We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Safari from your room”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Victoria Falls Safari Lodge
Ranked #8 of 16 Hotels in Victoria Falls
Certificate of Excellence
La Selva Beach, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Safari from your room”
Reviewed October 26, 2013

The Victoria Falls Safari Lodge provides the safari experience without ever leaving your room with so many animals wandering up to the water hole throughout the day. We carried our binoculars with us at all times whether at the restaurant, bar or pool for closeups of the water hole visitors. As it was very hot during our visit, we spent considerable time in both the upper and lower pools. I loved how they were created to be like natural pools. We attended the Boma dinner and while it was fun, it is a somewhat "Disney" type of experience. Our final night, we had an excellent dinner in the restaurant. The staff was very helpful as we were a group of 10 from the US and Australia with a couple different excursions arrangements. I highly recommend doing the Lion Encounter while staying at the Safari Lodge. Traveling in Zimbabwe can be difficult (our return flight was delayed causing 4 of us to miss our international flights and all of our luggage was left at the airport and British Air had to Fedex the luggage to us) but it is worth it to see Victoria Falls and stay at the Safari Lodge.

Room Tip: Make sure your room has a view of the water hole- not all rooms do.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sarabroadbent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AfricaAlbidaTourism, General Manager at Victoria Falls Safari Lodge, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Hi there. Wow - even though you had such major issues with your flights, I'm very happy Safari Lodge was worth it all in the end. Yes, it is indeed a Safari from your room.

Jonathan Hudson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,746 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,100
    494
    118
    22
    12
See reviews for
334
666
156
83
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (352)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Macon, Georgia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2013

Victoria Falls Safari Lodge is the perfect hotel for exploring Victoria Falls, Zambezi National Park, and Chobe National Park in Botswana. We could not have been happier with our room, the location, the food or the great people. We simply do not know how people could give anything but a 5+ star rating. We did notice some people complained about about the lack of fast food ... personally we prefer an amazing Pumba over a greasy pizza any day!

This beautiful thatched lodge is literally in Zambezi National Park. Only a couple hundred meters from the lodge is a waterhole that is very frequently visited by elephants, buffalo, baboons, impala, hyenas, kudus, and many more. We visited during the dry season so the waterhole becomes a major draw.

Our room was extraordinary. We highly recommend the suite, which includes a beautiful loft and a separate lounge area. There is no television but why in the world would you want to watch television when "National Geographic Explorer" is on 24/7 from your balcony. Be sure to book a room with a balcony overlooking the waterhole ... you will not be disappointed.

Our only complaint was the very rude people at breakfast. Yes, we all know you are going on a safari today but there is no need to act like animals in the dining room. Our compliments to the staff who very patiently put up with their nonsense.

Room Tip: If possible book a suite overlooking the waterhole
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JPGirard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AfricaAlbidaTourism, General Manager at Victoria Falls Safari Lodge, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Hi there in North Dakota. Well done for not letting the negativity of others get the better of your stay with us. By the sounds of things you had a magnificent time. No need for National Geographic when you have the bush television right outside your room!

Jonathan Hudson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
53 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2013

It was Really hot when we arrived, like Really hot but from the moment we walked in the door these guys took care of us- we were offered cold, wet wash cloths to wipe our faces with and a glass of juice. We stayed in room 67 and I'd highly recommend asking for it. It is an upstairs room and has a decent view back to the water hole and the woods to the left of the waterhole and we saw troops of baboons and herds of buffalo approach from this direction as well as had buffalo and warthog right below our room at times.

The bathroom products smell great. The room size is perfect for too people. We also really appreciated the little touches they provided such as dropping the mosquito nets at night and leaving bottles of water for us.

The two levels of pools were great and we loved nothing more than going for a swim when we got too hot and then laying out to bronze while watching the watering hole. There is a bar above the pool and all the guys working there are super friendly. It was nice to have lunch delivered to us poolside.

Because of how hot and dry the area was, I didn't know how any animals could survive in the surrounding areas so I didn't think we'd see much but along with the warthogs, baboons, and buffalo already mentioned, we saw elephants, impala, kudu, mongooses (mongeese?), and a hyena, as well as crocs, storks and vultures.

I can't say enough good things about this place. We've only been away a week and I wish we were back again already!

Room Tip: We were in 67 and loved it. See review above.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dana L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AfricaAlbidaTourism, General Manager at Victoria Falls Safari Lodge, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Thanks so much for the comprehensive review. You saw some great wildlife at the waterhole - congrats. I'm happy that Safari Lodge was the perfect ending for your trip in Africa. I'm hoping it will live in your memories for many years to come.

Jonathan Hudson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
135 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2013

The Victoria Falls Safari Lodge is the perfect place for game watchers. With a large watering hole centered directly below the lodge, you can watch game cross the property from your room’s deck, from the restaurants and even from the outdoor swimming pool.
Downside to the site, it that yuo'll need a shuttle or a car to get into town. It's too far to walk.
72 Rooms with all the comforts of home, and then some, are laid out high on a hill overlooking the African bush. The rooms are not overly large, but the have all the comforts you would hope for living in the wilderness.
Down the hill, just a short walk away is the award winning Boma Restaurant where dining is an event every evening. Entertainers get you involved with singing, bongos, face painting, fortune tellers and certificates for those who dare eat a whole Mopani worm.

Room Tip: Stayed in room 25 - hard to find at first - but quite comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelWriterDB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AfricaAlbidaTourism, General Manager at Victoria Falls Safari Lodge, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Thanks for your comments. Yes, Safari Lodge is a wildlife watchers haven! The waterhole is a massive draw for game, and the fact that you can lie on your bed and spot animals is unique.

Hope to have you back soon.

Jonathan Hudson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boca raton
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2013

I stayed here for 6 nights in June 2013. The hotel is great and it is the best place to stay in Victoria Falls. The location is stunning and the waterhole out back provides endless game viewing from your private deck. The game drives were excellent and Zambezi National Park is stunning. Game was plentiful and the river bed is teaming with birds. The service was excellent and I would gladly stay here again. Victoria Falls is a wonderful sight. We drank a bottle of white wine on the cliff across from the falls lovely day. Do not rush and go on your own.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank peaks8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AfricaAlbidaTourism, General Manager at Victoria Falls Safari Lodge, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Hi there. Thanks so much for your review. I love the fact that you spent a good few days with us - you can really relax, enjoy the setting and slowly work your way through all the amazing things to do in Vic Falls.

Hope to see you back for another six days!

Jonathan Hudson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WA
Level Contributor
77 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2013

Flying straight from Perth WA late at night to arrive in Joburg mid morning with a few hours wait at the airport I boarded another plane which took me to Livingstone Airport in Zambia. My luggage went direct to Livingstone which I was happy about.
After the airport transfer over the border into Zimbabwe and a short interesting drive I landed at the Victoria Falls Safari Lodge. Oh my goodness what an introduction to the country! Location was perfect. My room was bliss -" Welcome Helen!" I was stoked as I had my own balcony where in the distance you could see the waterhole where the animals would come for a drink. I had a wonderful bed with a lovely bathroom. All glass doors looking out so you had the feel of being where you wanted to be.
I stayed here at the lodge for four unreal days.
The staff were very attentive not that I needed their service a great deal. Look after my room really well and each evening I would return to my room with the bedcovers back and net down. A welcome sight after a day out in Zimbabwe.
One warning is to make sure you understand the drop off points when you catch the lodge shuttle bus into the town. My driver gave me wrong instructions and after a long wait waiting for shuttle bus to return me to the lodge I ended up walking back. A hot journey!

Room Tip: Just remember to close the doors as a visitor may appear (baboon)
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 696HelenS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AfricaAlbidaTourism, General Manager at Victoria Falls Safari Lodge, responded to this review, October 27, 2013
Hello Helen,

Wow, what a fantastic experience and a wonderful first time in Zimbabwe. We loved having you to stay with us. Apologies about the misunderstanding with the drop-off times. We'd like to know more about what went wrong here, but hopefully it was just a once-off miscommunication.

Look forward to having you back again soon.

Jonathan Hudson
Resort General Manager
gm@saflodge.co.zw
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benoni, South Africa
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2013

Jonathan and his wonderful staff will always ensure that your every need is met to make you feel welcome and relaxed. After a day's work in the hot African sun, there is nothing more refreshing than sitting at the buffalo bar enjoying sundowners and a snack to carry you over to dinner.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chrishelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AfricaAlbidaTourism, General Manager at Victoria Falls Safari Lodge, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Hi Chrishelle,

It was an absolute pleasure hosting you, and I'm glad you enjoyed yourself so much with us. I look forward to seeing you again soon!

Jonathan Hudson
Resort General Manager
gm@saflodge.co.zw
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Victoria Falls hotels
0.0 mi away
Victoria Falls Safari Club
Victoria Falls Safari Club
#4 of 16 in Victoria Falls
384 reviews
1.7 mi away
The Victoria Falls Hotel
The Victoria Falls Hotel
#6 of 16 in Victoria Falls
2,251 reviews
1.0 mi away
Elephant Hills Resort
Elephant Hills Resort
#10 of 16 in Victoria Falls
561 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
A'Zambezi River Lodge
A'Zambezi River Lodge
#11 of 16 in Victoria Falls
829 reviews
1.5 mi away
Ilala Lodge
Ilala Lodge
#7 of 16 in Victoria Falls
1,116 reviews
4.2 mi away
The Elephant Camp
The Elephant Camp
#2 of 16 in Victoria Falls
824 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Victoria Falls Safari Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Victoria Falls Safari Lodge

Property: Victoria Falls Safari Lodge
Address: 471 Squire Cummings Road, Victoria Falls, Zimbabwe
Phone Number:
Location: Zimbabwe > Matabeleland North Province > Victoria Falls
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Victoria Falls
#4 Spa Hotel in Victoria Falls
#4 Romantic Hotel in Victoria Falls
#5 Family Hotel in Victoria Falls
#7 Luxury Hotel in Victoria Falls
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Victoria Falls Safari Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Voted the best Safari Lodge in Zimbabwe for 20 years running, the world-famous Victoria Falls Safari Lodge offers easy access to the iconic Victoria Falls, coupled with a wildlife experience that is truly unrivalled. Now in its 22nd year of welcoming guests, the Lodge is built on a plateau overlooking the Zambezi National Park with endless unspoilt views to the horizon, just four kilometers from the Falls. This is the only sunset facing hotel in Victoria Falls, and the newly-renovated rooms and balconies are built up above a central waterhole which attracts herds of buffalo, elephant, giraffe, zebra, as well as night-time predators, such as lion and leopard. Our warm and personable staff are our greatest pride. Past guests frequently comment on our team's sublime hospitality and seamless delivery. The main areas of the lodge, such as the MaKuwa-Kuwa restaurant and the homely Buffalo Bar, are rich in ambience and also overlook the central waterhole, where drinks and dinners are often shared with wildlife meandering down to the water each day to quench their thirst. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Jovago.com, Cancelon, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Victoria Falls Safari Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Victoria Falls Safari Hotel Victoria Falls

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing