We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wonderful stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Victoria Falls Safari Lodge
Ranked #8 of 16 Hotels in Victoria Falls
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 29, 2009

I recently satyed in Victoria Falls Safari Lodge for 3 nights. I was part of a large group and some were a little aprehensive about the trip.But any fears were short lived. The hotel was superb. The design of the building and common areas prepares you for the infamous watering hole in the 'back garden' !
The bedrooms are clean , spacious and romantic and just as seen on the website, from our balcony we viewed birds, buffalo and elephant - amazing.
The food was of a high standard and the staff were warm , hospitable and helpful.
The regular bus service to town was very useful .
The adventure desk in the hotel was well run and all our activities went off with out a hitch - for a group of 35 booking the night before that is some feat!!
The Falls themselves were spectacular !
All in all a great stay and a return visit is on my agenda

  • Stayed: July 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jackal09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,955)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,746 - 1,752 of 1,956 reviews

Reviewed July 8, 2009

This review is somewhat over due. My wife and I stayed at the Victoria Falls Safari Lodge for our Honeymoon toward the end of May. After an overnight stop in Johannesburg, we flew to Zimbabwe.Based on Trip Advisor reviews, we chose the Victoria Falls Safari Lodge for a 4 night stay, with a 6 night safari elsewhere, followed by 4 final nights at Vic Falls Safari Lodge before returning home.
The lodge is a short drive from the centre of Vic Falls. This is good, as you felt far removed from the town crowd but you have the option of an hourly shuttle bus to get you to town when required. On arrival you are presented with a wonderful thatched lodge, lots of timber beams and posts as you enter, with splashes of vibrant African colours throughout. Built on the side of a hill, all rooms faced the same way with the main focus and viewing pointed in a westerly direction. This offered some stunning sunsets, which we enjoyed from the bar. The main feature to view was the water which may be viewed from many locations in the lodge, the best spot being the library at the very top. Lots of game visit the water hole from time to time and we both found this very interesting. It also got our eyes used to looking into the bush in preparation for our safari in Botswana. The walk out to the hide near the water hole with the armed guide was interesting too. A Chance to get up close to the Crocs and Impala we had been staring at for days!
Our room was clean and suited our needs. Would not call it top notch, but then we were not expecting the Ritz. Our only gripe was that the beds were not the most comfortable. The room we occupied on our second stay needed to be repainted, as signs of mould were beginning to appear. Although the hotel faces the water hole, some rooms offer a better view than others. This could be due to the position of the room, or the fact you have a tree outside your balcony. So best request a room with a clear view on booking.
Meals at the lodge were generally good. We tended to take bar meals during the day and ate out on a few occasions. The staff were very helpful advising and booking restaurants. We were surprised by the Mama Africa. It turned out much better than we expected. The buffet at the Kingdom Hotel was disappointing. The Boma was fun for one night. The Ilala was good, very colonial and worth get your togs on for.
Looking back we both agree that our choice of Zimbabwe and the Vic Falls Safari Lodge was a good one. Without doubt, a great place to stay for a few days. The tourist numbers were low, but this was ideal for us, as any activity we took part in was not overcrowded. Prices were also low, so the bar took plenty of our money. At no time did we feel unsafe. The staff made us very welcome and we felt part of the family when we returned for our second stay. We hope more people choose Victoria Falls, as it is a wonderful place with wonderful people with plenty to offer. Zimbabwe has had plenty of bad press and it is unfair Victoria Falls and its people should suffer because of it. Whilst there, we felt a million miles from any problems.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lou2Lou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2009

On our way to our hotel we stopped at several other places to drop people off at other hotels. This is by far the nicest hotel/lodge. It is in a beautiful location. We loved having a drink at sunset on the deck overlooking the water hole and watching all the animals come to drink. The service is great. My kids loved the Boma dinner. It is only ten minutes from town and there is a shuttle every hour.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank my3girlsFlorida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2009

Over the past year, I have gotten so much good advice here I felt compelled to give back a little for others. We have just returned from our safari to Botswana. We made our arrangements thru Go2Africa, they were wonderful and everything they planned went smoothly could not asked for better service and I was very skeptical. We first went to Chitabe Lediba for two nights and this was our favorite camp. the accommadations were okay but the staff was stupendous and the game drives the absolute best thanks to Newman. He is incredible. He kept his cool and knew exactly what to do even when a charging elephant slammed into our vehicle five times, what an experience!!!!!!!!!! The food here was also the best we had. Our next stop was 3 nights at Savuti. The camp is beautiful and with the river now flowing again the views are to die for and the game viewing is excellant. We were not happy with our first guide so made our displeasure known to the management after dinner the first night, the next morning they informed us they had changed our driver. After that everythig went smoothly and the game viewing was absolutley the best. So thanks for a management staff on the ball and eager to please. From Savuti we went to the Chobe Game Lodge. The lodge itself was very nice, the food was good and the staff very nice but after being at the first two camps, we were wishing we had passed on Chobe. The elephants are plentiful and the hippos but I think with the few predators around the animals just seem more complacent. Although we did see a family of two male, two female and three cub lions enjoying a kill of a giraffe which was quite a sight. Overall the Lodge is very nice if you want a lodge experience over a little bit more rustic ambiance. From here we headed to Vic Falls and stayed at the Vic Falls Safari Lodge. Again this is the most beautiful place to stay for the most part the staff is eager to please the only problems are with the reception staff, they have an I don't care attitude. We arrived at 12:30 and was told our room was not ready after and hour we asked again and were told check in was not till 2p.m. but they would see. Within a few minutes we were given our key. My main problem was the hotel only had a 30% occupancy. We were told by other people staying there the same thing was done to them. Definitely not good customer service. Other than that all went well. The people are still hurting but they say it is getting better. We did not feel threatened in anyway. It does get bothersome with them following you and begging for everything and anything. We felt so bad we left some of our clothes and just gave out dollar bills, which is so appreciated, unfortunately you wish you could do more. The Falls were absolutely beautiful. The helicopter was really worth it to get another perspective of the enormousness of it. We also did the lion encounter while we were there. I know there is a lot of controversy about this and I can't really say after being there whether this is a good thing or not. But I can say it was a great experience that we really enjoyed. Hope this info helps a little for anybody planning a safari in the not too distant future. Hopefully in the near future we will get some photos posted along with a video of our charging elephant.

8  Thank allsettogo9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2009

My wife, older son and I had the pleasure of staying at the Victoria Falls Safari Hotel for three nights in April during our visit to Victoria Falls.

We were greeted with tropical drinks (no alcohol) at check in, and our experience got better from there. My wife and I were upgraded to a suite which made our stay even more enjoyable. The food at both the Boma Place of Eating and the Makuwa-Kuwa Restaurant in the main lodge were terrific. I highly recommend eating at the Boma at least one night to experience the wonderful entertainment during dinner.

The complimentary shuttle took us to and from Victoria Falls, and the Tour Desk staff was helpful in planning all of our action adventures. The swimming pool was a nice place to spend the end of your day with a nice drink from the bar.

We experienced no problems staying in Zimbabwe other than the young people selling their wares near Victoria Falls. In fact, the hotel was not full because of the preception that Zimbabwe was dangerous to tourists which is clearly not the case. I would highly recommend Victoria Falls Safari Lodge to families, couples, and individuals who want to experience a wonderful vacation close to one of the most beautiful spots in the world, Victoria Falls.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Simmrouter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2009

We stayed here as part of a tour in South Africa and it couldn't have been nicer.
Besides the setting, the food is fantastic and the staff was wonderful.

  • Stayed: January 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pianotea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2009

What a great place. Stayed for 2 nights before starting on the Shongololo Train. Staff couldn't do enough to help. Rooms were great and could see the waterhole without any problem. Meals were great in the restaurant but the Boma wasn't my cup of tea. Relaxing bar area looking over the landscape with great ( and cheap ) light meals/lunches. These people are very poor so you need to tip often and in small amounts. It is a definate MUST take SAR or US$ in small denominations. You will not be able to change otherwise. We felt safer in Zimbabwe than at home in Sydney, so don't listen to the Government warnings. These people need the tourist's to come back. If you want to buy souvenirs then bring clothes, pens, and things for schooling. They ware very happy to trade rather than be given money.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kaycee4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Victoria Falls hotels
1.3 mi away
A'Zambezi River Lodge
A'Zambezi River Lodge
#10 of 16 in Victoria Falls
906 reviews
1.8 mi away
The Victoria Falls Hotel
The Victoria Falls Hotel
#7 of 16 in Victoria Falls
2,483 reviews
1 mi away
Elephant Hills Resort
Elephant Hills Resort
#9 of 16 in Victoria Falls
652 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Victoria Falls Safari Club
Victoria Falls Safari Club
#5 of 16 in Victoria Falls
430 reviews
3.7 mi away
Victoria Falls River Lodge - Zambezi Crescent
1.5 mi away
Ilala Lodge
Ilala Lodge
#6 of 16 in Victoria Falls
1,235 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Victoria Falls Safari Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Victoria Falls Safari Lodge

Address: 471 Squire Cummings Road, Victoria Falls, Zimbabwe
Phone Number:
Location: Zimbabwe > Matabeleland North Province > Victoria Falls
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Victoria Falls
#4 Spa Hotel in Victoria Falls
#4 Romantic Hotel in Victoria Falls
#5 Family Hotel in Victoria Falls
#7 Luxury Hotel in Victoria Falls
Price Range: $279 - $543 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Victoria Falls Safari Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Voted the best Safari Lodge in Zimbabwe for 20 years running, the world-famous Victoria Falls Safari Lodge offers easy access to the iconic Victoria Falls, coupled with a wildlife experience that is truly unrivalled. Now in its 22nd year of welcoming guests, the Lodge is built on a plateau overlooking the Zambezi National Park with endless unspoilt views to the horizon, just four kilometers from the Falls. This is the only sunset facing hotel in Victoria Falls, and the newly-renovated rooms and balconies are built up above a central waterhole which attracts herds of buffalo, elephant, giraffe, zebra, as well as night-time predators, such as lion and leopard. Our warm and personable staff are our greatest pride. Past guests frequently comment on our team's sublime hospitality and seamless delivery. The main areas of the lodge, such as the MaKuwa-Kuwa restaurant and the homely Buffalo Bar, are rich in ambience and also overlook the central waterhole, where drinks and dinners are often shared with wildlife meandering down to the water each day to quench their thirst. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Victoria Falls Safari Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Victoria Falls Safari Hotel Victoria Falls

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing