We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A taste of Zimbabwe”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Victoria Falls Safari Lodge
Ranked #8 of 16 Hotels in Victoria Falls
Certificate of Excellence
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
502 reviews
108 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
“A taste of Zimbabwe”
Reviewed November 8, 2013

Excellent choice if you wish to be out of town (but close to Falls) and to experience wildlife of Africa. Away from large groups on package trips. Mostly independent travellers/ small groups.
Helpful staff- all visits can be arranged from hotel. Wonderful setting for enjoying the bar and restaurant overlooking water hole where whole range of animals come for water. Particularly evening.
Service is long so be patient. Try to be in a holiday mood.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AfricaAlbidaTourism, General Manager at Victoria Falls Safari Lodge, responded to this review, November 10, 2013
Hi Michael,

Thanks very much for the feedback.

It seems like you had a very relaxing time at Victoria Falls Safari Lodge, and I'm glad you particularly enjoyed the food. "The taste of Zimbabwe" is a good way of describing our cuisine!

Hope to see you back again soon,

Jonathan Hudson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,729 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,090
    489
    116
    22
    12
See reviews for
333
661
154
82
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (344)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
84 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2013

This is a great place to stay while you are at vic falls, if you can afford it. Overlooking the waterhole there is no shortage of animals to watch day or night. We saw elephants, kudu, buffalo, warthog, mongoose, impala, hyenas and a multitude of bird life all from the comfort of our room.

The rooms are lovely (we stayed in the mopani suite) with comfortable beds, clean bathrooms and air conditioning (all luxuries that can be hard to find in Africa).

The staff were mostly friendly and helpful, though the waiters could use a little more training.

The free shuttle makes getting around so very easy.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Georgia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AfricaAlbidaTourism, General Manager at Victoria Falls Safari Lodge, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Hi Georgia,

Thanks for the feedback. Very happy that it turned out so well. yes, we are perfectly positioned to explore the Falls and enjoy all the activities... and there's just no location in the area like ours.

Looking forward to having you back soon,

Jonathan Hudson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NSW, Australia
Level Contributor
170 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2013 via mobile

A great place to base yourself for a few days at Victoria Falls. The view from the bar/pool/dinning room is a great spot to watch for animals day or night. The rooms have a great balcony and the food is fantastic. The free shuttle into town worked well even though your companies will pick you up direct.

Stayed October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelChick78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Level Contributor
188 reviews
160 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 157 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2013

We stayed here for two nights at the end of a small group tour from Cape Town.The Lodge in general was good particularly the bar which overlooked the wonderful waterhole. Breakfast was good if a bit slow at times. We were a bit disappointed by our room. Most of our group got a room with a view of the waterhole whereas we did not. The room itself could have done with a bit more attention to detail. The sheets were a bit grey.The mosquito net was dirty at the bottom and one lampshade was all broken. We would have expected better from a hotel of this price, probably the most expensive of our trip.

However we were most impressed by Lyn on guest services desk as she was very quick and efficient at sorting out all problems we had.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RoRoBrisbane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for three nights during our visit to Victoria Falls and we loved the hotel from the moment we arrived. The hotel overlooks a beautiful plain with a waterhole where we saw wildlife on a daily basis (impalas, water buffaloes, elephants, etc). They also have beautiful rooms with private decks and a very relaxing pool and deck chairs. The staff was extremely friendly and accommodating and were always willing to book excursions for us. The two restaurants offered are delicious, one is upstairs in the hotel overlooking the waterhole and the other is the boma, an outdoor buffet with various game meats and a drum show!

The only reason I didn't give them an excellent was because of our only two complaints our whole stay. 1) prices: although the food was delicious, both restaurants were extremely expensive (average entree at the upstairs restaurant was $20 and the boma was $40 per person). We were a little stressed there wasn't a more affordable option for us for dinner. We also thought the drinks at the bar were comparable to NY prices. I was particularly surprised when I tried to get a seltzer water and was charged $4! 2) the service was very slow, particularly at breakfast. We sat in the restaurant for 30 minutes, thinking it was enough time for us to eat before heading off on our excursion, but no one ever came to take our order. Other than those two minor complaints, we loved our stay!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mary V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
89 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2013

Victoria Falls has been something we've wanted to see for many years so we added 3 nights to our African oddessy and are very happy to have chose this Hotel
You need to take into account the current state of economic and social devastation this country is going through. The fact that we were the in the dry season, and damned HOT, just emphasised it probably. So amongst all that Safari Lodge was a luxurious oasis to come back to or just hang out at.
Not perfect super high end, but pretty good nonetheless.
Rooms big and nice. Great balcony and when you sit there it can be so quiet it hurts. The pool area(s) is a bit weird. There's 2 on two levels, both prety small with the main one down below mega deep apart from the edges. So not conducive for you to just bob about. But I'm splitting hairs.
Food at the restaurant at dinner is really good. Presentation and quality top notch. Our wait staff were also very friendly and added to our nights.
However our package included a "Boma night" which is kind of like a free range BBQ with some "entertainment" thrown in. They bus people in from all other resorts in for this so up to 350 there each night. A bit of a zoo, human variety, staff try hard but most of the food was rubbish and the show was basically a bunch of guys on bongos. For us it was out of kilter with the rest of the resort. We wish we had kicked back at the hotel.
All in all, if you're coming to VF you won't do better than the Safari Lodge. Manager Jonathan and his staff do work hard to make sure you enjoy your time there, and it was appreciated by us both.

Room Tip: Go for an afternoon tea, or drinks, at the old Victoria Falls Hotel. Very old world and atmospheric
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nick P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2013

We finished our two week African adventure with a two day stay at he Safari Lodge to view the falls and take part in a Zambezi River cruise.
The Lodge is a wonderful structure overlooking a game reserve and of course the famous watering hole where you can view the wildlife from the comfort of your own room or the restaurant, pool patio, etc. This is an awesome addition to a great hotel experience.
The rooms are nice and clean, spacious but not gigantic, with fairly large bathrooms and everything you need for your comfort. The lobby staff, from the front desk, to the concierge, and even the hotel general manager were fantastic - responsive, accommodating, helpful, and seemed like they genuinely cared that you got everything you needed.
The bar and restaurant are nice and spacious, and the food was very good. The service in both the bar and restaurant was however slow and it could take an hour to have breakfast which is a long time if you need to get on a bus for a tour. This was echoed by many of the folks in our party. We however had great service from a number of the servers so it may just be a case of "individual effort".
One evening we took our group to the bar for a last night drink and the bar staff acted like they wanted us to leave so they could lock up - no real interest in serving us though it was still an hour to their closing. This was disappointing for a place like this.
We also had small issues with our room (beds provided were not what was reserved, etc) but the staff quickly took care of these minor annoyances to our satisfaction which was good.
I would recommend the Lodge for any traveler, but check that you are getting what was reserved, and let your servers know if you have time constraints to give them motivation to be a bit more snappy.
Otherwise a great hotel with a fantastic location - don't miss the vulture feeding !

Room Tip: Get a room overlooking the watering hole...room 1 has an obstructed view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank czechmate68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Victoria Falls hotels
0.0 mi away
Victoria Falls Safari Club
Victoria Falls Safari Club
#4 of 16 in Victoria Falls
5.0 of 5 bubbles 373 reviews
1.7 mi away
The Victoria Falls Hotel
The Victoria Falls Hotel
#6 of 16 in Victoria Falls
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,230 reviews
1.0 mi away
Elephant Hills Resort
Elephant Hills Resort
#9 of 16 in Victoria Falls
4.0 of 5 bubbles 551 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
A'Zambezi River Lodge
A'Zambezi River Lodge
#12 of 16 in Victoria Falls
4.0 of 5 bubbles 816 reviews
0.9 mi away
Batonka Guest Lodge
Batonka Guest Lodge
#1 of 16 in Victoria Falls
5.0 of 5 bubbles 229 reviews
1.5 mi away
Ilala Lodge
Ilala Lodge
#7 of 16 in Victoria Falls
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Victoria Falls Safari Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Victoria Falls Safari Lodge

Property: Victoria Falls Safari Lodge
Address: 471 Squire Cummings Road, Victoria Falls, Zimbabwe
Phone Number:
Location: Zimbabwe > Matabeleland North Province > Victoria Falls
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Victoria Falls
#4 Spa Hotel in Victoria Falls
#4 Romantic Hotel in Victoria Falls
#5 Family Hotel in Victoria Falls
#8 Luxury Hotel in Victoria Falls
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Victoria Falls Safari Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Voted the best Safari Lodge in Zimbabwe for 20 years running, the world-famous Victoria Falls Safari Lodge offers easy access to the iconic Victoria Falls, coupled with a wildlife experience that is truly unrivalled. Now in its 22nd year of welcoming guests, the Lodge is built on a plateau overlooking the Zambezi National Park with endless unspoilt views to the horizon, just four kilometers from the Falls. This is the only sunset facing hotel in Victoria Falls, and the newly-renovated rooms and balconies are built up above a central waterhole which attracts herds of buffalo, elephant, giraffe, zebra, as well as night-time predators, such as lion and leopard. Our warm and personable staff are our greatest pride. Past guests frequently comment on our team's sublime hospitality and seamless delivery. The main areas of the lodge, such as the MaKuwa-Kuwa restaurant and the homely Buffalo Bar, are rich in ambience and also overlook the central waterhole, where drinks and dinners are often shared with wildlife meandering down to the water each day to quench their thirst. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Jovago.com, Agoda and Cancelon so you can book your Victoria Falls Safari Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Victoria Falls Safari Hotel Victoria Falls

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing