We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Thanks for doing us proud Elephant Hills!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Elephant Hills Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Elephant Hills Resort
Ranked #12 of 16 Hotels in Victoria Falls
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Thanks for doing us proud Elephant Hills!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2011

I'm a born/bred Zimbo living in the UK. Suffice to say the UK hotels have nothing on you! Ndinodzoka ndodzokazve - that means I'll come back over and over - because I believe this is a fantastic hotel. I've stayed at hotels in London/Birmingham/Belfast/Dublin/Amsterdam/Glasgow etc and I find it surprising for Europeans to give the Elephant Hills a low rating....in Europe it would be a zilion star hotel! Convenient, decent food, fantastic "ethnic" based accommodation. Cdnt fault you guys murikubata basa! (Translates you guys are doing a good job!)

Dr TN Ramhewa

  • Stayed April 2010
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank tendainr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NKO M, Manager at Elephant Hills Resort, responded to this review, September 16, 2016
Dear tendainr

Thank you for reviewing your stay with us. We are happy to receive such inspiring comments and observations about us. This feedback will serve to push the team to continue delivering good service to our valuable guests.

We look forward to hosting you in the near future.

Regards

NKO M
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

517 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    185
    224
    81
    22
    5
See reviews for
103
137
31
138
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (152)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2011

I stayed for one week in level six, where the room arrangement was very good. The making of the room was quite acceptable to me although there were little scarcity on consumables. The staff was very nice and helpful. The view from the restaurant was excellent towards zambesi river. the little animals in the golf course attracted my eyes and mind. Escellant place for relaxation. Wi-Fi environment needs to be upgraded as it cannot be used from the room.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nihalwicks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NKO M, Manager at Elephant Hills Resort, responded to this review, September 16, 2016
Dear nihalwicks

Thank you for reviewing your stay with us. We are pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay with us. We would like to take this opportunity to announce that we now have tea making facility in the room with complimentary tea leaves,coffee,sugar and milk.We are also working hard to refurbish the rooms and facilities among other improvement projects and look forward to refreshing and updating the resort until all set standards and goals have been achieved.

We look forward to hosting you.

Regards

NKO M
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
103 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2011

After reading a few dodgy reviews of Elephant Hills, we were very wary indeed - especially after reading about poor staff. Absolute rubbish. The hotel was great and the staff were fantastic - helpful, knowledgeable, attentive and polite. Would recommend it, especially for the price. Dont get me wrong - the Vic Falls Hotel and also the Safari Lodge were better places to eat and grab a G&T, but at a price.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hawk345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NKO M, Manager at Elephant Hills Resort, responded to this review, September 16, 2016
Dear Hawk345

Thank you for reviewing your stay with us.We are happy to receive such inspiring comments and observations about our staff and hotel. Thank you again for recommending our hotel.

We look forward to hosting you in the near future.

Regards

NKO M
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mooloolaba, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2011

The Elephant Hills is one of the best places to stay at the Vic falls in the Zimbabweian side. I have been there many years ago when the resort was at it's best. The facilities the hotel has to offer are still excellent however the rooms need an upgrade. The pillows were stick thin and the beds were very hard and uncomfortable. All the safes do not work in all of the rooms ( we stayed in 3 rooms) but that was only the bad things about the hotel.
The rooms still look nice with lovely views overlooking the falls.

The hotel has done very well for itself considering the hardships the country has Vern through.

The staff were very reliable, when something went wrong the sorted I'd out within 15 minutes. When ever we walked passed a saff member they always greeted us with a smile and asked us if we needed any help with anything.

The food was excellent. I had been to many hotels over December and January and nothing the food at elephant hills won hands down.

If you want to go on day trips book with shear water. They were very good. Definitely go on the night safari. The game rangers were very good. They new what they were talking about. You can't compare them to the ones at Chobe national park as the ranger didn't know anything.

I will definitely be back at the elephant hills next time I am back in the Victoria falls.

  • Stayed December 2010
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Soccermad135
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NKO M, Manager at Elephant Hills Resort, responded to this review, September 16, 2016
Dear Soccermad135

Thank you for reviewing your stay with us. We are happy to receive such inspiring comments about our staff. This feedback will serve to push the team to perform even better. We are pleased to let you know that we are working hard to refurbish the rooms and facilities among other improvement projects and look forward to refreshing and updating the resort until all set standards and goals have been achieved.

We looking forward to hosting you in the near future.

Regards

NKO M
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2011

Don’t be fooled by the friendly and intelligent staff – you are staring at utter incompetence – everyone from the bell boy to upper management, including Daisy, the bearded lady.
As we arrived at the hotel it turned out they mistakenly had booked us for suites instead of ordinary rooms. The word was: “All of Vic Falls is sold out. Take it or leave it.” No apologies or sharing of the inconvenience were attempted. During my entire stay interactions with the staff ranged from tedious to baroque. Any situation could go sour: At our first lunch at the hotel five out of five beverages were wrong and only two courses were as ordered. This would happen frequently as they ran out of ingredients. When calling for service there would be regular misunderstandings such as “bring the order to 569”, “to room 2569?” (There is no such room); occasionally when no one showed up a manager would say “I will take care of it personally” and then not show up either; or my call, “this is an emergency: my kids are locked in the bathroom and apes are ravaging their room”, would be answered with “do you need room service?” Finally, when I was in the cab with my family leaving for the airport – they held back the cab – claiming that I had not paid a remaining amount, I still have no idea what for. At that point I had checked out twice and paid bills twice and gotten their confirmation that now everything was settled (again) – alas. They had my bank and credit card details, but instead chose to order me out of the cab, point to an internal e-mail stating a random dollar amount and say “pay now if you want to catch your plane.” I paid ransom and caught my plane.” That has to be the craziest, single most insolent and infuriating action I have ever been exposed to in the hospitality service.
Otherwise the hotel is a bit run down and could be cleaner, but pretty pristine by Zimbabwean standards. The views and grounds are beautiful and scenic. The pool is good. However the value for money is poor, except maybe if you are there on a conference or as a golfer.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank jmskibsted
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NKO M, Manager at Elephant Hills Resort, responded to this review, September 16, 2016
Dear jmskibsted

Thank you for the review of your stay with us.We receive with regret your comments regarding the poor service you received from us. Please accept our apology for the negative experience you encountered during your stay with us.

We can however assure you that corrective measures have been taken with the aim to reduce such events recurring. Our booking process is under close monitoring for guest-friendly resolutions.We are also pleased to let you know that we are working hard to refurbish the rooms and facilities among other improvement projects and look forward to refreshing and updating the resort until all set standards and goals have been achieved.

Once again, kindly accept our sincere apologies for your discomfort in the whole experience you faced during and after your stay with us. It is my hope that you will allow us an opportunity to affirm ourselves by hosting you in the near future.

Kind regards
NKO M
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Randburg, South Africa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 14, 2010

Great hotel! Service needs to be worked on a bit. Rooms are nice and spacey! The housekeeping department needs some work. Our room was never cleaned before 2PM, and there is a lack of rooms with King Size or at least double beds. A twin room is not very nice on a romantic getaway!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wesleydey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NKO M, Manager at Elephant Hills Resort, responded to this review, September 16, 2016
Dear Wesleydey

Thank you for the review of your stay with us. We are pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay with us. However we receive with regret your comments regarding our housekeeping department and double bedded rooms. Please accept our apology for the inconvenience caused during your stay with us.We can however assure you that corrective measures have been taken with the aim to reduce such events recurring.

We look forward to hosting you in the near future.

Regards

NKO M
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kwekwe
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2010

I loved this hotel.... There was so much 2 do you could neva be bored, the food was just of the hook... i'd definately go again because i just loved it

  • Stayed December 2009
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mztash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NKO M, Manager at Elephant Hills Resort, responded to this review, September 16, 2016
Dear mztash

Thank you for reviewing your stay with u. We are pleased to know that you loved our hotel and that our food met your satisfaction.

It will be our pleasure to welcome you and your family on your return hopefully soon.

Regards

NKO M
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Victoria Falls hotels
0.8 mi away
A'Zambezi River Lodge
A'Zambezi River Lodge
#10 of 16 in Victoria Falls
4.0 of 5 bubbles 783 reviews
1.7 mi away
The Victoria Falls Hotel
The Victoria Falls Hotel
#6 of 16 in Victoria Falls
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,148 reviews
1.0 mi away
Rainbow Hotel Victoria Falls
Rainbow Hotel Victoria Falls
#15 of 16 in Victoria Falls
3.5 of 5 bubbles 468 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Victoria Falls Safari Club
Victoria Falls Safari Club
#4 of 16 in Victoria Falls
5.0 of 5 bubbles 355 reviews
1.6 mi away
Cresta Sprayview Hotel
Cresta Sprayview Hotel
#14 of 16 in Victoria Falls
4.0 of 5 bubbles 289 reviews
1.0 mi away
Victoria Falls Safari Lodge
Victoria Falls Safari Lodge
#7 of 16 in Victoria Falls
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,639 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Elephant Hills Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elephant Hills Resort

Property: Elephant Hills Resort
Address: 300 Park Way Drive, Victoria Falls, Zimbabwe
Location: Zimbabwe > Matabeleland North Province > Victoria Falls
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Victoria Falls
#6 Business Hotel in Victoria Falls
#9 Romantic Hotel in Victoria Falls
#10 Family Hotel in Victoria Falls
#11 Luxury Hotel in Victoria Falls
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Elephant Hills Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 276
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This majestic hotel, aptly named after the gentle giant of the bush (the elephant) merges seamlessly into its natural environment. Elephant Hills Resort has 276 rooms ranging from the impressive presidential suite to cool and spacious standard rooms. All rooms are ethnically decorated creating a combination of African ambiance with comfort and elegance. Each bedroom has modern amenities including air-conditioning, digital satellite television, bar fridge and en-suite bathroom. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotel.de and HRS so you can book your Elephant Hills Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elephant Hills Hotel
Elephant Hills Victoria Falls

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing