodge apart is the view of the large watering hole on the property, which, especially during the dry season, is a huge draw for all kinds of animals all day long. You can watch the animals from many of the room balconies, from all the restaurants, from the pool, and from the bar. It's really an amazing scene - both nights we stayed here we saw a herd of elephants come up to the watering hole to drink. The property is also more secluded than some of the others, which provides an added sense of security. My only complaint - and it's not insignificant - is about some of the food. There's a very nice buffet and hot breakfast included. However, the on-site restaurant tries for upscale continental but delivers only average food. Most importantly - DO NOT got to BOMA, which is the Brazilian steakhouse-style restaurant a little ways off the property for the following reasons: 1) you will be asked to put on kitchy "local" garb on over your clothes, 2) you will be in a semi-enclosed space with multiple charcoal fires blazing away in a place where temperatures are over 100 degrees outside, 3) while some of the wild game meats are tasty, generally the food is decent at best, 4) it is ridiculously crowded with tourists, and 5) after eating, various storytellers, trinket-sellers, etc. will try to get you to part with your money, which I found pretty classless.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ny_wahoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2010

Had the pleasure of staying in the Vic Falls Safari Lodge hotel and found it absolutely fantastic. The Manager Jono was one of the most hospitable and helpful hotel managers I have ever come across nothing was too much for him to arrange. The rest of the satff were also incredibly friendly. The room was spacious, clean with a wonderful view of a waterhole where we saw all sorts of animals. The hotel grounds have some warthogs wondering around which is great to see so close by. The hotel also has a very nice bar where you can sit and watch the animals drinking from the waterhole. We had a very nice picnic breakfast to take with us as we left the hotel very early in the morning. The Boma the hotel puts on is also very exciting. We had a great evening and sampled such delicacies as warthog, buffalo, impala, ostrich and Mopani worms....

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fudgebabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews