We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Authentic experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Victoria Falls Safari Lodge
Ranked #8 of 16 Hotels in Victoria Falls
Certificate of Excellence
Berkeley, California
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Authentic experience”
Reviewed July 14, 2013

We recently spent 2 nights at this hotel. It was a very nice hotel with an African bush theme - a perfect way to start our safari holiday. We ate at each of their restaurants and enjoyed the food. The show at the Boma was average at best but there really isn't anything else to do around the hotel. We took the Flight of Angels 25-minute helicopter ride which was well worth doing to see the span of the Falls and lots of wildlife below. We also took a day canoe trip on mild rapids which was fine. We needed to come to Vic Falls anyway for the beginning of our Botswana safari vacation however, if you have the choice, I'd skip it. Given all the impressive sights in the world, this is not one of them.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EmilyWaugh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glenbyrom, General Manager at Victoria Falls Safari Lodge, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Hello Emily. Thanks for your four-star review that has left our team somewhat bemused like a wounded buffalo...hurt but not down and out! We value your headline and four stars as a real compliment, but we must provide our view of your advice to "skip the falls" as a destination. Over countless years many thousands of visitors from all over the globe have visited the falls and have been astonished by its awesome power and magnitude. It is routinely rated as one of the "must-see-in-your-lifetime" sights and I cannot recall a single person being anything other than mesmerised. However, we bow to your right of opinion, but I would dearly love to hear from you as to how you reached this rating....what is it that aggravated you or that you didn't enjoy? Did you take your time to walk the entire mile-wide distance of the Falls and stop and every vantage point? These are the most majestic falls in the world; more than twice the size of Niagara and the centrepiece of Victoria Falls being such a world-class and desired destination. Perhaps we should post an opinion poll to see if there are others who share your viewpoint as it would be an interesting survey for us. No matter, we thank you for staying with us and for appreciating that our setting is genuine and not contrived. This is real Africa just 10 minutes from the falls and the town centre. With good wishes. Jonathan Hudson. Resort General Manager. gm@saflodge.co.zw
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,724 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,085
    489
    116
    22
    12
See reviews for
332
657
154
82
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (344)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Duluth, Georgia
Level Contributor
42 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2013

We stayed 3 nights at the VFSL after spending a week in South Africa. We had a very nice room overlooking the waterhole. The staff at the hotel are very friendly and go out of their way to make your visit a rewarding one. We took the free shuttle to town and toured the falls one morning and then did a sunset cruise on the Zambezi River that evening. The next morning we arose early and did the Elephant Safari Walk and that afternoon did the Helicopter tour over Victoria Falls. The food at the restaurant was very good with interesting game choices for entrees. The bar overlooks the watering hole and we enjoyed our adult beverages watching the animals come for water and feeding. We went to the Boma restaurant our last evening and it was a unique experience.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank melanieandjim4ever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glenbyrom, General Manager at Victoria Falls Safari Lodge, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Hello Melanie & Jim. Thank you for your highly valued five-star review of your three-night experience at our lodge. You put it all very succinctly and in a matter-of-fact way that we know will inspire others to follow your example and stay with us as a tranquil and richly-rewarding experience in the authentic wilds just 10 minutes away from the town centre and the falls. Indeed as I write there is a herd of about 100 buffalo gathering at the water hole for their sunset drink to the great delight of the guests. You will most certainly be able to vividly imagine the scene! Jonathan Hudson. Resort General manager. gm@saflodge.co.zw
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PA.
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2013

beautifully located, superb food, worth every penny. Great spot. must see the falls and bring camera for wonderful photo ops at hotel. situated on a watering hole so had dinner while watching the elephants graze. Surreal.

Room Tip: absolutely wonderful. only positive things and would go back in a minute. 5 stars all the way.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michele P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AfricaAlbidaTourism, General Manager at Victoria Falls Safari Lodge, responded to this review, July 13, 2013
Hello Michele. Thank you for your short but high-impact review that leaves no doubt that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us. I'm glad you found lots of photo ops around the lodge and especially watching the elephants while having dinner. We hope you'll return one day. Jonathan Hudson. Resort General Manager. gm@saflodge.co.zw
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bruce, Australia
1 review
Reviewed July 8, 2013

An excellent hotel with superb views over the game reserve & water hole. Excellent game viewing and the daily feeding of the vultures made a great start to our African holiday. Room was very comfortable & well appointed, the service excellent & the staff could not have been more helpful. A great spot.

Room Tip: The rooms at the Safari Club are new, but further from the water hole
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ben H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AfricaAlbidaTourism, General Manager at Victoria Falls Safari Lodge, responded to this review, July 13, 2013
Hello Ben. Thanks for your great endorsement of our lodge, it's nice to see a satisfied customer. Did you know that daily vulture feeding is not just exciting entertainment for our guests but also very much part of our acclaimed Green Steps eco-policy to preserve the wildlife and the environment. Vultures habitats are threatened all over Africa and thus various research stations have been set up across the continent and our lodge is fortunate to have one. Jonathan Hudson. Resort General Manager. gm@saflodge.co.zw
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paarl, South Africa
Level Contributor
66 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2013

This hotel on the outskirts of Vic Falls is really great. We had three nights and had a ball. Our rooms were spacious and neat. We had beautiful views across the landscape. The restaurant overlooks a waterhole that has fairly busy activity - especially the vultures at 1pm... The shuttle in and out of town is convenient and the staff were always happy to oblige any needs. We had good quality food and the entertainment was great.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travelgigg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AfricaAlbidaTourism, General Manager at Victoria Falls Safari Lodge, responded to this review, July 13, 2013
Hello to you in beautiful Paarl. Not a single negative in your short but worthy review of your stay with us - thank you. The beautiful view is headlined in almost every review and we trust potential guests looking for a piece of authentic Africa will note this as a key factor and come and enjoy their stay with us. Jonathan Hudson. Resort General manager. gm@saflodge.co.zw
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Chester, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
138 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2013

It is beautifully located and the rooms are wonderful and fully airconditioned. The Lodge over looks a watering hole so at anytime of the day, especially in early morning and evenings, a lot of animals come to drink. But, to take good photos, you will need a good zoom lens. It is worth every cent - I would suggest staying there to anyone planning to visit Victoria Falls.

Room Tip: All rooms have a belcony that overlooks the watering hole. Wake up early, relax on 'your' b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Miller C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AfricaAlbidaTourism, General Manager at Victoria Falls Safari Lodge, responded to this review, July 13, 2013
Thank you Miller in the USA for your excellent review. We're glad you loved the rooms, but did you know that early next year all 72 rooms will be totally re-styled in a new more modern way without losing the essence of Africa. Keep following our Blog and Facebook and we shall reveal the new style there just as soon as possible. Yes, you di need a 500 mm lens if you wish to take good wildlife shot from the lodge to the waterhole, but you can also go and sit in the underground Hide right at the waterhole with a professional guide and get into trunk-touching distance of the elephants.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2013

We stayed at the Safari Lodge in July 2013. Our rooms were clean and the staff was very friendly! This lodge made for a luxurious break from a very busy trip! The staff also went out of their way to make us feel comfortable and knew us by name immediately. The fact that this lodge was slightly out of town was a plus for us. We enjoyed going to the falls and exploring the out lying area, but it was so nice to come "home" to our ritual sundowner every night in a tranquil setting. Our balconies faced the waterhole, which made for all day animal viewing (including elephants). They also faced the west so every night we enjoyed the beautiful African sunset either privately on our balcony or with friends on the deck. Safari lodge was the perfect place for us!

Room Tip: Verify that it has a waterhole view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Meesh P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AfricaAlbidaTourism, General Manager at Victoria Falls Safari Lodge, responded to this review, July 13, 2013
Hello Meesh. Your comment that being out of the town centre was a benefit is greatly appreciated and is a little gem as advice goes to those researching where to stay at Victoria Falls. You qualify that by noting that you really looked forward at the end of the day to retreating (just 10 minutes in our regular shuttle) to your sundowners overlooking the wildlife, waterhole and often glorious sunsets. We are, indeed, the only property in the entire area that has such an elevated west-facing aspect to take advantage of the famed Zambezi River sunsets. THE perfect place for you...and we hope too that your comments will inspire many future guests to enjoy our piece of authentic Africa. Jonathan Hudson. Resort General Manager. gm@saflodge.co.zw
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Victoria Falls hotels
0.0 mi away
Victoria Falls Safari Club
Victoria Falls Safari Club
#4 of 16 in Victoria Falls
5.0 of 5 bubbles 373 reviews
1.7 mi away
The Victoria Falls Hotel
The Victoria Falls Hotel
#6 of 16 in Victoria Falls
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,228 reviews
1.0 mi away
Elephant Hills Resort
Elephant Hills Resort
#9 of 16 in Victoria Falls
4.0 of 5 bubbles 550 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
A'Zambezi River Lodge
A'Zambezi River Lodge
#12 of 16 in Victoria Falls
4.0 of 5 bubbles 814 reviews
0.9 mi away
Batonka Guest Lodge
Batonka Guest Lodge
#1 of 16 in Victoria Falls
5.0 of 5 bubbles 222 reviews
1.5 mi away
Ilala Lodge
Ilala Lodge
#7 of 16 in Victoria Falls
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,099 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Victoria Falls Safari Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Victoria Falls Safari Lodge

Property: Victoria Falls Safari Lodge
Address: 471 Squire Cummings Road, Victoria Falls, Zimbabwe
Phone Number:
Location: Zimbabwe > Matabeleland North Province > Victoria Falls
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Victoria Falls
#4 Romantic Hotel in Victoria Falls
#4 Spa Hotel in Victoria Falls
#5 Family Hotel in Victoria Falls
#8 Luxury Hotel in Victoria Falls
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Victoria Falls Safari Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Voted the best Safari Lodge in Zimbabwe for 20 years running, the world-famous Victoria Falls Safari Lodge offers easy access to the iconic Victoria Falls, coupled with a wildlife experience that is truly unrivalled. Now in its 22nd year of welcoming guests, the Lodge is built on a plateau overlooking the Zambezi National Park with endless unspoilt views to the horizon, just four kilometers from the Falls. This is the only sunset facing hotel in Victoria Falls, and the newly-renovated rooms and balconies are built up above a central waterhole which attracts herds of buffalo, elephant, giraffe, zebra, as well as night-time predators, such as lion and leopard. Our warm and personable staff are our greatest pride. Past guests frequently comment on our team's sublime hospitality and seamless delivery. The main areas of the lodge, such as the MaKuwa-Kuwa restaurant and the homely Buffalo Bar, are rich in ambience and also overlook the central waterhole, where drinks and dinners are often shared with wildlife meandering down to the water each day to quench their thirst. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Jovago.com, Cancelon and Agoda so you can book your Victoria Falls Safari Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Victoria Falls Safari Hotel Victoria Falls

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing