We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Ilala Lodge(Victoria Falls)
$388
$322
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
A'Zambezi River Lodge(Victoria Falls)
$177
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$213
$195
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cresta Sprayview Hotel(Victoria Falls)(Great Value!)
$226
$215
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$478
$426
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
N1 Hotel Victoria Falls(Victoria Falls)(Great Value!)
$68
$61
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Victoria Falls Backpackers Lodge(Victoria Falls)(Great Value!)
$43
$15
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
The Elephant Camp(Victoria Falls)
$753
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$1,017
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (2,201)
Filter reviews
2,201 results
Traveler rating
1,412
605
137
31
16
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,412
605
137
31
16
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswater holewatering holevulture feedingsafari lodgeanimals comingboma restaurantbalcony overlookingwatching the animalsbuffalo barevery hourmosquito nettingshuttle busafrican experiencecape buffalothatched roofshuttle servicestandard room
Filter
Updating list...
1,650 - 1,655 of 2,201 reviews
Reviewed August 31, 2013

As others have said this is a beautiful thatched typical Africa structure. Our room was spotlessly clean, spacious and best of all we had an uninterrupted view of the waterhole from our balcony. They provide a large raised platform area where meals and drinks can be enjoyed while looking to the waterhole for animals or to enjoy the beautiful Africa sunset.
We went to the famed Bora close by for dinner. It was indeed as we had been told the best Bora to experience in the area. This was a remarkable night of delicious food and the best interactive after dinner music session I have experienced. A Mopani worm can be eaten by the brave and rewarded with a certificate! The four course Buffet meal was delicious, and when the night drew to a close we were shuttled back to the lodge close by. The staff were friendly, attentive and professional. All in all it was a memorable stay...next time we will book a longer stay!

Room Tip: At 6pm staff came to turn down beds, drop the mosquito net and spray the room to ensure a peaceful, comfortable sleep for their guests.
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BrendaEves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AfricaAlbidaTourism, General Manager at Victoria Falls Safari Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded September 1, 2013

Hi Brenda - well, we look forward to having you back for longer next time too. ;) Thanks for the great review, and we are so happy you enjoyed the Boma experience as much as everyone else who visits. It really is something special.

Jonathan Hudson
Resort General Manager
gm@saflodge.co.zw

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2013

We stayed at this lodge for 3 nights in July. As this is peak season we could only get a deluxe room that was huge with a living area downstairs and the bedroom upstairs. The stairs are very steep so if you don't like the idea of this perhaps choose a standard room. Our room had a private balcony that overlooked the lodge waterhole so we could watch the animals coming into drink at our leisure. We saw buffalo, various deer, warthogs, baboons and birds at the waterhole at different times of the day. The waterhole is visible from other public areas of the lodge so if you can't get a deluxe room don't despair. This lodge is more a hotel than a lodge and only breakfast was included in the daily rate (tented camps we stayed at in Kenya had full board). One night we went to a Boma - a traditional Africa dinner and cultural show - at the lodge and we surprised ourselves by enjoying it. The very good food was buffet style with BBQ items and many but not only African delicacies. The traditional music and dancing was energetic and colourful and didn't go on for too long.
Victoria Falls is a short drive away and as expected huge and a must see (why else would you go to Vic Falls?). Walking along the adjoining path we wore raincoats (supplied but not glamorous!) which were needed as the spray is unrelenting - this made for many misty camera shots too.
A morning trip into the Victoria Falls township was a waste of time. The Curio market in the brochures is a dusty, dirty area filled with the same uninspiring souvenirs for fluctuating prices.
The only highlight of the town visit was buying some Zimbabwe money - for 1USD we bought two Zimbabwe dollar notes - one was for 2 million dollars and the other for 200,000 dollars! Great gifts for our sons back home and not worth the paper they were written on.....

Room Tip: book a deluxe room for a private view of the waterhole. take USD to Africa regardless of your nationality.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carolynt23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AfricaAlbidaTourism, General Manager at Victoria Falls Safari Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded September 1, 2013

Thanks Carolyn for all the tips. I'm sure people will take what you have said into account when planning their trips into town. Yes, the townships are not for everyone but lots of people do enjoy the experience. We agree - The Boma in a must!

Jonathan Hudson
Resort General Manager
gm@saflodge.co.zw

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2013

What a fantastic hotel, definitely the place to stay if you are looking for a quieter African experience. Beautiful traditional strucure under thatch, with amazing views over the waterhole. We could happily sat on the deck or by the pool all day with a cold drink in one hand and binoculars in the other watching the game at the waterhole. Don't miss the vulture feeding at 1pm every day or the amazing dinner with live African entertainment in the Boma at night.
Thank you to Jonathan Hudson the manager and his great staff for your brilliant service

Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
2  Thank nigelsIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AfricaAlbidaTourism, General Manager at Victoria Falls Safari Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded September 1, 2013

Hi Nigel - thanks for naming us the best place to stay in Vic Falls! We really do appreciate such a great review. It was as much a pleasure having you with us - fantastic to get to know you.

Jonathan Hudson
Resort General Manager
gm@saflodge.co.zw

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2013

Just concluded a fabulous 6 week visit to Africa which included a visit to Victoria Falls. Accommodation throughout was in various hotels, chalets and tented camps. All were exceptional, but the best one was the Victoria Falls Safari Lodge -- comfortable room, excellent food, friendly and helpful staff who anticipated everything: GREAT!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Randall B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AfricaAlbidaTourism, General Manager at Victoria Falls Safari Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded August 28, 2013

Hi Randall - wow - we are so glad Vic Falls Safari Lodge was such a major highlight. Six weeks in Africa must have been fantastic and to end it off with us is an honour. Look forward to having you back again.

Jonathan Hudson
Resort General Manager
gm@saflodge.co.zw

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2013

Lodge accommodations are first class. Staff is excellent. Concierge or travel desk was excellent in arranging side excursions. Restaurant and lounge overlook a watering hole visited by all kinds of wildlife. Rooms have this view, too. Mosquitoes were present in the room, but nightly a net was shrouded around the bed.

Room Tip: When picked up at the airport by Shearwater, a representative got in the vehicle. She introduced herself as our personal travel guide. She wanted to book all kinds of excursions for us. She was going to be present on these, but was not seen again and required cash or Visa payment. It was price competitive and not too high pressure, but it is best to wait to make side trip arrangements at the hotel.
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 93MartinG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AfricaAlbidaTourism, General Manager at Victoria Falls Safari Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded August 25, 2013

Hi Martin. Thanks so much for your kind review. We really take strides to make sure everything is smooth and efficient, so that you can just relax and enjoy being in the African bush. Its great that you enjoyed the room and the view of the waterhole - certainly a highlight for many. Look forward to having you back soon.

Jonathan Hudson
Resort General Manager
gm@saflodge.co.zw

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews