We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Ilala Lodge(Victoria Falls)
$328
$306
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$213
$195
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Elephant Hills Resort(Victoria Falls)
$186
$156
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$470
$371
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
A'Zambezi River Lodge(Victoria Falls)
$187
$182
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Pamusha Lodge(Victoria Falls)
$146
$99
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Victoria Falls Backpackers(Victoria Falls)(Great Value!)
$43
$17
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
The Elephant Camp(Victoria Falls)
$753
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$603
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (2,196)
Filter reviews
2,196 results
Traveler rating
1,407
605
137
31
16
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,407
605
137
31
16
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswater holewatering holevulture feedingsafari lodgeanimals comingboma restaurantbalcony overlookingwatching the animalsbuffalo barevery hourmosquito nettingshuttle busafrican experiencecape buffalothatched roofshuttle servicestandard room
Filter
Updating list...
1,639 - 1,644 of 2,196 reviews
Reviewed September 5, 2013 via mobile

Great hotel, food was very good. Rest overlooking a water hole. Lot of animals coming to drink water. Just wonderful. Exotic place close to Victoria Falls and Bonsawna. Shoutles runing to town other hotels and the falls every hour. Taxis charge $10 for a ride. Shouttle will safe you some funds.
Make sure togo to Chobe Marina in Bonsowana for a boat safari trip. It was the best of four Safaris we had.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank andres m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AfricaAlbidaTourism, General Manager at Victoria Falls Safari Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded September 27, 2013

Hi andres. Thanks for the review and the great info that you have provided. Chobe is indeed a fantastic experience. We also recommend our guests see the river in all its splendour. Hope to see you again soon.

Jonathan Hudson
Resort General Manager
gm@saflodge.co.zw

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2013

We can highly recommend the Vic Falls Safari lodge. The food was excellent. Drinks in the bar over looking the water hole before dinner is a must. The manager was attentive and helpful. The rooms could do with an update, but this didn't worry us too much everything else made up for it. We would definitely stay at the lodge again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank happitraveller212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AfricaAlbidaTourism, General Manager at Victoria Falls Safari Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded September 27, 2013

Hi there to you in South Africa. Thanks so much for your review of our lodge. We are glad that you enjoyed the experience, and we agree: drinks over the waterhole is one of the most wonderful and relaxing things you can do in the lodge. We'll keep you posted regarding room updates, and hope to see you again soon.

Jonathan Hudson
Resort General Manager
gm@saflodge.co.zw

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

This hotel was our first stop in Africa and it was indeed a very nice start! Sipping a drink at the bar overlooking the waterhole and watching the beautiful African sunset! Apart from the stunning view from the bar, I also enjoyed the dining experience at the Boma restaurant where you get to taste local food and watch local dance and drum shows. The activity desk is very helpful and it was very convenient to book all the activities through them (can strongly recommend the white water rafting along the Zambezi River). The rooms are clean and most of them have a nice view of the waterhole from the balcony. The only issue we had was for some reason there were always so many mosquitos in the room and bathroom. All the beds have mosquito nets so it is not a big issue at night.

Room Tip: Try to get a room on the second floor and make sure your mosquito net has no holes..
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Picx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AfricaAlbidaTourism, General Manager at Victoria Falls Safari Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded September 3, 2013

Hi there in London! We are very happy our lodge was the start of your trip! And that it turned out so great! Yes, at certain times of year the mosquitos can be quite a pain - it is strange that they made it into your room, as all the windows in the rooms have mosquito nets on them. Sometimes keeping the door open with the lights on can cause them to come in quite quickly. Anyway, it is all part of the African experience.

Hope to see you again soon,

Jonathan Hudson
Resort General Manager
gm@saflodge.co.zw

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2013

My family of 5 stayed in 3 adjacent rooms - our first nights in Africa. The Lodge was the perfect entree - fantastic views of the waterhole as well as the rest of the Lodge due to the curve of the property. Warthogs wander around the lawn in the front and are happy to pose for photos. The main part of the Lodge is on 3 separate levels, with a restaurant (also with great views), a bar/viewing area/pool, and shop/TV room. The quality of the food was excellent (make sure, though, that the front desk confirms your reservation with the restaurant - one of our dinner reservations went missing). As the sun sets directly over the waterhole, evenings at the open-air bar were fantastic. The Lodge offers regular shuttle bus departures to the Falls and to several locations in the town itself.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ConnecticutDad2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AfricaAlbidaTourism, General Manager at Victoria Falls Safari Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded September 3, 2013

Hi there. Very happy you enjoyed your stay with us so much and for rating us so highly. To your one point - we apologise that one of your reservations for the restaurant went missing - I'd like to follow up on this. Agreed, sunsets and evenings are indeed spectacular at the lodge - that's what we love about it.

Look forward to having you back soon!

Jonathan Hudson
Resort General Manager
gm@saflodge.co.zw

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2013

Stayed here for 4 nights as the first stop on a holiday in Africa. This place was first class. Perfect combination of a 5 star with a rustic touch.
Its setting is Africa at it's best.
Particularly enjoyed a drink in the bar at sunset, watching the animals come to the waterhole and then repeating it at breakfast.
The room was beautifully appointed with a balcony overlooking Africa.
The service was superb and the staff very friendly and efficient.
Jonathon Hudson the General Manager mixed well with his staff and the guests and was a very "hands on" manager, even taking orders for drinks.
I cant recommend this place highly enough.

Room Tip: We had a standard room and that was brilliant. Maybe ask for one with a good view of the waterhole.
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank skynnylyzyrd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AfricaAlbidaTourism, General Manager at Victoria Falls Safari Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded September 3, 2013

Thanks for referring to us as "the perfect place to stay!" It was a huge privilege to have you and we are very happy everything worked out so magically. That's the African bush for you. We do try to get the rustic feel, combined with the comforts and luxury you may be used to.

Would love to have you back soon.

Jonathan Hudson
Resort General Manager
gm@saflodge.co.zw

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews