We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Victoria Falls Safari Lodge
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Victoria Falls Safari Club(Victoria Falls)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Batonka Guest Lodge(Victoria Falls)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Elephant Hills Resort(Victoria Falls)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cresta Sprayview Hotel(Victoria Falls)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
A'Zambezi River Lodge(Victoria Falls)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
N1 Hotel Victoria Falls(Victoria Falls)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
Ilala Lodge(Victoria Falls)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (2,068)
Filter reviews
2,068 results
Traveler rating
1,321
572
133
29
13
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,321
572
133
29
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswater holewatering holevulture feedingsafari lodgeboma restaurantwatching the animalsbalcony overlookingbuffalo barevery hourshuttle busafrican experiencemosquito nettingthatched roofshuttle servicecape buffalostandard roomsunset cruise
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,509 - 1,514 of 2,068 reviews
Reviewed September 23, 2013

Beautiful setting. Room was fine as was the cleanliness and service. However, after traveling around other parts of Africa we found this area as a whole to be overpriced for the quality and luxury that was offered in comparison to other areas. One small example...$12 for a bottle of water at dinner?
I should note that it was a luxury vacation set up by a travel agent and we were willing to spend top dollar. it just didn't match up to other places visited in the same trip.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Rudynocri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AfricaAlbidaTourism, General Manager at Victoria Falls Safari Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded October 6, 2013

Hi there in Italy. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us.

With regards to the bottled water situation:
From time we do have to resort to importing bottled water and other products, when local goods are in short supply, and unfortunately attract heavy import duties and tax.

We sincerely apologise for that, and at all times strive to offer value and choice, whilst supporting local producers where ever possible.

Here is our usual bottled water price list:

$5 – for 1.5lt still
$3 – 500ml still
$4 – Canned sparkling
$8 – 1lt sparkling – out of stock

We try our best to provide excellent value for money and the majority of our feedback reflects this. We price our lodge as competitively as possible, and believe that we provide some of the best accommodation and bush experiences in Vic Falls and Zim. Please feel free to get in touch if you have any further questions.

Jonathan Hudson
Resort General Manager
gm@saflodge.co.zw

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2013

This hotel is located a few k's outside of the main settlement however the view from the bar which overlooks a watering hole is amazing. At dusk the animals (including buffalo, elephants, giraffe's, warthogs etc) come to get their nightly drink (which is what you are doing ironically) and you can watch them as a hungry croc lurks aroundiin the water trying to get his dinner!

The location is not a problem as the hotel offers regular shuttles into town and the hotel also has a booking office that can organise all of your activities.

The rooms are clean and spacious and the staff are very friendly. There is also a boma (buffet of all sorts of meats etc) restaurant next door which serves great food and also has dancing etc to keep people entertaind.

thoroughly recommended.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Nic M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AfricaAlbidaTourism, General Manager at Victoria Falls Safari Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded September 27, 2013

Hi Nic. Thanks so much for your in depth review. Theres some great info and tips in there. We are very happy that the experience was such an overall success. Glad you enjoyed The Boma - we could not recommend it enough.

Jonathan Hudson
Resort General Manager
gm@saflodge.co.zw

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2013

We chose Safari Lodge over other hotels because it is somewhat out of the village and has a watering hole that attracts a variety of wildlife. The lodge was comfortable and the watering hole did not disappoint. It was a very pleasant experience sitting in the open restaurant/bar have a meal or a drink and watching for different animals to show up at the watering hole. The breakfast was good with a wide variety of fresh and cooked items. The staff was friendly and helpful. The only negative I had was that the bedroom was lower than the hall and bathroom. The three steps leading up to the hall created a potential hazard in the middle of the night with no light to see by. I always put a night light in the bath, but had no place to put one to illuminate the hall.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marwin K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AfricaAlbidaTourism, General Manager at Victoria Falls Safari Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded September 27, 2013

Hi Marwin. Thanks for the review. It seems you had the quintessential Safari lodge experience and we are very glad the waterhole did not disappoint. It's always the perfect setting for a drink, meal or just to relax and watch the wildlife go by. We have noted your feedback regarding the steps and lighting and will look into this shortly. Looking forward to having you back soon.

Jonathan Hudson
Resort General Manager
gm@saflodge.co.zw

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2013

Wow...What a place! After staying a night at the historic Victoria Falls Hotel, we decided to spend a few more nights at the Safari Lodge, and were happy we did. The enormous thatched roof and layers of walkways within were spectacular, with views of the game at the watering hole throughout. The suite was one of the nicest places I've ever stayed, with a draped, 4 poster bed, huge tub for two in the master suite, and downstairs living room. I would be happy if I could live the rest of my years in a house like this! The lodge's main restaurant was delightful, and very busy each night with a changing menu and live entertainment. The morning buffet featured the best home-made granola I've ever had, pancakes, bloody Mary's, and many delightful treats. The bar was a favorite spot with an amazing hand stitched tapestry of a Cape buffalo...it looks like a photo!
I love the pool too...beautiful design, natural & perfect to cool off!

Room Tip: The suites are really great.
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lynn E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AfricaAlbidaTourism, General Manager at Victoria Falls Safari Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded September 27, 2013

Hi in California. Thanks for the review. Yes, our rooms are always a hit with guests - and glad you decided to spend more time with us once bitten by the Safari Lodge bug! Come again and we can guarantee even more fun and relaxation here in wild Africa.

Jonathan Hudson
Resort General Manager
gm@saflodge.co.zw

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2013

The rooms have all the WOW factor one could want! All rooms open up to a balcony overlooking the bush to a waterhole. A herd of kudu were just below our room while we were unpacking and at sunset, a very large herd of buffalo came down to the waterhole. What's not to love!

The hotel is beautiful with manicured lawns "trimmed" by the warthog and a delightful pool area. We ate in the restaurant for breakfast and a dinner - and the food was very good with friendly and efficient staff eager to make our stay an enjoyable one!

We used their guest services to book outings - which made life so easy! We were in a helicopter over the Falls within an hour of booking! It was a wonderful stay where we experienced a true Zimbabwe welcome.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TwoToGo2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AfricaAlbidaTourism, General Manager at Victoria Falls Safari Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded September 27, 2013

Thanks so much for your review. Our rooms looking over the waterhole are certainly something that makes us unique. And we are glad your experience was no exception. Look forward to having you back!

Jonathan Hudson
Resort General Manager
gm@saflodge.co.zw

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews