We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Ilala Lodge(Victoria Falls)
$388
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$454
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$212
$195
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cresta Sprayview Hotel(Victoria Falls)
$222
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
N1 Hotel Victoria Falls(Victoria Falls)(Great Value!)
$68
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
A'Zambezi River Lodge(Victoria Falls)
$177
$165
HotelQuickly
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Elephant Camp(Victoria Falls)
$753
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$1,017
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Victoria Falls Backpackers Lodge(Victoria Falls)(Great Value!)
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (2,200)
Filter reviews
2,200 results
Traveler rating
1,411
605
137
31
16
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,411
605
137
31
16
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswater holewatering holevulture feedingsafari lodgeanimals comingboma restaurantbalcony overlookingwatching the animalsbuffalo barevery hourmosquito nettingshuttle busafrican experiencecape buffalothatched roofshuttle servicestandard room
Filter
Updating list...
1,652 - 1,657 of 2,200 reviews
Reviewed August 26, 2013

Just concluded a fabulous 6 week visit to Africa which included a visit to Victoria Falls. Accommodation throughout was in various hotels, chalets and tented camps. All were exceptional, but the best one was the Victoria Falls Safari Lodge -- comfortable room, excellent food, friendly and helpful staff who anticipated everything: GREAT!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Randall B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AfricaAlbidaTourism, General Manager at Victoria Falls Safari Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded August 28, 2013

Hi Randall - wow - we are so glad Vic Falls Safari Lodge was such a major highlight. Six weeks in Africa must have been fantastic and to end it off with us is an honour. Look forward to having you back again.

Jonathan Hudson
Resort General Manager
gm@saflodge.co.zw

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2013

Lodge accommodations are first class. Staff is excellent. Concierge or travel desk was excellent in arranging side excursions. Restaurant and lounge overlook a watering hole visited by all kinds of wildlife. Rooms have this view, too. Mosquitoes were present in the room, but nightly a net was shrouded around the bed.

Room Tip: When picked up at the airport by Shearwater, a representative got in the vehicle. She introduced herself as our personal travel guide. She wanted to book all kinds of excursions for us. She was going to be present on these, but was not seen again and required cash or Visa payment. It was price competitive and not too high pressure, but it is best to wait to make side trip arrangements at the hotel.
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 93MartinG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AfricaAlbidaTourism, General Manager at Victoria Falls Safari Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded August 25, 2013

Hi Martin. Thanks so much for your kind review. We really take strides to make sure everything is smooth and efficient, so that you can just relax and enjoy being in the African bush. Its great that you enjoyed the room and the view of the waterhole - certainly a highlight for many. Look forward to having you back soon.

Jonathan Hudson
Resort General Manager
gm@saflodge.co.zw

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2013

We recently stayed at the Victoria Falls Safari Lodge & found the service & the staff to be fabulous. Nothing was too much trouble. The rooms & lodge were clean & comfortable. Our Guide supplied to us for our tour of Victoria Falls was extremely informative. The Lodge organised all our activities & shuttle buses.

Room Tip: Ask for one overlooking the water hole.
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chris V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AfricaAlbidaTourism, General Manager at Victoria Falls Safari Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded August 21, 2013

Hi Chris, we are very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us so much. We really do go out of our way to ensure everything is top notch. Yes, the Vic Falls tour is certainly a highlight for most! Hope to see you again soon.

Jonathan Hudson
Resort General Manager
gm@saflodge.co.zw

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2013

This beautifully designed lodge with a typical thatched straw roof melts into the surrounding scenery and is a pleasure to stay in. Laid out on several levels - most of the hotel areas overlook the large waterhole at the back and many rooms also have a view of it. We were in number 27 where you could just see it so try and get one of the rooms from say 15 to 24 for the optimum view.

The small swimming pool has a sunbathing deck which leads into the bar and balcony area where you can order snacks with a more formal restaurant upstairs, above that on the next level is a seating area and viewing platform. Added attractions were the trio of warthogs wandering around cropping the grass outside, a baboon and two squirrels sitting on our bedroom balcony and the feeding of a flock of vultures - a real bunfight and very interesting to watch!

The bedrooms are very comfortable and nicely decorated, and are provided with all amenities you might need (safe, hairdryer, tea & coffee making facilities, bottled water and toiletries - including sunblock and insect repellent - very thoughtful!) and the centre-piece of the room is the large mosquito canopy over the bed which the staff fold down for you when turning the beds down at night.

Food at the restaurant was good although the service was a little slow, mainly because it was a full house the night we ate there. Some other reviews say the price is expensive, it didn't seem too bad to us but I think you might find you're a captive market wherever you are in Victoria Falls and so prices rise accordingly. The buffet for breakfast had a wide selection and the cost was included in the room rate. The courtesy bus is extremely punctual with hourly runs into town (a five minute drive) where they drop you off and pick you up at a variety of stops.

All the staff we came into contact with were polite and helpful and we would have no hesitation in recommending this hotel to others. A note for those who want to be in the "thick" of things you should perhaps consider staying at Ilala Lodge or Victoria Falls Hotel which are in the centre of town as the Safari Lodge is located about 7 minutes’ drive out of town and you probably wouldn’t want to walk the distance.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TripTrundlers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AfricaAlbidaTourism, General Manager at Victoria Falls Safari Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded August 18, 2013

Hello to you in Bahrain! Thanks so much for your in-depth review of our lodge. We are very happy that most things matched up and exceeded expectations. We'd love to have you back soon!

Jonathan Hudson
Resort General Manager
gm@saflodge.co.zw

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2013

The lodge is on the most beautiful setting. From our balcony we could see a watering hole and herds of buffalo, elephants, impala and a variety of other animals would wander to the watering hole during the day and the evening. It is even bright enough to see the animals from the restaurant in the evening. This was definitely a highlight of the lodge. There were also baboons and lots of wart hogs on the grounds.

There is no tv in the room, so watching the animals was a good way to pass the time between excursions.

It is a bit cool in July and the dining room is outdoors so bring some sweaters and jackets.

Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Krista F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AfricaAlbidaTourism, General Manager at Victoria Falls Safari Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded August 18, 2013

Hi there in Canada! Thanks for your review. Yes, certainly one of the best parts of our lodge is the wonderful waterhole! So much to see there all day and night.

Jonathan Hudson
Resort General Manager
gm@saflodge.co.zw

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews