We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Victoria Falls Safari Lodge
Ranked #8 of 16 Hotels in Victoria Falls
Certificate of Excellence
Adelaide, South Australia, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Outstanding”
Reviewed April 4, 2013

I just joined Trip Advisor and immediately thought of this hotel as a stand out to review. I stayed in late 2009 but it still rates as one of the best holiday experiences I have had. The bar/restaurant overlooking the waterhole is amazing, and the room was great - there was an abundance of wildlife everywhere around the resort and the staff were very friendly and helpful.I loved Zimbabwe, the cruise on the Zambezi River, the helicopter flight over the falls and the day trip to Chobe National park in Botswana. An excellent experience.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AfricaAlbidaTourism, General Manager at Victoria Falls Safari Lodge, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
Hello Mark
We sure do believe in the old adage "better late than never." It speaks volumes that you have been inspired, all the way from Melbourne, to contribute such a positive review , albeit some years after you stayed with us.

It's great that you recall one of the best holiday experiences you ever had and that you loved Zimbabwe as so many do. We're on a big rebound as a country right now as we spruce up for the UNWTO global summit at Victoria Falls in August that will do wonders for our marketing.

Jonathan Hudson
Resort General manager
jonathan@saflodge.co.zw
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,755 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,103
    500
    118
    22
    12
See reviews for
336
668
156
84
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (352)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
108 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed April 3, 2013

Having spend two nights on our African journey after visiting Kenya, Tanzania and South Africa. This hotel was very special:
a. The view from the room on to the water hole from the room and the restaurants is simply spectacular
b. Hotel being outside of city, feels like you on a Safari versus staying in the city
c. A wealth of tours and great service. We have partaken in a Horse Safari as well as Elephant Safari tours. Both very professionally done and highlights of our trip.

Many rooms have excellent view of the water hole, the food while not inexpensive is of good quality and the service to match.

Highly recommended this hotel as a gateway to Victoria Falls truly a seventh wonder.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ilya42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AfricaAlbidaTourism, General Manager at Victoria Falls Safari Lodge, responded to this review, April 20, 2013
Hello Toronto
Trip Advisor is about the power of the neutral unbiased view and yours is golden to us at Victoria falls safari Lodge - thank you so much! You went to kenya, Tanzania, South Africa and still rated our lodge as a "very special standout."

We have had the very rare viewpoint that we're too far out of town....your review puts it into perfect perspective.as this is actually a significant benefit. Our free on the hour shuttle service takes guests to town and to the Falls in just 10 minutes, thus allowing you to enjoy that safari feel and ambiance.

yes, the Falls are one of the true natural wonders of the world and one must see it, feel it, smell it to believe the power.

Jonathan Hudson
Resort General Manager
jonathan@saflodge.co.zw
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloemfontein
Level Contributor
125 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed April 3, 2013

We had a wonderful time at the Safari Lodge. The staff is extremely friendly and helpful. We saw impala, kudu, buffalos, elephants, warthogs, and a wide variety of birds from the comfort of our balcony overlooking the waterhole. There is an hourly shuttle service from the lodge to the Victoria Falls town – dropping you off at different places of interest and restaurants (this service runs from 8:45 until 22:00. The service during breakfast and dinner is very slow (we forfeited our warm breakfast twice because of the slow service).

Room Tip: Make sure that your room have a view of the water hole.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CoreneBloemfontein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2013

My 12 year old son had a great time playing with new friends he met at the pool. I got grossed out by the tiny roaches in our room. They have a can of Raid in each room, supposedly for the mosquitoes, I used it everyday for the tiny roaches everywhere. The tiny roaches were in the shower (looked like just hatched a day or so), I saw them immediately after we got in the room because of the white tiles in the bathroom so I knew there's got to be more elsewhere. The next day, the roaches were a little bigger (a day older) in the bathroom and crawling on the table in the room. I went out to the balcony to shake out all our luggage and belongings before leaving so we don't take any of those critters home. I would have giving a higher rating without the roaches. The view of the watering hole is the coolest thing about this lodge and the staff was nice and friendly.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ChicagoLen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2013

From the moment of arrival the lodge simply blows you away into another world !
The breathtaking views of the waterhole from the deck, bar, restaurant and of course your luxurious room are incredible
We just missed seeing a croc come out of the water and devouring an impala (by minutes) but were able to witness the croc eating ravenously and splashing around ferociously!
The staff were exceptional as well
Breakfasts were excellent and we ate most evenings in the restaurant as the location was just too beautiful...Food in the evenings superb especially the Zambezi Bream
A minor complaint - we had booked an excursion to Chobe with the hotel and after a very tiring day out we decided we wanted to cancel it.
It was around 6.45 the evening before which we felt was giving more than enough notice to cancel but unfortunately we were then told that it was not enough notice!!! and we could not cancel and would be charged in full as they could not contact the tour company ...also strange as all the tour guides carried cell phones!
It became a stressful situation which one does not need whilst on holiday until we asked for the
manager on duty who very professionally and calmly sorted it all out.
Otherwise the most wonderful destination and well worth a visit

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelbuddy032
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AfricaAlbidaTourism, General Manager at Victoria Falls Safari Lodge, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
Hello to you in London
After last year's phenomenal Olympic Games your city will certainly know about extraordinary sights and sounds so we're delighted you have come to Victoria Falls Zimbabwe and rated our lodge as a significant WOW factor!

Location and staff get rave reviews from you and you were very fortunate to have witnessed a crocodile feasting on an impala at our waterhole. I note we've dropped a star in your rating of our rooms, though I am pleased to advise you that all 72 rooms are being revitalised and refurbished and will be ready in the next few months. Then I hope we'll earn that star back!

Jonathan Hudson
Resort General Manager
jonathan@saflodge.co.zw
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aveton Gifford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
121 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2013

This is in my view the best place to stay if you are visiting the Falls, as it offers an additional experience. About 4km out of town and away from the touristyness, you can sit in the bar or restaurant with binoculars at the ready and watch the waterhole while you eat and drink. We saw impala and kudu, and on one memorable evening at dinner a whole troop of elephants came down, had a conference and then, with much trumpeting, all but the largest disappeared back into the bush, while the big man stayed to survey his kingdom. We also spotted a crocodile out of the water at breakfast on the day of our departure, and there's a lot of birdlife.
Some rooms probably have a view of the waterhole from their balcony, but all of them face the bush and we could just make out the Zambezi in the distance from ours. The hotel itself is a beautiful wood and thatch building on several floors. The rooms are spacious, comfortable and well equipped - I loved the mosquito nets draped like a fourposter until they are let down in the evening. The staff are super-friendly, helpful and efficient. There's an hourly courtesy bus which stops at a couple of places in town as well as at the Falls car park (this enabled us to check out the other hotels out of curiosity).

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anne F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pickering, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2013

The Victoria Falls Safari Lodge was beyond expectations. The ambiance of the room reminded me of a setting for an old movie complete with balcony, door shutters, 20 foot peak, thatched roof, and mosquito net for the bed. The dining room offers wonderful views of the watering hole and the meals were absolutely delicious ....... many urban restaurants could learn much from the chef and his staff. I spent a relaxing hour poolside and found the experience refreshing and rejuvenating. My only recommendation would be to reevalute the lighting in the room, especially the washroom. The single fixture did not provide sufficient task lighting when needed.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AfricaAlbidaTourism, General Manager at Victoria Falls Safari Lodge, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
Hello Linda
"Sahwira" - greetings in the spirit of friendship! Your lavish review of our Victoria Falls Safari Lodge does us proud and inspires our entire team. Thank you. We agree the bathroom lighting requires attention and the good news is that all 72 rooms are about to be totally refurbished, including a whole new lighting system. It is something we have paid particular attention to, so, next time we'll light up your life even more!

Jonathan Hudson
Resort General Manager
jonathan@saflodge.co.zw
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Victoria Falls hotels
0.0 mi away
Victoria Falls Safari Club
Victoria Falls Safari Club
#4 of 16 in Victoria Falls
386 reviews
1.7 mi away
The Victoria Falls Hotel
The Victoria Falls Hotel
#6 of 16 in Victoria Falls
2,257 reviews
1.0 mi away
Elephant Hills Resort
Elephant Hills Resort
#9 of 16 in Victoria Falls
563 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
A'Zambezi River Lodge
A'Zambezi River Lodge
#12 of 16 in Victoria Falls
830 reviews
1.5 mi away
Ilala Lodge
Ilala Lodge
#7 of 16 in Victoria Falls
1,118 reviews
4.2 mi away
The Elephant Camp
The Elephant Camp
#2 of 16 in Victoria Falls
829 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Victoria Falls Safari Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Victoria Falls Safari Lodge

Property: Victoria Falls Safari Lodge
Address: 471 Squire Cummings Road, Victoria Falls, Zimbabwe
Phone Number:
Location: Zimbabwe > Matabeleland North Province > Victoria Falls
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Victoria Falls
#4 Spa Hotel in Victoria Falls
#4 Romantic Hotel in Victoria Falls
#5 Family Hotel in Victoria Falls
#7 Luxury Hotel in Victoria Falls
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Victoria Falls Safari Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Voted the best Safari Lodge in Zimbabwe for 20 years running, the world-famous Victoria Falls Safari Lodge offers easy access to the iconic Victoria Falls, coupled with a wildlife experience that is truly unrivalled. Now in its 22nd year of welcoming guests, the Lodge is built on a plateau overlooking the Zambezi National Park with endless unspoilt views to the horizon, just four kilometers from the Falls. This is the only sunset facing hotel in Victoria Falls, and the newly-renovated rooms and balconies are built up above a central waterhole which attracts herds of buffalo, elephant, giraffe, zebra, as well as night-time predators, such as lion and leopard. Our warm and personable staff are our greatest pride. Past guests frequently comment on our team's sublime hospitality and seamless delivery. The main areas of the lodge, such as the MaKuwa-Kuwa restaurant and the homely Buffalo Bar, are rich in ambience and also overlook the central waterhole, where drinks and dinners are often shared with wildlife meandering down to the water each day to quench their thirst. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Jovago.com, Cancelon and Agoda so you can book your Victoria Falls Safari Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Victoria Falls Safari Hotel Victoria Falls

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing