We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“This was a most perfect introduction to Zimbabwe and Victoria Falls.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Victoria Falls Safari Lodge
Ranked #7 of 16 Hotels in Victoria Falls
Certificate of Excellence
Pecatonica, Illinois
Level Contributor
357 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 261 helpful votes
“This was a most perfect introduction to Zimbabwe and Victoria Falls.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2010

This was the very first hotel we stayed on our safari in Africa, and it more than exceeded our expectations. The setting is wonderful, overlooking a waterhole. In the two nights that we were there, we saw large herds of elephants and of cape buffalo. We also had monkeys on our balcony, peering into our room. Our room, number 2, was beautifully cleaned and maintained. We appreciated having a carafe to make tea and coffee and we loved our balcony from which we could see the water hole and the swimming pool.

We took several excursions from the hotel and the pick up and drop off process was seamless. Once we had visited the crafts, we had several things to take home and none were in protected packaging. We bought tape from the front desk and a gentleman packed them all and returned them to our room. When we got home, everything was in splendid shape, and they were wrapped much more carefully than I would have done it. The shuttle from the hotel, going every hour, was super efficient. The driver even took us to the area where we could walk over the bridge to Zambia.
We felt very safe and the people were warm and friendly.

My husband and I were glad to see a fair amount of people staying here. Truly, the front desk could not have been more accommodating. We ate a meal one night at the Boma - a very touristy spot, but we loved trying impala, crocodile, kudu, ostrich, and warthog. The drumming and dancing were just plain fun, and everyone seemed to be enjoying the warm, friendly environment. The next night we ate dinner at the hotel and found it to be very good with excellent service. We also ate breakfast there, and the service and buffet were absolutely amazing. There were so many fruits, juices, and choices!

If you are staying at the Safari Lodge, you should know that you will be about a five minute drive from Victoria Falls. We enjoyed NOT being in the city and having a waterhole from which to view animals. Actually, there is a hide there to see animals more closely, and I believe the hotel has a guide to take you down there. We were pretty busy doing "touristy" things, but I wish we'd had another day to just soak up the peacefulness of this place, enjoy strolling and seeing all the plants and trees, and spending more time viewing the animals. We could have stayed anywhere for less money, but to us, the setting, service, and dining made it a worthwhile upgrade. If we were going back to Victoria Falls (and we would love to), we would certainly stay here!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank William M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,694 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,064
    481
    115
    22
    12
See reviews for
326
649
151
81
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (338)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Auburn, CA
Level Contributor
80 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2010

We added our trip to Victoria Falls at the last minute, so our travel agent picked the Safari Lodge. Can't wait to thank her for giving us a great place to stay while taking in the Falls... After 6 days on a private game preserve, what a way to come back to reality. The animals at the watering hole were almost as good as being on safari. The staff and the food were great and the hotel setting can't be beat and my wife really got off on the masquito netting around the bed. The Safari Lodge made our trip to Victoria Falls even better.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Billb1375
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2010

We stayed in September 2009, in time for the lunar rainbows (which was actually disappointing). The hotel is great, rooms are very bright, great views, very calm, not many guests so it feels very exclusive. Staff are very helpful and friendly . The food was outstanding, much better than in South Africa where we stayed 2 weeks.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Conchan1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2010

We stayed here for 6 nights in the 2 bedroom "hut". HUGE space with everything you need. Things are a bit older and "rustic" but it is a fabulous experience. Main wall rolls up (tent material) and you can enjoy your view of the grounds. Warthogs and "turkeys" don't bother you but monkeys DO come in...a lot. Make sure you close up your place when you aren't in it or you will have visitors. Pools were clean and refreshing. Service is OUTSTANDING. It was relatively quiet but all the staff were very attentive. We ate breakfast and dinner at the hotel in the restaurant overlooking the watering hole. We enjoyed drinks and free appies every evening at 6pm one floor below the restaurant at the bar. It was the best entertainment I have ever experienced....seeing the animals come out of the bush to drink...you never knew what you would see. On our last day, we did a walking safari down to the watering hole. Pretty scary stuff but an amazing experience (the guide has a gun). We got really close to 3 bull elephants and some buffalos....a bit too close for my liking! There is a shuttle that takes you to Victoria Falls which was amazing. We were there after some heavy rains so the falls were incredible (get ready to be soaked!). We'd already done some intense traveling before this stop so I admit we were ready to have some quiet time. This place is PERFECT for relaxing. If you are looking for action, there were numerous activities you could arrange. We had no problem with Zimbabwe. We flew into Zambia and the hotel arranged our pick-up (our driver helped us through the border process). The hotel took credit cards but we had brought lots of US cash. The ONLY downside to this place was that food is expensive. We had been in South AFrica before where we enjoyed cheap food. You are going to be spending a good $60USD on dinner for 2 without drinks. Breakfast was $18USD each (buffet). We skipped lunch because we ate so much at breakfast and wanted room for their amazing dinners. Boma is a fun experience - but I would only go once. It is the equivalent of a Hawaiian Luau. GREAT food though. We had hoped to buy groceries in town and cook some of our meals but were REALLY disappointed by the selection in the stores. Over priced, zero variety and most stuff past the expiration date. We didn't find it was worth it so we ate at the hotel and just sucked up the extra cost. Everything on the menu is delicious. I would LOVE to come back to this place!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LoveIt77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wollongong
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2010

We stayed 1 night at Vic Falls hotel to come to this, what a horrible mistake.
Firstly our room was filthy, we had moths all over the sheets and bed,and the bathroom was mouldy.
After we accepted that, we went down to have lunch at the Bar, well I dont think I have ever seen "home made Ravioli" like it, we could not eat it it was that bad, there was so much cheese and salt it was unbearable.
We decided to get room service that night as we though it may be a little better, My gosh we ordered the "healthy wraps" and basically it was mushed up bread with some salad thrown and squeezed into it, again we couldnt eat it as it looked as though it had been handled so much it was moulded to their hands !!! again we went hungry :(
The service was so shocking here, this was the only hotel in our travels that the staff were rude and unhelpful, I have never been to a hotel before where there were staff just standing around when people needed drinks and clearing of glasses etc, very poor.
Everything seemed to be not working, coffee machine/internet and the list goes on.
The Boma was the best food we had there.
I will not be returning nor recommending this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Nats44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2010

For some reason when booking I thought this hotel on-line that it promoted itself as having deluxe room balconies that directly faced Victoria Falls. So I booked a deluxe room for this reason. When my wife and I arrived at the hotel and were shown to our room (#20) I quickly realized that we could not see Victoria Falls from any angle. I asked the porter if other rooms had views of the falls and he said "no" but other deluxe rooms have views of the animal watering hole. By the time I returned from speaking with Lynn at Guest Services and the Lodge's Mgr. Jonathan, I realized that I was the one who made the mistake about being able to see the "Falls" from our room and was returned to another room (#69) which had a breathtaking view of the animal watering hole.

From this point forward our stay was marvelous and they couldn't do enough to satisfy our every request. I highly recommend going to the "Falls.) Most people recommended that you rent a poncho to avoid becoming soaked from the "Falls" mist. I found the mist to be cooling, while the poncho was stifling. Going to both hotel restaurants is highly recommended, e.g. Boma for it unique local cuisine (buffet style) and its live entertainment, and the in-house a la carte restaurant. If you have the time don't miss taking the sunset cruise on the Zambezi River, especially if you can ride with Sam the Captain and Crawford the Steward. Their boat is small and intimate. The only caution is to be forwarned that smoking is permitted on-board.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelEnthusiast1_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
connecticut
Level Contributor
76 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2010

My husband arrived and was amazed at the beauty of the resort! Loved the african theme and the watering hole with animals was amazing! We were escorted to our room to find it still dirty from the last guest and the bell boy called( argued) with from desk to find us another room and to send housekeeping to clean the room. The bell boy told us to leave our luggage and that he would make sure that every thing was sorted out! They returned us to our room and an hour later I realized that our laptop computer was gone.Someone must have stolen it while we were waiting in the other room! What really got me was the way the hotel handled the situation. They made me search through all of my things like I was the thief and that I had misplaced it! ( How do you misplace a laptop?) They said that when guest say something is stolen, it usually turns up later and everything is fine! So they never filed a report and told me to wait until the next morning before going to the police. It was not until the next night that they got a staff member to drive us into town to file a report! I loved the area and the hotel was great but the service and staff was very insulting! I returned to the US without my laptop and will probably never see it again. But as least VFSL should have done their part to help me.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank islandtravel07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Victoria Falls hotels
0.0 mi away
Victoria Falls Safari Club
Victoria Falls Safari Club
#4 of 16 in Victoria Falls
5.0 of 5 bubbles 363 reviews
1.7 mi away
The Victoria Falls Hotel
The Victoria Falls Hotel
#6 of 16 in Victoria Falls
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,189 reviews
1.0 mi away
Elephant Hills Resort
Elephant Hills Resort
#10 of 16 in Victoria Falls
4.0 of 5 bubbles 531 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
A'Zambezi River Lodge
A'Zambezi River Lodge
#12 of 16 in Victoria Falls
4.0 of 5 bubbles 808 reviews
0.9 mi away
Batonka Guest Lodge
Batonka Guest Lodge
#1 of 16 in Victoria Falls
5.0 of 5 bubbles 202 reviews
1.5 mi away
Ilala Lodge
Ilala Lodge
#8 of 16 in Victoria Falls
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,077 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Victoria Falls Safari Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Victoria Falls Safari Lodge

Property: Victoria Falls Safari Lodge
Address: 471 Squire Cummings Road, Victoria Falls, Zimbabwe
Phone Number:
Location: Zimbabwe > Matabeleland North Province > Victoria Falls
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Victoria Falls
#4 Spa Hotel in Victoria Falls
#4 Romantic Hotel in Victoria Falls
#5 Family Hotel in Victoria Falls
#7 Luxury Hotel in Victoria Falls
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Victoria Falls Safari Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Voted the best Safari Lodge in Zimbabwe for 20 years running, the world-famous Victoria Falls Safari Lodge offers easy access to the iconic Victoria Falls, coupled with a wildlife experience that is truly unrivalled. Now in its 22nd year of welcoming guests, the Lodge is built on a plateau overlooking the Zambezi National Park with endless unspoilt views to the horizon, just four kilometers from the Falls. This is the only sunset facing hotel in Victoria Falls, and the newly-renovated rooms and balconies are built up above a central waterhole which attracts herds of buffalo, elephant, giraffe, zebra, as well as night-time predators, such as lion and leopard. Our warm and personable staff are our greatest pride. Past guests frequently comment on our team's sublime hospitality and seamless delivery. The main areas of the lodge, such as the MaKuwa-Kuwa restaurant and the homely Buffalo Bar, are rich in ambience and also overlook the central waterhole, where drinks and dinners are often shared with wildlife meandering down to the water each day to quench their thirst. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jovago.com, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Victoria Falls Safari Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Victoria Falls Safari Hotel Victoria Falls

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing