We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“After a week in the bush this was Heavan”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Rainbow Hotel Victoria Falls
Ranked #15 of 16 Hotels in Victoria Falls
Cape Town
Level Contributor
53 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“After a week in the bush this was Heavan”
Reviewed February 24, 2014

On our recent trip through Africa we spent a night at this hotel; VERY clean; VERY friendly and VERY accommadating. It was hot, we arrived 'lateish' and the staff were about to close the pool. When we asked them to keep it open they did so without any fuss and removed the pool's safety net. The kids enjoyed the non-alcoholic cocktails sitting at the pool bar ( in the pool ).

The rooms were well sized, clean and very comfortable and the hotels WiFi took was a hit for the kids. We had dinner in the restaurant which was super and the breakfast ( included in the price ) was excellent with lots of fresh fruit.

Our cars were filthy from a week in Botswana and the grounds staff gladly cleaned the cars ( at a nominal extra charge ) and did a really good job as well.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ThomasZA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rainbowhotelvicfalls, Guest Relations Manager at Rainbow Hotel Victoria Falls, responded to this review, February 26, 2014
A refreshing day to you Thomas ZA

Thank you for choosing to stay at the Victoria Falls Rainbow Hotel and taking your time to give us valuable feedback we so much appreciate. We are delighted to receive your compliments and we hope to see you soon.

Regards



The Victoria Falls Rainbow Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

496 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    72
    217
    155
    37
    15
See reviews for
100
177
57
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dubbo, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed February 12, 2014

We spent 2 nights at the Rainbow Victoria Falls Hotel in October 2013 and really enjoyed it. The Hotel was clean, the staff were friendly and the service was great. The bedrooms were spacious, clean and the bed very comfortable, although the air conditioners (which are old) were not very effective and rather noisy, so could not be left on at night. However this did not spoil our trip as we were out most of the day and kept windows open at night. The food was plentiful and good quality. The Vic Falls Rainbow Hotel is a great location as its close to town (within walking distance). There is also a shuttle bus for convenience, however the frequency could be better, especially when its extremely hot during the summer months in Zimbabwe. Overall the Rainbow Hotel was a pleasant place to stay, with a convenient location and we would recommend anyone thinking about staying there to do so. We got a great hotel rate over the internet.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jarda1323
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rainbowhotelvicfalls, Guest Relations Manager at Rainbow Hotel Victoria Falls, responded to this review, February 17, 2014
A refreshing day to you John T

The Victoria Falls Rainbow Hotel Team would like to thank you for taking your time to write down your comments regarding your stay at our hotel. We are delighted to receive your compliments and have taken note of your comment regarding the aircon.


Your interest and concern are therefore extremely valuable to us and we hope that you will be staying with us again soon.


Regards



The Victoria Falls Rainbow Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harare, Zimbabwe
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 9, 2014

Cleanness, Hospitality, food, healthy environment, fair price, and great service that influenced our decision to bring global meeting to Rainbow. We stayed there last year in April for family vacation. We experienced much hospitality, love, and care. We felt that if we bring global leaders with whom we work from almost all the continents, they would enjoy this too. We did this year from 1-8 Feb 2014. These leaders were so overwhelmed by the selfless service they received from the hotel workers. The price for our group was fairly discounted. Yet everything at the hotel was up to global standard that brought much joy to our friends around the globe and created a desire to come back with their family to Africa.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tariku F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rainbowhotelvicfalls, Guest Relations Manager at Rainbow Hotel Victoria Falls, responded to this review, February 10, 2014
A refreshing day o you Mr.Tariku F


Thank you for taking your time to write down your comment regarding your recent stay at the Victoria Falls Rainbow Hotel. We are delighted to receive your compliments. We so much look forward to hosting you again on your return to Victoria Falls.


Kind regards



The Victoria Falls Rainbow Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed February 5, 2014

The Vic Falls Rainbow is in a very good location along Parkway Dr. It is very close to 'town' and has good amenities. There is easy access to the falls and to other attractions. The shuttle bus is a blessing, however greater frequency would help if you missed one. There is a serious shortage of alternative eating venues.

Room Tip: room near the road is noisy with traffic mosquitoes at the pools side are plenty, suggest wear long...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BRAMAFEB14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rainbowhotelvicfalls, Guest Relations Manager at Rainbow Hotel Victoria Falls, responded to this review, February 6, 2014
A refreshing day to you BRAMAFeb14

We appreciate your valuable feedback and we have taken note of the issues highlighted. We are delighted to hear that you liked our location which allowed you to access the Falls and other attractions easily. Thank you for choosing to stay at the Victoria Falls Rainbow Hotel.

Hope to see you soon.


Regards



The Victoria Falls Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suffolk UK
Level Contributor
100 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed January 29, 2014

We stayed for a couple of nights just before Christmas. We arrived late but we were met with a warm greeting and they knew who we were before we told them. We were given a welcome drink and shown to our room without delay. The room was spacious and nicely laid out. The whole room was very clean and the bed extremely comfortable. Mosquito nets were provided but we didn't use them as we never saw a mozzy on the entire stay at the hotel. There was a small balcony overlooking a lawn area. Even though we arrived late, the restaurant managed to provide us with a choice of hot meals. The food wasn't great here (the breakfasts are better) but I think they have just opened a new restaurant as there seemed to be an opening ceremony on our last day. The prices are quite reasonable though and the staff very friendly. We were the only people in the restaurant and the "Executive Chef" came out to see how we were.

There is a swimming pool, which really needs some non slip tiles as it was very easy to slide towards the deep section, especially when leaving the poolside bar on the pool side. The pool was kept very clean while we were there.

There is a free shuttle bus that will take you to and from the entrance of the falls although it doesn't run that often. If you are fit you can walk to the falls from the hotel but you will be approached by many souvenir sellers. We enjoyed the walk and saw quite a few wild animals on the way.

Overall the Rainbow Hotel was a pleasant place to stay although at $190 per night it was a little pricey, even allowing for the fact that Vic Falls is a pricey town. The Rainbow is not like the Kingdom, which is much larger and packs people in while charging $60 more per night. Out of the two, I would still choose the Rainbow even though it is not so up market.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WilliamPayer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rainbowhotelvicfalls, Guest Relations Manager at Rainbow Hotel Victoria Falls, responded to this review, January 31, 2014
A refreshing day to you WilliamPayer

We are so much delighted to hear that Victoria Falls Rainbow Hotel was a pleasant place to stay. Thank you for your valuable feedback we so much appreciate. We rely on guest feedback to determine both the positive and negative aspects of our hotel and to improve wherever possible.

Thank you once again for choosing to stay at the Victoria Falls Rainbow Hotel and we hope that you will be staying with us again soon.


Regards



The Victoria Falls Rainbow Hotel Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gweru, Zimbabwe
Level Contributor
54 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2014

The Vic Falls Rainbow is in a very good location along Parkway Dr. It is very close to 'town' and has good amenities. There is easy access to the falls and to other attractions like golf at Elephant Hills (further down the road) and dinner at the Boma.
The pricing is a bit on the high side for the level at which the hotel is. I would expect prices to be USD50 cheaper on average.
The structure itself is still goo but the furnishings are in need of attention. This is something that is common to most hotels in Zimbabwe, they have been allowed to stagnate in terms of upkeep and decor. the staff do keep it clean though and they are quite friendly. This makes up for the average facilities.
When in Victoria Falls this hotel is a good option to stay in, but it is not in the league of the Elephant Hills, A'Zambezi, or the Kingdom. Nor does it aspire to be. But it can surely be a better hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BIllMoyanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rainbowhotelvicfalls, Guest Relations Manager at Rainbow Hotel Victoria Falls, responded to this review, January 28, 2014
A refreshing day to you BlllMoyanne

Hope you travelled well back home with friends. Thank you for choosing to stay at The Victoria Falls Rainbow Hotel and taking your time to review us we so much value your feedback. We have taken note of all the highlighted issues.

We so much look forward to hosting you again on your return to Victoria Falls.


Regards


The Victoria Falls Rainbow Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Biggleswade, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2014

My wife was born in Zimbabwe so we tend to get there and phone round as a local to get hotel rates.
We ended up paying $160 a night for a twin room. Other hotels in the area wanted $260 a night.
So it is fair to say we were not expecting 5 star luxury.
But come on guys, if you have a safe in the rooms, replace the battery now and then so that they work.
On the plus side the air con was such a relief from the heat.
The chicken salad at lunch was superb, especially if accompanied with a Golden Pilsner.
X-Mass dinner was a carvery and served turkey and gammon, vegetables and rice. It really was very nice but did lack roast potatoes. There was tonnes of salad and a huge selection of puddings. But sadly, not a roast potato in sight.
But that was solved the next morning when I had minced beef and roast potatoes for breakfast. I have to confess that I really did quite enjoy it, in fact it was lovely.
The swimming pool was clean and very well used.
The decoder for the telly was also out of action so really only left one channel, Nat Geo Wild.
So, all in all if I was paying $160 a night then I would stay here again but please spend some money on maintenance.
The staff make the stay worth while, but do haggle for a deal.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rainbowhotelvicfalls, Guest Relations Manager at Rainbow Hotel Victoria Falls, responded to this review, January 7, 2014
A refreshing day to you David G

Thank you for choosing to stay at the Victoria Falls Rainbow Hotel and taking your time to review us we so much value your feedback. We have taken note of all the highlighted areas of which some are already work under progress. We are also glad that you enjoyed your stay with us.

We look forward to your return in the near future.


Regards


The Victoria Falls Rainbow Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Victoria Falls hotels
0.8 mi away
Cresta Sprayview Hotel
Cresta Sprayview Hotel
#13 of 16 in Victoria Falls
331 reviews
1.0 mi away
Elephant Hills Resort
Elephant Hills Resort
#9 of 16 in Victoria Falls
563 reviews
1.8 mi away
A'Zambezi River Lodge
A'Zambezi River Lodge
#12 of 16 in Victoria Falls
829 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The N1 Hotel & Campsite Victoria Falls
The N1 Hotel & Campsite Victoria...
#11 of 16 in Victoria Falls
334 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Victoria Falls Hotel
The Victoria Falls Hotel
#6 of 16 in Victoria Falls
2,253 reviews
1.2 mi away
Victoria Falls Safari Lodge
Victoria Falls Safari Lodge
#8 of 16 in Victoria Falls
1,746 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rainbow Hotel Victoria Falls? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rainbow Hotel Victoria Falls

Property: Rainbow Hotel Victoria Falls
Address: 278 Parkway Drive | Selous Crescent, Victoria Falls, Zimbabwe
Location: Zimbabwe > Matabeleland North Province > Victoria Falls
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 16 Hotels in Victoria Falls
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Rainbow Hotel Victoria Falls 3*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A unique property of Moorish architecture conveniently located near town and 2km from the Victoria Falls. The Victoria Falls Rainbow Hotel offers a spectacular view of the rumbling mist, mosi-oa-tunya, meaning "the smoke that thunders". Enjoy a cocktail at the only Swim and Sip bar in town and efficient and friendly service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Jovago.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and Priceline so you can book your Rainbow Hotel Victoria Falls reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Victoria Falls

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing